We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and both of the restaurants were good. The only thing we didn't like about the hotel was that our room had a sleep number bed. Some people like them but we didn't. It took us about a hour to get the right the setting.

Room Tip: Get a room with a regular bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We do appreciate your comments and feedback. Some guests do love the ability to change the firmness of their mattress with the Sleep Number Beds, but others prefer a standard mattress. We do offer both choices so be sure to either reserve or request the mattress/room of your choice. Safe Travels until we see you again on a future visit to Flagstaff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    455
    218
    89
    37
See reviews for
425
490
69
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel was recommended for before and after accommodation for a ten-day Grand Canyon rafting trip I took in the fall, and it was clear that the hotel has added a few extras for Canyon travellers that make it ideal. These include very convenient coin laundry machines on every floor, and a long-term parking lot where I left my car while in the Canyon, plus complimentary van service to the Canyon shuttle depot. Other than that, the hotel was comfortable, with spacious rooms, full-service dining room and bar on the main floor, an outdoor pool, which I didn't get to. Quiet hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RundleRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind recommendation and for including the Radisson Woodlands hotel in your Grand Canyon rafting vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a great hotel, clean and quite. It's located right by food and Target. The staff is great. They recommend a great pizza place for us and it was wonderful. They always give us a little map of Flagstaff too.

Room Tip: The second floor of the main building has the "sky walk" which the youngers kids love.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation and for choosing the Radisson Woodlands Hotel when you visit Flagstaff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Booked the "Ski" package for Dec 30-31st for a room with two queen beds. Arrived at the hotel at 4:30 pm and were promptly greeted at the front desk. I was informed that no rooms were available at the moment and that house keeping would be paged in order to locate a clean room. She said that due to the New Year's Eve weekend they were totally booked. We sat on the couch for a period of 10 minutes or so during which the front desk attendant had someone bring us a variety of soft drinks and a tray of cookies. The front desk agent was very professional and accommodating. Our room was on the 3rd floor and was both exactly what we booked and clean. We decided to use our $25 voucher to the in house sushi restaurant to get a couple of rolls. We got 3 bowls of miso soup and 5 large sushi rolls for $40. Not bad! The food was pretty good and the service was ok (she was constantly searching for the manager to check on the voucher). Overall the service personnel at the hotel were very nice and helpful.

NOW THE BAD.... If you are planning on sleeping, DO NOT book a sleep number bed. The hotel states that you can request a regular mattress however due to the completely booked weekend, we took the room we were assigned. Bed #1 in our room would not respond to the remote; we called the front desk and they promptly sent up maintenance. He knew what the issue was and stated that we were controlling the neighbors bed. He reprogrammed the remote and Bed #1 worked properly (still definitely NOT comfortably though, its like sleeping on an air mattress). A few hours later, after tossing and turning, I tried to change the setting on my bed, #2. Well.... now my remote no longer controls my bed, it controls bed #1! It was around 3 am and I decided to just tough it out instead of waking everyone in the room to call maintenance again. I would NEVER stay in a sleep number bed again and based on all the reviews prior to mine, it seems like I am not alone. I don't know what kind of amazing deal the hotel got on the mattresses but it is absolutely the most uncomfortable sleep I have ever had and that includes the ditch I spent a night in during college!

Room Tip: Refuse a room with a sleep number bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calikiwi02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We are so pleased that our staff and services met (or exceeded) your expectations. We do read all of the reviews... and completely understand that some guests just do not enjoy the Sleep Number Beds (which is a Radisson brand standard). Some guests love them... others do not, which is why we do offer rooms with Traditional Mattresses. We do appreciate your feedback and rest assured our management and ownership do take notice and use feedback to make updates, upgrades and changes. Safe travels and we hope to see you again during the 2013 Ski Season (You CAN reserve a Traditional Mattress upon making reservations!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I took our three kids up to play in the snow for a day. We stayed the night at the Radisson Woodlands Hotel. The staff was friendly and the hotel was nice. We chose the hotel because the rate was extremely reasonable for a Friday night and the hotel is pet friendly. What I didn't realize is the hotel charges a $50 pet fee. I expected a pet fee but not quite that much since the cost of the room was only $80. The room was comfortable and clean. The hotel was in a good location. I would definitely stay at the Radisson again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benwapkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do appreciate your recommendation. Yes, we do have a standard pet deposit no matter what rate offer/special is booked - as our rates do vary based on season and occupancy levels. Safe Travels! Come see us again for snow fun, play and skiing in Flagstaff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuma
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

A great place to arrive after a long journey. It was to be our first stop on our Christmas vacation with family. The staff was receptive to our needs. We enjoyed our two nights there! One thing i would suggest is that the restaurant would improve their food. Did not have any luck there. Christmas dinner was not great!! ( I know I was not at home)! The American cuisine could use some improvement. Aside from the food everything else was great! Good job!!!!

Room Tip: Do not request an upgrade, if you need two double beds!! Had no trouble with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amazedhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Radisson Woodlands Hotel on your Christmas vacation! We appreciate your feedback and your suggestions. We'll definitely share your comments regarding the restaurant with our Food & Beverage Manager. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night before travelling onward to the Grand Canyon. We arrived late and left early. It was a beautiful hotel with a lovely warm fireplace in the reception area. My only comment is that it was so noisy that I had to use my earplugs - the only time I have had to do so during a month's travel in the USA. At first I thought it was the very loud air-conditioning, but the next morning after a terrible night's sleep, we looked out of the window and saw what perhaps could have been a boiler. Awful!!! Whether it was the air-conditioning or a boiler, I can only say it was not a peaceful night.
As a hotel, it was adequate, but make sure you are not in Room 241!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mightymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We are pleased you found the hotel and fireplace lovely as a stop on your trip to the Grand Canyon. We apologize that the room was noisy - though we are not aware of a 'noisy' boiler, we appreciate the heads up so that we can look into the problem and resolve.
Thank you again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.7 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
5.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Address: 1175 W Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6213 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#8 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff is located right off Route 66 near historic downtown Flagstaff and the NAU campus. Convenient for a short drive ( about an hour) to the Grand Canyon, minutes from Sunset Crater and the Native American ruins at Wupatki National Monument. The DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff provides easy access to hiking, fishing, golfing and offers great packages (ie Arizona Snowbowl Ski Package.The hotel has just completed a multi-million dollar renovation and is excited to be a part of the DoubleTree by Hilton family of hotels. Proud to offer the same great services guests have come to expect and love with a variety of upgrades in amenities boasting a new look that is invitingly new and fresh yet comfortable. Come experience the new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Flagstaff
Flagstaff Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing