We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wanted my hard earned money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff
Ranked #54 of 66 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The howard johnson on east rt 66, by the museum club charged me 167 dollars on a friday and did not have the nerve to tell me there was going to be construction at 8 in the morning the next day. the only reason for the stay there was to visit the museum club and walk back to hotel. next morning I'm complaining for my room vibrating from the construction. their only avail was a 10$ refund on stay. Totally not worth it for the next time. Do not stay there.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask more questions about the next day. Seems like once transaction was made you were f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Del L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Hello Del L,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us your concerns during your stay at our hotel. Allow us to serve you better in the future, please provide us the room that you stayed in as well as the date of your check in so that I can verify all your comments and have our management address this matter accordingly. Please know that your satisfaction is always our top priority and that is one reason why our hotel is undergoing renovation so that we could offer you and our guests with a better Howard Johnson Inn experience. I assure you that they will look into your concerns carefully. Thank you very much for your business. I hope you will allow us another chance to provide you better services in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 553 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

I like to think of myself as thrifty and choose accommodations accordingly. I was very pleasantly surprised with the quality of room at this Motel on Route 66 in Flagstaff. The room was large and nicely furnished with a great bathroom. My needs for a ground floor room do to a disability were met. There was not a breakfast provided but the restaurant in front was interesting and the from scratch food was great.I will stay here again.

Room Tip: If train noise bothers you, ask for a room to the back of the property. I didn't notice train no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PALMER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Hello PALMER B,

It is rewarding to know that we have sufficed your preference during your recent stay with us. Thank you for not hesitating to give us your business. We will continue on working very closely to be able to consistently provide our guests the quality of services you deserve for choosing to stay with us. Please know that our staff are always available to attend to our guests needs at anytime. Do not hesitate to call their attention should you need assistance during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Faye H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
familyinn, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I am absolutely puzzled and baffled by some of the previous reviews... Not sure which hotel they were staying in but the rooms were recently renovated and modernized... The showers were fully tiled with easy entry showers, excellent sink/counter area, fridge, coffee maker, etc... The rooms were very clean and the cable tv worked just fine... Internet was a little spotty the further your room was from the main area but after the staff reset the router, it worked just fine and we were in a room furthest from the office... The pool area was clean, and the pool was great!

The staff were very friendly, even when faced with some extremely rude guests from North Carolina (shame on you!), who complained that their children's feet were made dirty by the carpets - however, I think it had more to do with the fact that children had been outside barefoot... really?

And for those complaining about the trains.. obviously you've never been to Flag before... the trains can be heard pretty much anywhere in the central district and immediate area - ITS A MAIN TRAIN CROSS-COUNTRY TRAIN ROUTE FOLKS! (And by they way, it wasnt even that bad in the hotel).

The restaurant attached to the hotel served excellent home-style food breakfast, lunch, and dinner! The hotel is VERY conveniently located on route 66 about 1.5 miles from the interstate and easy to find.

Book online for a better rate and choose this hotel - we will!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcusa246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Hello Marcus,

Please know that we are truly humbled by your feedback for our hotel. Thank you for your positive review and for taking note of our effort to be able to provide convenience, comfort and affordable services. Your feedback will certainly bring our team an inspiration to work very closely and maintain the quality of accommodation you enjoyed with us. It will always be a pleasure having you in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
familyinn, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I paid full price. I received no discount but got less than I paid for. No hot water no internet. I undrestand stuff happens. The water heater failed but if a business fails to deliver the service advertised it should charge full price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Timothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Hello Mr Timothy,

I regret that you were not able to completely received the services in our hotel during your stay. Please provide us the date and room number assigned to you. I will accelerate your feedback so that this is evaluated and addressed accordingly. This will also be submitted to management . I assure you that they will look into your concerns carefully. Thank you very much for your business. I hope you will allow us another chance to provide you better services in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
familyinn, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Flagstaff East
Travelodge Flagstaff East
#37 of 66 in Flagstaff
248 reviews
3.7 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#27 of 66 in Flagstaff
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Flagstaff University West
3.4 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#22 of 66 in Flagstaff
540 reviews
4.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff

Address: 3300 E Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-4031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 66 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range: $43 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by beautiful mountains and evergreen forests, Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff hotel near Arizona Snowbowl is the perfect place for your Southwestern vacation. Located off Route 66 and near Interstate 40, our hotel offers free parking for your car, truck or RV so it is easy to enjoy popular local attractions. Our friendly 24-hour front desk staff is here to help you plan your trip. Enjoy a swim in our outdoor pool before unwinding in our spa. Free Wi-Fi Internet access makes it easy to check in with work and home. Our pet-friendly Flagstaff hotel offers non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms. Head to Arizona Snowbowl, one of the oldest ski areas in the country, and enjoy scenic views from the chair lift, ski or snowboard on the fresh-packed powder or hike the tallest mountain in the state, Humphrey’s Peak. Admire big cats, grizzly bears and Serengeti animals at Out of Africa Wildlife Park. Explore thousands of ancient Native American villages, beautiful desert landscapes and majestic mountains at Flagstaff Area National Monuments. Be sure to visit the awe-inspiring cliffs, canyons and spires of the Grand Canyon. We are a short drive from red rock canyon hiking, art galleries, shopping and dining in Sedona. Head to Crown Railroad Cafe, for a great meal. Enjoy fajitas, tacos, enchiladas and more at La Fonda Mexican Restaurant or Satchmo’s for barbeque and Cajun dishes. Stop by Black Bart’s Steakhouse Saloon for live music, steak, ribs, grilled seafood and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing