We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Ranked #7 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
durham, england
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A little bit disappointed”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of a tour of California and the west. The room was large and spacious but could have done with a deep clean as there was some sort of white powder spilled on the glass table lamp and coffee drips down one of the units. The beds had the comfort controls but we couldn't get the hang of using them, had s decent night's sleep however. We ate at the nearby Galaxy Diner and that was great. In the morning the people who chose the ready prepared buffet breakfast had speedy service but we chose buttered toast and croissants and had to wait for ages.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments and feedback. Reading reviews such as yours assists our team in improving the services and amenities most important to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    505
    236
    93
    37
See reviews for
492
542
76
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night on a road trip. As my husband unloaded the luggage from our truck, I went to check us in. It's a very pretty lobby and there were no other guests about. I walked up to front desk and said "Hi, you have a room for Richardson" She checks it and says that I can't check in, my husband has to do it as the reservation is in his name. I would like to point out again that we were on a road trip and in the 5 weeks that we were travelling this is the ONLY time this happened. OK, I tell her I'll get him, he's right at the front door 20 feet away....my husband walks over (this may have taken 15 seconds) and says in a joking manner "Hi. I'm the other Richardson" He is met with a blank stare...it is possible to forget what you are doing in 15 seconds??? Need to work on a little customer service here.

There were no king beds available even though I had booked one, fine we took a room with 2 queens. Now, if you have never slept in a sleep number bed before its quite a novelty. As this was new to us we spent some time getting them adjusted to our comfort zone.

Now its time for dinner....however a tour bus has just pulled in and they tell us that it's going to take quite some time. Tour buses go first.

After a long day it's time for sleep. In the middle of the night my husbands side of the bed has lost all it's air!!! His side had to be 2 inches lower than mine. In disgust he moves to the other bed as we are far to tired to deal with lights and adjusting in the middle of the night. Turns out a 'sleep number' bed is a glorified air mattress.

The hotel was fine. It was clean. There was nothing special about it. But this whole bed issue was quite annoying. We didn't bother mentioning to the front desk as we left because it's not like they are going to change out all the beds just because we didn't like it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs. Richardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Let us first apologize that your check-in was not as quick and easy as is our standard. First impressions are so important and we have high standards of service -- we didn't meet your or our expectations. And for that we apologize.
In response to the sleep number beds.. some guests truly love them.. but we understand that others prefer a standard mattress. Please note that we DO offer many 'Traditional' bed guestrooms that can either be booked online or upon request at check-in. We understand how important a good night's rest is... and that guests preferences vary.
We do appreciate your feedback and hope you'll give us another chance in the future to prove to you we can do better to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST YORKS
Level 6 Contributor
969 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We would really recommend you breaking your journey by stopping in this friendly town on Route 66.
The hotel is situated about 1.5 miles from the town centre and a cab only costs approx. $5 into town where there are a number of good eateries avaibale in town at the local brewery bars at Beaver St, Flagstaff and Lumberyard.
I would not recommend walking as the road is a bit busy and not well-lit at night and the cabs such good value.
Our room was very comfortable and the air-conditioning/heating evry good and we enjoyed an excellent nights sleep.
For breakfast or even dinner if you are tired we would recommend the Galaxy Diner which is only 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your terrific feedback and advice. We do truly appreciate your recommendation and are pleased to have been a 'stop over' on your Route 66 adventure! Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel is well positioned in Flagstaff. Close to everything. The public areas have an oriental motif and are nice enough. However, the wear is starting to show and some upgrading will be needed in not too distant of the future. The room was comfortable, well equipped. The bedding was first rate. The climate control a bit too noisy. This is a common problem in hotel rooms. Why not have someone check one a month to ensure it runs quietly in every room? Internet was free and very good. Service very efficient and friendly. Still, you know you are not in an intimate setting. It's clearly a well run chain property. Fitness room was sufficient. All in all it was a decent value for the money and a good choice for one or two nights stay on business or holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onepoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such a thoughtful review. We do appreciate the detailed feedback and though we didn't 'WOW' you on this visit, it will continue to be our goal to provide outsanding service and amenities in our goal to WOW you on your next. Note that we are in the process of making plans for renovation (we've already completed some upgrades in the public areas, restaurant and with our new HD Flatscreen TVs in all guestrooms). We'll be sure to everyone updated as to the newest plans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had traveled all day and were very tired. Checking in was fast and very pleasant. We were in our room within minutes and the room was very inviting and we ordered room service which was fast but the food was also excellent. Checking out was also so easy. I will stay there again. Hope it will be for a longer stay. I now know that there is a great place to stay in flagstaff. Thanks PAH in Texas

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pacwhuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate the feedback and recommendation and hope to see you on a longer stay in Flagstaff soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

On arrival we were met with glasses of champagne for the tour group. The lobby area was huge and very grand. The place is absolutely spotless and I commend the housekeeping team. Very large room and comfortable as well. Our room overlooked the woods at the back.
We ate in the hotels restaurant and I highly recommend it.The food was amazing and cooked to perfection.
There is also a bar and we sat in the lobby with our drinks as it was very comfortable with a huge fireplace and piano in the corner.
We were only there 1 night but I would of liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahjaneivesane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for the recommendation and comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy our retaurants and lounge. We hope to see you again when you can spend more time in our lovely Flagstaff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Radisson Woodlands Hotel was beautiful and extremely clean. The lobby was very inviting and had a wonderful fireplace to sit around. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable when answering all our questions about sights to see in the area. Most importantly to my family was how clean everything was, especially the rooms. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review and recommendation. We do appreciate your feedback and for choosing the Radisson Woodlands Hotel Flagstaff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.6 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
5.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 65 in Flagstaff
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Address: 1175 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6213 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#8 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff is located right off Route 66 near historic downtown Flagstaff and the NAU campus. Convenient for a short drive (about an hour) to the Grand Canyon, minutes from Sunset Crater and the Native American ruins at Wupatki National Monument. The DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff provides easy access to hiking, fishing, golfing and offers great packages (ie Arizona Snowbowl Ski Package). Proud to offer the same great services guests have come to expect and love for years with a variety of upgraded amenities. Our hotel ambiance is invitingly new and fresh yet comfortable. Have pets? We do offer pet friendly rooms ($50 pet fee applies). We also offer 2 restaurants: Woodlands Cafe and Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki which allows us to offer dining for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service. Our Lobby Lounge is an inviting area to relax and enjoy. Come experience the new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Flagstaff
Flagstaff Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing