We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Radisson Woodlands- Meh.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2006

My wife and I briefly stayed at the Radisson Woodlands Hotel in laye May of 2006. To be honest, the only reason why I booked this hotel was because Sedona seemed to be completely full and this hotel offered a reasonable price close to Flagstaff.

First things first- the town of Flagstaff. We greatly enjoyed the atmosphere of downtown Flagstaff. Although things tend to drop off a bit once you leave Old Town, the shops, restaurants and activities of Old Town are enough to keep you busy for at least a full day. Plenty of unique shops and restaurants with reasonable prices- something you will not see in Sedona. While we were there, on Friday night they showed Chicken Little in the town square, with balloon artists, popcorn vendors and a bunch of families- the feeling of the town was very wholesome.

Now for the hotel. Odds are you wouldnt, or shouldnt stay in the hotel all that much with everything that the area has to offer. But the hotel is a run of the mill chain hotel, which isnt a problem. I knew what the room looked like before I stepped inside, and was not disappointed. It was clean and roomy, and offered a new high tech bed where you can adjust the firmness of either side. Did not live up to the expectations. I dont know what a firmness reading of 70 is except that it doesnt feel any different from a 50. Both nights I did not get a good sleep. The hotel also seemed to be a little on the noisy side- you could hear people in the halls, and the floors shook because of God knows what. And now the biggest complaint- THE AIR CONDITIONING! I have no idea how old this system is, but every time it turned on, it seriously sounded like a small aircraft was taking off from our room. It was hihlariously loud and the windows offered no screens- so we couldnt leave the windows open at night, we had to suffer through the very loud A/C.

Dont look for more from this hotel that what it is- a basic room at a decent price. All in all the hotel was uninspiring, but the location more than made up for it.

Take my advice- just sleep in the room, the rest of your time should be spent enjoying Flagstaff and Sedona.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Stig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,514 - 1,520 of 1,609 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2006

Don't understand the "Loved it" and "fantastic" reviewe. This is a boring chain hotel in the middle of dumpsville. (Don't let the "Woodlands" fool you)

Having said that it delivered what was expected at a reasonable price. 1.5 hours from GC and comfortable. Don't plan on spending time at the hotel. Liked the restaurant with sushi bar attached. meant that my kids could have burgers while I ordered sushi.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carhirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2006

A clean modern styled hotel in a handy location on Route 66 about a mile or 2 from the centre of Flagstaff. Free high speed wireless internet a plus too. Despite previous reviews we found all staff we had contact with to be very friendly and efficient. The meal we had in the restaurant (ribs) was un-edible but the waitress dealt with this quickly and professionally by providing a replacement meal without complaint and free desert.

Now the ISSUES! The restaurant bill. There were 3 additional charges at the bottom, 2 expected (tax and service). The other (a huge 18% if I recall correctly) we weren’t expecting, we queried this and were told this was a TOURIST TAX on top of normal taxation (is this legal)!!!!!! In all the establishments we dinned at in 3-weeks this was the only place we payed a tourist tax on top of the regular additional charges. All people from our party (about 40) were charged this tax we discovered next day. Our tour rep could not explain why this charge had been made. Any explanation would be grateful from the hotel, as of course this could be legitimate, but at the moment this looks most suspicious.

The buffet breakfast was the worst value for money (VERY limited choice) of all the hotels we stayed in on our 3-week trip (approx 10 hotels). No cereals for example, a basic breakfast item!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexPalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
32
Reviewed April 13, 2006

Our stay at the Radisson was very comfortable. After traveling from Vegas to Flagstaff (late at night) we needed a good nights sleep. They have sleep number beds which are fabulous. The staff was friendly. Our room was clean and big. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2006

My wife and I spent four nights of our honeymoon at the Radisson Woodlands. I planned this trip myself as she wanted to be surprised. It turned out to be a nice surprise for the both of us! We upgraded to the kingsize SelectComfort beds that allow you to adjust the firmness on each half of the bed. We both slept wonderfully each night. And as another surprise, we had an oversized tub with jets. Nice!!! The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were well equipped and quiet. The lobby was very cozy with a roaring fire in the fireplace each night. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you to the housekeeping staff as well. Wonderful job! I look forward to visiting again should we make it back to this area.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcamp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2006

Such a pity. The Radisson Woodlands was spotlessly clean and well appointed. The desk staff was pleasant and unfailingly helpful, the facilities (sauna, etc.) seemed well maintained, and the room amenities were a little above standard but skimpy. What if we'd had a knock-down-drag-out over who got the one bottle of Dasani water?

More to the point, though -- about the Sleep Number beds. Here is something that no one seems to have thought of: they are INCREDIBLY loud. The result is that when someone in a (presumably) neighboring room starts adjusting the bed, the effect is equal to an extremely loud vacuum cleaner being run in the room next door. The noise woke us after midnight and went on intermittently for the rest of the night. It was the worst night's sleep I have had in 40 years of travel; I'm still feeling the after-effects (could you guess?). Sad to report that this was not $109 (with AAA discount) well spent.

4  Thank Liv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2006

i was very happy with the radisson. we were in the new part of the hotel, a smoking room with two queen beds and the room was very comfortable, clean and roomy. we had to cross the skybridge to get to the lobby and hot tub, but that was not a problem at all. the ice machine was easy to get too also but far enough away that we did not hear it ( we were in room 345 ). the hotel was full but there was never any noise in the hall or any where in the hotel that was a bother or kept us awake. the front desk personel were very nice and friendly. it only took a few minutes to be on our way to the room. they were very happy to give us directions to the grand canyon and a fast food place to eat for breakfast. their cafe was a little pricey so we did not eat there. the hot-tub was awesome. it was huge and so hot and did wonders for my poor beat up body. it was wonderful. the best one i have ever been in. and there were only 3 other people in it when we used it. there are plenty of towels there to use when you get out, so you dont have to take any from your room to use when you go to it. we did not use the sauna so i dont know how that is. after the hot-tub we we went back to the room and had a medium donimo's pizza ( half sausage and 1/2 sausage/mushroom with extra cheese ) delivered to the room and it was only $12 and took about a 1/2 hour to get there. it was really good and hot. the bed was fantastic. i slept like a rock. it was a wonderful stay for only $69. i will definetly stay there again when i go to flagstaff.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
2.6 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
5.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Address: 1175 W Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6213 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#8 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range: $127 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff is located right off Route 66 near historic downtown Flagstaff and the NAU campus. Convenient for a short drive (about an hour) to the Grand Canyon, minutes from Sunset Crater and the Native American ruins at Wupatki National Monument. The DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff provides easy access to hiking, fishing, golfing and offers great packages (ie Arizona Snowbowl Ski Package). Proud to offer the same great services guests have come to expect and love for years with a variety of upgraded amenities. Our hotel ambiance is invitingly new and fresh yet comfortable. Have pets? We do offer pet friendly rooms ($50 pet fee applies). We also offer 2 restaurants: Woodlands Cafe and Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki which allows us to offer dining for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Our Lobby Lounge is an inviting area to relax and enjoy. Come experience the new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Flagstaff
Flagstaff Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing