We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1175 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The property is very well maintained. The internal decor is unique and gives the hotel a classy feel. In the lobby, there was someone playing the piano and there were chairs to sit and listen. Apparently, only the suites come with refrigerators but the front desk brought one to our non-suite room because one was available. The two queen beds room was a little on the smaller size but certainly not "tiny." The carpet was clean, as was the bathroom. The sleep number beds were functional and very comfortable. The large flat screen, high def television was wonderful. There were plenty of towels in the bathroom, and the hot water was actually hot! The shower had very good pressure as well. The fitness center had 2 treadmills, an elliptical, a bike, and machines for biceps, triceps, pecs, abs, lateral pulldowns and legs - so a pretty comprehensive fitness center. The indoor jacuzzi was large and clean. The dry sauna did not seem to get very hot (I would guess about 100 degrees, if that), and you have to turn it on as you use it so plan ahead. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located about a 10 minute drive from downtown Flagstaff and all the "happenings" on Route 66. It is also close to gas stations, stores (Fry's, Walmart) and restaurants (Buffalo Wild Wings, IHOP). Overall, I would definitely recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmgatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for the very detailed review and recommendation. We do appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    420
    205
    87
    34
See reviews for
380
447
61
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We spent 2 nights in the Woodlands which was very pleasant.On arrival we were greeted with a glass of sparkling wine, the staff were very efficient & helpful, the room was spacious & very comfortable.The restaurant served delicious meals which were excellent value. The pool was a bit small but ideal for a dip after a hot day's sight-seeing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeomagsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Radisson Woodlands Hotel on your recent visit to Flagstaff. We are so pleased that you enjoyed sightseeing in Flagstaff and your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We got an excellent rate on this hotel from Hotwire, and we were overall very pleased. The hotel was clean! We were placed in the "Premier" building, which was an annex connected by a second story covered walkway! The annex wasn't as nice as the main building. The room was clean and comfortable but small!

The pool area was clean, and there were always fresh, clean towels available by the inside whirlpool. The only suggestion I would have would be to place some kind of laundry cart by the pool. There was no place to put your wet/used pool towels, so there were dirty, used pool towels draped over the fence and all over the place.

We ate at the Japanese Restaurant. It was really good!

Overall, it was an excellent base camp for our Sedona/Flagstaff/and Grand Canyon adventures! If we found another good rate, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

LOVED Flagstaff!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the MAIN building! Also, the sun rises EARLY in AZ in the summer! Be sure to clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InOurHappyPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate the feedback and will definitely keep on top of those towels near the pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have stayed at this Radisson for many years and I hadn't visited in a while. We stayed 2 nights, I was disappointed in the room, it was small and the air conditioning was very loud and annoying. I looked out the window and saw the top of a roof on the lower floors. There was a pallet and slab of wood amongst other garbage. Not something pleasant to look at. They really need to rennovate their rooms and the environment. The sliding front doors in the lobby made a screeching noise. Very disappointed this visit. The only great thing was the Sakura restaurant which was awesome, great food and service!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We do read each and every review in a continuing effort to address the real questions and concerns of our guests. We strive daily to offer exceptional services, amenities and an overall enjoyable Flagstaff experience. We never like to hear when a guest has left disappointed. Please do know that we are in the process of upgrades and renovations (thus the pallet you saw from your window). Be assured that we've disposed of the pallets and garbage and, based on your honest comments, are in the process of now building a lattice to hide evidence of our renovations. In addition, we've had a service call in for the repair of the sliding doors at the entry and they are now resolved.
We do hope that you'll trust us once again to provide a pleasant stay and we will look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit to Flagstaff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I spend the majority of my nights (and days !) in hotels, so my expectations vary from those of the vacation/pleasure traveler. Overall my experience was pleasant, with one exception. I had two all-day seminars beginning on Sunday. In the morning, the young man from the banquet department was sullen and uncommunicative. It was Father's day -- he was very young and probably not a father, but perhaps he was and he was not pleased about having to work. The young man in the afternoon -- who bussed the meeting room -- was a treasure. He was upbeat, fun, and highly recommended the hotel restaurant. Even brought me a "coupon" for sushi. What an ambassador ! I was also extremely impressed with the front desk staff as they fielded two bus loads of tourists checking in. Despite the numbers, the front desk staff kept their cool and had genuine smiles for each and every guest checking in -- as well as for those who were just walking through the lobby. VERY IMPRESSIVE.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktm0586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your praise. We appreciate your comments and will share them with both our banquet department and front desk. We do work hard and truly appreciate the recognition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Checked in quite late in the evening and was greeted with "I have you down for 2 Queen Beds" - no I ordered a King. I understand that hotels run out of room requests, but dont act like that is what I requested. A better approach would have been - I see you reserved a King, would it be alright if we put you in a Queen room? Much more acceptable.

So the initial greeting didnt start my stay in the greatest way. Then we got to our room, unpacked, and as i was crawling into my bed, i stepped right in a wet spot. There was a leak from the ceiling. Too tired to complain, I went to bed, only to be awoken at 4am to water dripping onto the floor, as someone in the room above us must have been showering and releasing the water. I also spotted mold in the corner of the bathroom and the wallpaper was peeling off the walls.

We switched rooms later that morning, again, into another Queen room. To add insult to the situation, some of our friends arrived later that day, who had also requested a King room, and were placed in the Executive Suite, since they were all out of King rooms. Well done Radisson, we werent good enough for your special upgrade but our friends were.

There was a time when I considered this a fine hotel to stay at in Flagstaff, but I will look elsewhere next time.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank midance48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
First, let us apologize the the frustrations experienced during your recent stay. Based on your comments, we'll be working with our front desk team on how to better respond to guest requests, especially during the busy summer months. When room types become sold out, though we can't upgrade all guests, we do make an attempt to upgrade when possible. We are researching your comments so we can ensure we address the room issues, as well as the service issues.

I personally have found that TripAdvisor is one of the best management tools I've found to learn more about our operation, not only what we do well, but where I need to focus my attention to make necessary improvements to ensure we are the best we can be.

I do appreciate your time, will be in contact soon and hope that we will be able to work to earn your trust back on a future visit to Flagstaff.

Michael Gilbert
Front Office Manager
Radisson Woodlands Hotel Flagstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSP USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed at Radisson Woodlands on (2) separate occasions in May/June 2012 prior to a Grand Canyon dory trip. We were very satisfied with all aspects of our stay(s). The rooms were clean and the staff friendly, responsive. The hotel has been around for some time but appears to be well maintained. Sleep # beds were great.

Breakfast at hotel looked lame so instead we walked to Safeway (1blk) got some Starbucks and a few baked goods at Village Bakery. Sushi at hotel Japanese restaurant and was pleasantly surprised at the quality + taste of the sushi. Did not eat at the teppanyaki bar. Other restaurants we liked - Delhi Palace - excellent. Cuvee 928. Recommend the night scene in old town Flag.

Room Tip: Skip breakfast at hotel, walk to Safeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you -- not only for your feedback, but also for continuing to choose the Radisson Woodland Hotel on your Grand Canyon vacations. We have passed along your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager, as we want to ensure our restaurant offerings are not just good.. but exceptional.

We look forward to your next visit. Safe Travels,
your friends at the Radisson Woodlands Hotel Flagstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
2.7 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
5.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Address: 1175 West Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001 (Formerly Woodlands Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#8 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#9 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff is located right off Route 66 near historic downtown Flagstaff and the NAU campus. Convenient for a short drive ( about an hour) to the Grand Canyon, minutes from Sunset Crater and the Native American ruins at Wupatki National Monument. The DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff provides easy access to hiking, fishing, golfing and offers great packages (ie Arizona Snowbowl Ski Package.The hotel has just completed a multi-million dollar renovation and is excited to be a part of the DoubleTree by Hilton family of hotels. Proud to offer the same great services guests have come to expect and love with a variety of upgrades in amenities boasting a new look that is invitingly new and fresh yet comfortable. Come experience the new DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Flagstaff
Flagstaff Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing