We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service, clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Stayed at the Woodlands while visiting the Grand Canyon. The stay was pleasant, the room itself seemed a bit dated but was clean, with the exception of a stain that was on the curtain next to my bed. Told the front desk and they took care of it right a way, which is really all you can ask for...
The staff was friendly, there was plenty of parking close to the entrance. The air/heat unit was very loud as many people have noted. We just turned it off after the first night and the rest of the nights were peaceful/restful...

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank socnty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2010

Thank you for your candid comments. We are so pleased that you appreciated our staff and services provided. We continue to work on the A/C units as guests let us know of any issues they have with them, and you'll be pleased to know that on your next visit, you're likely to see updates to the room furnishings, as plans are in the works to install flat screen TV's and a fresh look to our rooms. See you upon your return to Flagstaff, AZ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,486 - 1,492 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2010

The front desk agent that checked me in had absolutely no idea what she was doing and I actually had to tell her the hotel policy on credit cards! Not one staff member was friendly or welcoming. The jacuzzi wasn't working and the fitness center is VERY outdated and sparse looking. In addition to this they charged the wrong credit card. So disappointing...

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSoria5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, on behalf of the Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2010

We are sad to learn that you were disappointed with your stay. We've been in contact with you directly in regards to clarifying our credit card policy - but publicly we want to apologize about the miscommunication and that you felt our services and amenities did not meet your expectations.
Please know that all of us here at the Radisson Woodlands Hotel strive daily to meet and exceed guest service expectations and our management is committed to keeping our hotel updated. We've updated our beds, bathrooms, public areas, restaurants, lounge and more udpates are on their way throughout this year.
We certainly hope that you give us another chance to serve you on future visits to Flagstaff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

This hotel is in major need of an update. The website photos are a bit deceiving. The decor is dark and depressing. The lighting in the room was so bad, we couldn't tell if the light was on or not. The air conditioning did not work. The room was warm and stuffy. We stayed there two nights. The second day we were in Flagstaff, we left the hotel around 11 a.m. to go to the Grand Canyon. When we returned to the hotel at 7:30 that night, we found our room had not been cleaned. I called the front desk and the rude clerk told me that I left the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door and that is why my room was not cleaned. I told him that was not true (the sign was inside of our room the whole day) and he basically called me a liar. I asked if we could have fresh towels and get the garbage removed. He said, "You will just get limited service. Do you still want that?" He did send someone up to clean up the room. I will never stay here again. The location was fine (you still have to drive to the downtown area) but there are closer hotels that looked nicer and cleaner. This place was a big disappointment. The staff seemed bothered by everything and everyone. They were not friendly at all.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank z75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2010

Thank you for your candid comments. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that occured during your stay with us. Please be aware that we are currently updating the hotel providing a newer fresher look. In regards to the A/C units, we do request that if guests have an issue with their unit, they please contact us at the front desk immediately so that we can send a technician to resolve the issue. There is no need to suffer from a loud A/C unit, and we can typically fix the problem immediately. We have spoken with our staff and individual department managers regarding how they handled your situation. We sincerely hope that you will give us a second chance so that we can prove our dedication to serving our guests. Thank you again for bringing your thoughts and concerns to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We stayed at the Raddison Woodlands Hotel for three days while touring the Grand Canyon and Flagstaff in March 2010. We were lucky enough to win this property for $51/night plus fees in a Priceline bid. When I called the hotel to confirm a non-smoking king room, I was pleasantly surprised to hear the entire property is non-smoking.

We didn't receive a king bed, but 2 queens instead, which was actually fine. They both were sleep number beds, which we have and home and love. The room wasn't huge, but it was large enough for the two of us. The room was very clean, and we had a nice view out the front of the hotel. The room seemed updated and contemporary. The shower had nice water pressure, and the towels were very large and fluffy.

We ate breakfast in the hotel one morning, which was only average. One of the days we were there, my husband ended up sick in bed. The restaurant staff was very obliging in providing some chicken broth and dry toast for him, and housekeeping was very accomodating by leaving him alone to sleep.

The only complaint I had about our room was the loud wall heater. I ended up just turning it off, and the room stayed fairly warm through the night. We could hear the trains go through town, but it wasn't too loud.

We didn't use the pool or fitness room, so can't comment on those.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2010

Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the room and service we provided. We will be updating the guestrooms by the end of 2010 and we're sure you'll love the new changes on your next visit to Flagstaff.
We were disappointed to hear that you felt the restaurant was mediocre - and we'll be working with our restaurant chef and staff to ensure our service and food is up the our high standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

I wasn't sure what to think about some of the negative reviews, but I have a Sleep Number bed at home and was really excited about the guarantee of a comfortable night's sleep in a hotel! It also helps that I only paid $75, including tax, using Priceline. The hotel was lovely and there was plenty of available parking within a reasonable distance of the hotel entrance (this is important when you have a small child!). We enjoyed ourselves and were pleased at the quality for the value.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supersmileymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2010

So glad you enjoyed the hotel and the Sleep Number Beds. Just a note about priceline -- you're never guaranteed which hotel you'll receive when bidding via priceline - and we do offer great rates directly -- you can find exclusive deals that we offer for Facebook fans, so look for us on facebook if you want the best direct deals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

I'd recommend a Motel 6 instead. The rooms look like they were last decorated in the late 80's. The old blocky TVs have such bad resolution that you can hardly read large print words on them. No HD, of course. Video game and movie rentals, and room service are outrageously expensive. Room the size of a walk-in closet. Window view is of a wall (6ft away) and then a neighbor's window (5 feet away).

Beyond this, the A/C is rickety and loud and the breakfast cafe took 45 minutes to bring out our lukewarm breakfast when the restaurant was near empty.

I will never come here again, unless I've no other choice or there have been extensive renovations. I recommend the same to you and yours.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awilson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2010

First, thank you for your candid comments. We are sadened that you did not enjoy your stay with us - certainly this is not the standard we hold ourself up to. Please know that we will be installing flatscreen/HD TVs in all guestrooms as well as upgrading the guestroom furnishings this year. As you may have noticed, we started in 2009 renovating our public areas including lobby and restaurants. We appreciate your patience while we continue to upgrade our amenities and services to meet the needs of our guests.
Our A/C units are also due to be upgraded in the coming 18 months -- in most cases, however, the units can be adjusted if there are noise or functionality concerns. We ask that if our guests have any issues, that they please let us know so that we may resolve the problem - allowing you to enjoy your guestroom and your stay with us.
In reference to your concerns about the costs of in-room services such as videos and movies - we assure you that these are very standard costs across all hotels in the area from the pay-movie providor, we do not impose additional fees. Our room service menu offers the same items that are on the restaurant menu (prices start at $1.95 and range up to $25 for a dinner entree), but do add the standard 18% gratuity and a $2 delivery fee.
We were very concerned about the comments made about service in the restaurant. Our General Manager, Scott Thomson, has taken this upon himself to research and resolve with the restaurant team.
We do take your comments very seriously, this is how we learn and grow - how we improve our services and amenities to meet your... our guests -- specific needs. So, thank you. We sincerely hope that on your next visit to Flagstaff that you will allow us to serve you and prove that our standard of excellence can be acheived.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Pros :
very clean
great beds !!
very quiet

Cons :
no fridge in the room, I asked for portable ones, but that none were available
decoration a bit old fashioned (not that I care much)

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliancarax31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2010

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Woodlands Hotel -- we are so pleased that you enjoyed our beds and found your room clean and quiet. We'll work on getting more refrigerators to accommodate future requests to ensure your next visit is perfect!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
2.6 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
5.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 66 in Flagstaff
1,037 reviews
0.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Address: 1175 W Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6213 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#8 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range: $107 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff is located right off Route 66 near historic downtown Flagstaff and the NAU campus. Convenient for a short drive (about an hour) to the Grand Canyon, minutes from Sunset Crater and the Native American ruins at Wupatki National Monument. The DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff provides easy access to hiking, fishing, golfing and offers great packages (ie Arizona Snowbowl Ski Package). Proud to offer the same great services guests have come to expect and love for years with a variety of upgraded amenities. Our hotel ambiance is invitingly new and fresh yet comfortable. Have pets? We do offer pet friendly rooms ($50 pet fee applies). We also offer 2 restaurants: Woodlands Cafe and Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki which allows us to offer dining for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Our Lobby Lounge is an inviting area to relax and enjoy. Come experience the new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Flagstaff
Flagstaff Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing