We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
Ranked #50 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
1 review
“Okay for the Price”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Check in went well. When we got to our room we noticed the bathroom was not cleaned because of "something" left behind. We spoke with the manager on duty who was very courteous and switched us to a clean room. My kids enjoyed the continental breakfast. The walls are a little thin and the girl at check out not very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorijm2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    206
    243
    145
    97
See reviews for
341
206
61
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

If you can get a good price at this hotel it is worth it. The rooms are worn but clean and a good size. Maid service and WI-FI were good. Breakfast room is really small and there isn't too much of a selection but there is a cracker barrel next door if you need a big breakfast. Location is close enough for day trips to Sedona and the Grand Canyon and convienient to I-40.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wpbpete78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Basically, the title of the review says it all. We paid $25 plus tax for a double that was reasonably clean and had a free basic breakfast. As we were at this motel for a total of 9 hours, we didn't want to shell out the big bucks for a 4 star hotel when we could do that down in Sedona on our way back to Tucson from the GC. By the way, flights were $80 bucks cheaper to Tucson than they were to Phoenix for us in the month of January.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We liked this hotel and would definitely stay there again. We took a week long road trip to Arizona on a budget during the winter time off season, and decided to stay in Flagstaff because of its central location to the Grand Canyon and Sedona. The Howard Johnson was only $30 a night for a King non-smoking room. Our room was very spacious, even with the extra furniture. We not only had your typical chair and table, but also a full desk, and it was nice to have the extra counter space. Plus FREE WIFI. There was a microwave/refrigerator unit in the room, which came in handy storing leftovers (those restarurants in Arizona give huge portions). It was very clean - so clean in fact that I felt comfortable taking a bath in the tub. The continental breakfast in the morning was fine, and included a waffle maker. The breakfast room was very small, though, so you would be better off bringing your food up to your room. Very good value. I would have paid up to $45 a night here and not have felt ripped off. The location of the hotel is not near much of anything, except a string of other budget motels and a gas station, but you can get to Downtown very easily if you have a car.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank treehugger99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We used this hotel as a base for few days, and as a budget hotel is served it's purpose fine. The complimentary breakfast wasn't upto much, but there is Denny's and other options a short walk/drive away. You are close to the Main H/way, but we were at the opposite end of the motel and it didn't bother us at all. The safe didn't work in our room, so we chose to leave the DND sign all through our stay, as it was 3 nights only this wasn't an issue and fresh towels & toilettries were freely available from the front desk.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trailblazer_uk2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights, as we intended visiting the Grand Canyon, Monument Valley National Park and the Navajo National Monument, which is close to Monument Valley.
The Hotel is just off the highway, we had a room on the second floor which was large, clean, quiet and very reasonably priced. The Continental Breakfast which was served in the Reception area was more than adequate.
If you are visiting the Grand Canyon, we would recommend that you leave Flagstaff on Highway 89/Route66 and turn off onto Highway 64 and enter the Park at the East Entrance. Your first view on the Canyon will be at Desert View (which does not get as crowded as Grand Canyon Village), it is one of the few viewpoints where you can see all the way to the bottom of the Canyon and see the Colorado River, the Watchtower is well worth a visit, you can then drive along the rim to the village and stop at as many viewing points as you have time for.
We found the village end very crowded and there was a good deal of it closed off for alterations and construction projects.
You can the leave the Canyon on Highway 64 and return to Flagstaff on Route 1-40.
We decided to drive from Flagstaff to Monument Valley and back in a day, which is a trip of over 300 miles. It is very do-able and well worth the effort, Monument Valley is amazing, there is a dirt track around the park which is rough in places but can be driven in any car, the local Indians do trips in old pickups if you don't want to risk your car.
We stopped at the Navajo National Monument on the way to Monument valley, it is well worth a visit, we met the local Navajo Indians who were weaving, painting and making pottery, we also walked at short trail to the Betatakin Overlook, where you can view the hugh alcove which enclosed the ancient housing settlement.
We would recommend this Hotel for a comfortable, good value stay in Flagstaff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank di947red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed here to visit the Grand Canyon on a budget. We were able to book this on Priceline for a great price. You definitely need a car if you are staying here. We had a rental car. Loved that there was a Cracker Barrel within walking distance though. Room was average and outdated, but we got what we paid for. Breakfast was included which was average, but they have a waffle maker there which was good. They also have free Wi-Fi. Great hotel for a budget vacation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thisisdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Flagstaff I-40 Ex 198 Lucky Lane
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn - Flagstaff / East Lucky Lane
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Hotel Aspen InnSuites Flagstaff / Grand Canyon
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane

Property: Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
Address: 2520 E Lucky Ln, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-8505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Flagstaff i-40 Exit 198 e. Lucky Lane Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing