We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal but not the best stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2009

The hotel is nice. Very clean, nice linens, etc. Unfortunately, my husband and son did not like the sleep number beds. It does sort of feel like you're sleeping on an air mattress. The in-room coffee machine took about 40 minutes to brew 3 cups! We did get a great deal so I can't complain much, just disappointed. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atrujillo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2009

We are happy that you enjoyed the room, upgraded linens and were pleased with the cleanliness (which our team takes great pride in providing).
Though many guests love our Sleep Number Beds and enjoy searching for their perfect 'sleep number' , adjusting the firmness of the mattress, you may not know that we do still offer guestrooms with standard mattresses. If you're not happy with your Sleep Number bed, please do let us know so that we can neither assist you with the sleep number controls, or move you to a room with a standard mattress.
We were concerned about the coffee pot issue - please be assured that this is not normal and we do request that when an issue such as this arises, you let our team at the front desk or housekeeping know so that we can resolve the issue during your stay. We are currently researching this so that we can replace that coffee maker with a new one that works properly.
Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,472 - 1,478 of 1,618 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2009

This is our favorite Flagstaff hotel so far, even when travelling with young children. The Sleep Number Bed was fantastic.. best night's sleep ever at a hotel. The staff was friendly, the girl that checked us in our first evening was extremely wonderful ( I wish I could remember her name, she deserves kudos).
I only wish room service was available later in the evening. We spent a late night on the Polar Express, and were hoping to be able to order food into our room when we returned, but they were already closed. I suggest they "stay open" until midnight (at least).
The bathrooms were beautiful, they were recently updated and had an "elegant" feel. Complementary bottled water, plenty of towels, and staff quick to respond to our request for more. Wireless internet was also a nice feature...
Definitely recommended to all!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsrayman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2009

Thank you so much for your comments - many guests, such as you, who come for the Polar Express enjoy staying in Flagstaff, and we thank you for choosing to stay with the Radisson. We are especially happy that we are your favorite hotel in Flagstaff. We hope to keep up the good work.
We've passed along your comments regarding service and our front desk team to the Guest Services Manager who will ensure that the staff member you appreciated is notified of your comments.
We also spoke with the Food and Beverage Manager about extending the room service hours. Unfortunately, this has not been a common request. and we've seen little demand after 10pm for room service calls. We would encourage comments from you and other guests - especially noted directly to the hotel as this is how change is made. If we have enough requests and there there is enough demand for extended room service hours, that is what encourages management to make that change.
Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to your next visit.
The Team at the Radisson Woodlands Hotel Flagstaff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

We were travelling route 66 and stopped here to visit the Canyon. We got a suite in the main building . This was great for us because we had not booked. Room service meals were spot on, Bed was spot on, Room was newly renovated and spot on. Staff were helpful and polite. Thanks. I Noted a few conference rooms and would suggest that this hotel would also be a great venue for business and seminars.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gailandgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2009

Thank you for that glowing review -- we certainly work hard to ensure our accommodations and service exceed guest expectations. We look forward to your next Route 66 adventure and staying at the Radisson Woodlands Hotel. Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

You may find this hotel a convenient stop-over, but don't expect anything more than overpriced basics. The "suite" we had was poorly designed, very narrow and cramped, with dated appointments and furniture. Although there was free WiFi, it did not make up for the service (we asked and tipped housekeeping for more than two bath towels to no avail). Windows do open, which is great considering Flagstaff's weather, but most rooms overlook Route 66 and the all-night clanging of trains and car lots gets to be a bit much.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoffman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, E-Commerce Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2009

Thank you for your candid comments - we are saddened that you didn't enjoy the parlor suite experience - 2 rooms, one bed room connected by a small hallway with a living room and pull-out sofa. Though the size does accommodate most guests, we understand your concerns regarding the furnishings and we are excited that we will be including flat screen TV's in all guest rooms by the end of the year as well as updating the furnishings. The rest of our hotel has had a make-over and now it's time for our guestrooms. We do apologize that you did not receive the number of bath towels requested from housekeeping and we do request that if you have a specific need that you let our front desk agents know so that they can help follow up to ensure your stay is perfect. Lastly, on your next visit, please do request a room with a view to the pines/ forest rather than the Route66 if it would make your stay more comfortable. We strive to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable stay that exceeds their expectations of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

We stopped at this hotel back in Febuary 2006 whilst visiting the Grand Canyon from Las Vegas and it was great then so we decided to stop here again in 2008, but this time with family, as we were getting wed in Vegas and then taking our parents to see the Grand Canyon. We booked 3 nights in May.
We arrived in a snow blizzard (in May) and were given rooms in the annex. We did ask for a free upgrade, as we had just got wed the day before, but the hotel was quite full, but its always worth asking. Was a bit apprehensive about the annex after reading some reviews and stopping in the main building on our previous trip, but i don't know what all the fuss is about. The rooms are fine and theres also direct access from the car park.
The staff were extremely helpfull. One night we wanted a cup of tea and there was no milk in our room, so one of the front desk staff actually went out to the shops to get us a fresh pint and brought it up to our room.
Compared to Vegas the rooms are a bit smaller, but compared to English hotels the rooms are big, with comfy beds.
If were ever back in Flagstaff this would be our first choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Treadstone71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2009

We love return guests! Thanks for visiting us again - and we look forward to your next trip to Flagstaff, Arizona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

We picked this place because they have the sleep number beds. We wanted to try one out. It is a little overpriced but it was comfortable and had everything you need. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only complaint is I ordered the internet on the tv and couldn't get it to work. Ended up at the business center in the lobby. Enjoyed the spa whirlpool. Restaurant was very pricey for the food. Wouldn't eat there again. Used it for convenience.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MilitaryMomOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, E-commerce Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2009

We are so glad that you visited us to try our exclusive sleep number beds and glad that you enjoyed our hotel, staff and service. We are sorry that you weren't able to access the internet on the in-room TV There is an hourly fee for using the internet TV, thus you must leave a credit card at the front desk upon arrival (or during your stay) in order to access in room services. We do apologize that you weren't happy with the prices in the restaurant. We offer menu items ranging from $11 - $26 in order to try to accommodate all budgets, and often offer specials aside from menu items.
Thank you again for visiting the Radisson Woodland Hotel and we hope to see you on your next visit to Flagstaff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

Hotel overall was average we got a room with a shower that was broken - and they told me that room could not be changed as hotel was full - staff below avarage - check in process very unfriendly went back to Flagstaff last year but stayed at the Hampton Inn which I have enjoyed very much

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtwtraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, E-commerce manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2009

Thank you for cooresponding with us as well as your follow up note giving us more details regarding your stay in August 2006. As we discussed, our hotel has been through several changes in the past 3 years, including hotel and guestroom renovations as well as management changes including the Guest Services as well as the General Manager. Please be assured that the representative that you experienced the issue with is no longer working for us. The new Guest Services Manager and his team at the front desk are dedicated to service and exceeding guest expectations.
Scott Thomson, the new General Manager, has also written a letter that has been placed in each guestroom requesting that guests that has an experience that makes their stay less than perfect, to please contact him prior to leaving so that we can 'make it right' prior to your departure.
We do look forward to your next visit to the Flagstaff area and to the opportunity to show you the service and amenitites that you've come to expect from Radisson.
Warm regards
Scott, Mike and the team at the Radisson Woodlands Hotel Flagstaff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
2.6 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
5.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Flagstaff
Courtyard Flagstaff
#21 of 66 in Flagstaff
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Address: 1175 W Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6213 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#8 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range: $121 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff is located right off Route 66 near historic downtown Flagstaff and the NAU campus. Convenient for a short drive (about an hour) to the Grand Canyon, minutes from Sunset Crater and the Native American ruins at Wupatki National Monument. The DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff provides easy access to hiking, fishing, golfing and offers great packages (ie Arizona Snowbowl Ski Package). Proud to offer the same great services guests have come to expect and love for years with a variety of upgraded amenities. Our hotel ambiance is invitingly new and fresh yet comfortable. Have pets? We do offer pet friendly rooms ($50 pet fee applies). We also offer 2 restaurants: Woodlands Cafe and Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki which allows us to offer dining for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Our Lobby Lounge is an inviting area to relax and enjoy. Come experience the new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Flagstaff
Flagstaff Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing