We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“OK, but”
Reviewed June 30, 2006

There is a much better hotel than this. We stayed our second night at the Comfort Inn and found it to be so much better. About the Radisson:
Exclusive lobby area and desktop computer available for free. My teens really liked this. The pool was ok.
The room was nice with space for a rollaway. Once we got it.
Housekeeping is terrible. It took 5 phone calls to get our rollaway bed, 2 to a manager. They seem very understaffed. They also knocked on our door at 8am. I told them to come back in 3 hours after checkout and they knocked again at 8:30 and 9am. I complained to the front desk. Be sure and put out your do not disturb card.
I could not get to sleep on their "comfort controlled beds". They were awful. Uneven and just not comfortable for us.
Front desk staff were very helpful when we had to reschedule our entire trip due to the fires in Sedona. Between them and access to the internet, our vacation was saved.
Due to the beds, would not stay a second night.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank melody847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    488
    232
    92
    37
See reviews for
479
532
75
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2006

We stayed for 7 nights and had a "just okay" experience. I expected the hotel to be much nicer, and the hotel was nice, but the room was very average.

ROOM - I agree with another reviewer who said they couldn't tell the difference between the settings on the "Sleep Comfort" beds. Just an average bed so don't pay extra. Also we had a terrible time with the wireless internet connection, which kept dropping. The only place it would work was perched on the corner of the bed and if no one walked past it.

FOOD - We had a couple good meals in the cafe and one bad one (cheese gone bad). Try the Galaxy Cafe, just down Hwy 66 about 1/4 mile, kind of a funky old fashioned diner with friendly staff, bright and clean. We didn't get to eat in Sakura, the sushi/teppanyaki (sp?) restaurant but heard great things about it from the locals we talked to.

SERVICE - Was spotty from the front desk (didn't want to hold our bags after checkout) to housekeeping, (came pounding on our door at 9:20 am to clean and were not friendly at any point.) We did like the bar and the bartender.

LOCATION - We had a rental car and Flagstaff is pretty small so anywhere near downtown is a good location. Hotel is right near a shopping center with grocery store, Walmart, etc. and a restaurant called Buffalo Wild Wings which we really liked for a casual lunch.

Since service is the most important thing to me, I would not stay here again and would not recommend it. Flagstaff is loaded with hotels - The Embassy Suites and Hilton are nearby and might be a better option, though a little more expensive.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dukekit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moro, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2006

Beautiful, elegant lobby. We were upgraded into a Select Comfort suite. It was a comfortable room, but one side of the bed didn't stay inflated. Otherwise, it was fine. The outdoor pool was large and also featured a whirlpool. Both were very clean and well-stocked with plush towels. There is a larger whrlpool inside with a large window looking out. The sauna was great. Breakfast is not included, so we opted for the breakfast buffet in one of the hotel's restaurants. Wish we had looked t it first, as it was a disappointment for the cost - around $10.50 for bacon, scrambled eggs (powdered, it seemed), cottage fries, and mixed fruit. There were 3 or 4 kinds of bread for toast, but that was it. Certainly not worth the money. Would have been nice to have some pancakes, sausage, french toast, and yoghurt as well. There is also a Japanese Restaurant on the premises, but we did not try it. I've stayed in 4 other properties in Flagstaff, and this was the nicest. The front desk staff were especially nice and accomodating

Helpful?
2 Thank nanmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 5, 2006

Stayed in the hotel for several nights, and it was a great experience. Clean, attractive, spacious rooms, great staff. I have a son at the local university and so have tried most of the upscale chain hotels in Flagstaff, and the Radisson is by far the best.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2006

We had stayed here before and were unimpressed with it, but decided to give it a second chance. Second time round the food was still bad, poor service and staff unhelpful. The pressurised pipe noises that we had read about from the wall of the room, happened to us in our room. So, not a very pleasant stay.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie572005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2006

My wife and I briefly stayed at the Radisson Woodlands Hotel in laye May of 2006. To be honest, the only reason why I booked this hotel was because Sedona seemed to be completely full and this hotel offered a reasonable price close to Flagstaff.

First things first- the town of Flagstaff. We greatly enjoyed the atmosphere of downtown Flagstaff. Although things tend to drop off a bit once you leave Old Town, the shops, restaurants and activities of Old Town are enough to keep you busy for at least a full day. Plenty of unique shops and restaurants with reasonable prices- something you will not see in Sedona. While we were there, on Friday night they showed Chicken Little in the town square, with balloon artists, popcorn vendors and a bunch of families- the feeling of the town was very wholesome.

Now for the hotel. Odds are you wouldnt, or shouldnt stay in the hotel all that much with everything that the area has to offer. But the hotel is a run of the mill chain hotel, which isnt a problem. I knew what the room looked like before I stepped inside, and was not disappointed. It was clean and roomy, and offered a new high tech bed where you can adjust the firmness of either side. Did not live up to the expectations. I dont know what a firmness reading of 70 is except that it doesnt feel any different from a 50. Both nights I did not get a good sleep. The hotel also seemed to be a little on the noisy side- you could hear people in the halls, and the floors shook because of God knows what. And now the biggest complaint- THE AIR CONDITIONING! I have no idea how old this system is, but every time it turned on, it seriously sounded like a small aircraft was taking off from our room. It was hihlariously loud and the windows offered no screens- so we couldnt leave the windows open at night, we had to suffer through the very loud A/C.

Dont look for more from this hotel that what it is- a basic room at a decent price. All in all the hotel was uninspiring, but the location more than made up for it.

Take my advice- just sleep in the room, the rest of your time should be spent enjoying Flagstaff and Sedona.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Stig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2006

Don't understand the "Loved it" and "fantastic" reviewe. This is a boring chain hotel in the middle of dumpsville. (Don't let the "Woodlands" fool you)

Having said that it delivered what was expected at a reasonable price. 1.5 hours from GC and comfortable. Don't plan on spending time at the hotel. Liked the restaurant with sushi bar attached. meant that my kids could have burgers while I ordered sushi.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carhirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.6 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
0.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Address: 1175 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6213 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#8 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff is located right off Route 66 near historic downtown Flagstaff and the NAU campus. Convenient for a short drive (about an hour) to the Grand Canyon, minutes from Sunset Crater and the Native American ruins at Wupatki National Monument. The DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff provides easy access to hiking, fishing, golfing and offers great packages (ie Arizona Snowbowl Ski Package). Proud to offer the same great services guests have come to expect and love for years with a variety of upgraded amenities. Our hotel ambiance is invitingly new and fresh yet comfortable. Have pets? We do offer pet friendly rooms ($50 pet fee applies). We also offer 2 restaurants: Woodlands Cafe and Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki which allows us to offer dining for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Our Lobby Lounge is an inviting area to relax and enjoy. Come experience the new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Flagstaff
Flagstaff Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing