We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Old hotel needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn I-40 & I-17

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn I-40 & I-17
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old hotel needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel because it was fairly cheap compared to pricing for others in the area. The carpets in the hallways were very dirty and needed to be cleaned. The ice machine near our room was out of order. The bed was hard and the pillows were the absolute worst ever. They consisted of broken up pieces of foam rubber that was scanty for the size of pillows. Towels provided were thin and only two were provided for the two of us. We had to request more and noticed other guests doing the same. No designated seating area was provided downstairs for breakfast. Patrons had to balance food and drinks on small plastic trays while going up a couple of flights of stairs to the second floor. Ridiculous! How families with small children or people with disabilities managed is a mystery. I took my food to my room. Pastries were dry and unpalatable.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyslider28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    71
    69
    47
    29
See reviews for
84
76
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Not a great or even nice hotel! The beds where hard, the windows didnt lock and had a stick to keep them closed. The heating system for the room was old and stained the wall black, the bathroom as so small there was barely enough room to turn around and I am not a small person. The rooms smelled like mildew and the hot breakfast smelled like wet cat food.

Pick another place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Hell, NV
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The front desk staff were wonderful! They were so helpful and accommodating despite our unusual travel plans & schedule. (Due to work and travel times, we had to be "daysleepers".)
We DO appreciate that the lady at the front TRIED to put us in a quiet area. However for a few hours in the mid-morning, there was some LOUD hammering/construction going on! Plus the loud people, screaming children and a yappy dog barking going up & down the halls.

The location is good, close to NAU and lots of shops & restaurants.

Here's a tip for ALL travelers: PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE be quiet as possible when going to and from your rooms. You never know who might be trying to sleep! Not everyone has a "normal" 9-5 schedule.

My other complaints are the heat in this hotel. The heat was cranked up & the thermostat in our room didn't work at all. (We suspect that none of the thermostats work) It was so uncomfortably warm in our room. AND our bathroom was a bit dirty. The tub & floor didn't look clean. The vent in the bathroom ceiling hasn't been cleaned in a LONG time. Yuck.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TavNST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Level Contributor
282 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel is what all Quality Inns should be like. It is in a very convenient location r4ight near I 40 and I 17 with plenty of food nearby. The rooms were average in size but very comfortable, clean and quiet. I especially liked the young man who checked us in. He was very very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck52310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here only because it was the only vacancy. Although the hotel was very close to everything, I would not recommend . The room was "clean" at first glance, but the tub was dirty looking, and paint was peeling behind the bathroom door and bathroom walls. Breakfast was a nightmare, as there is not tables to sit at, just random chairs. We had to go to our room to eat. The beds were hard as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle21572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I arrived to this hotel on Friday afternoon about 3pm. They were 100% booked as were probably all other hotels in Flagstaff, for a weekend kickoff to ski season over the holiday weekend. Having never been to Flagstaff I had a little trouble finding the place. At check in the attendant indicated that my room had one bed. I explained that I asked for two beds on the reservation because there were three in my party. She said that they had no rooms left with two beds. I asked if there as anything we could do (maybe a room with a pullout or a rollaway?). I was offered to cancel my room and check out! WOW! I accepted the offer of no help?! And continued...I asked if they had any information about the town (restaurants, places to see, etc.) and they gave me a sort of blank stare. One of the attendants simply said I should "go downtown, that's where everything is at". I asked of there was free wifi? Yes.
So the room door opens to the outside...it made for a bit of a chilly room. There was an awful stench in the bathroom sink. Other than that the room appeared clean on the surface. The room was only two or three doors down from the laundry. I could hear the machines running all day and all night. This could rank in one of my worst night's sleep ever. We got up early just to put an end to our miserable night. While they offered a free breakfast of some sort we did not try it. We were happy to get out of there. We had a long day of skiing at SnowBowl and went back to the hotel. But we left the room in the late afternoon, despite the fact that we had already paid for another night. I couldn't bare the thought of sleeping there another night. This room may have been acceptable if I was in college, or looking to stay someplace for as little as $ possible. It was a bed in a room after all. And it was clean. There is no excuse for poor attitudes in front office staff in my book, no matter if it is a 5-star or 1-star hotel.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gigi376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, Usa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Hotel was musty smelling! Beds had springs popping out and room had paint peeling. It was the worst part of what should have been a memorable experience. Thus the reason parking lot was empty but hotel across the street was packed. Not worth the money!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn - Flagstaff / East Lucky Lane
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
#34 of 63 in Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 885 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn I-40 & I-17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn I-40 & I-17

Property: Quality Inn I-40 & I-17
Address: 2000 S Milton Rd, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6314 (Formerly Quality Inn University)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn I-40 & I-17 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn also an ideal hub for Sedona, Meteor Crater, the San Francisco Peaks, Walnut Canyon, Sunset Crater and Wupatki Indian Ruins. Adjacent to Northern Arizona University, this charming hotel is 80 miles from the Grand Canyon. Let the friendly staff book guided Canyon tours via van, plane or helicopter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Inn I-40 & I-17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn University Hotel Flagstaff
Quality Inn Flagstaff
Flagstaff Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing