We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed! :-( Not What I paid for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff
Ranked #56 of 66 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This motel is located on a main road to the Grand Canyon.... But then again, there are many motels on the same strip of road. It was not worth the price we paid. If it you paid $40.00 to $45.00.... it might be ok to spend a night. It is an older motel with updated rooms. Our room was small and the TV stand was big and in the way. I found some long blonde hair in the tub....which I can live with. But when I made my coffee and found another hair inside the coffee machine, it was not ok. No, it was not our hair, we all have brown hair.

My son and husband were so disappointed to find out that there is not water in the swimming pool. The website listed a swimming pool for this hotel and I specifically book our hotels with swimming pool because my son loves to swim. There is no free continental breakfast served at this hotel because there is a restaurant attached to it. This is the first time I stayed at HOJO, and was disappointed. While we were in our room, another guest who justed checked in was able to use his key to our room. He was very surprised to find us in the room.... and we were shocked that he was able to use his key to our room. I really want to give this hotel a higher star because the front desk guy was kinda nice, but the hotel itself is very disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaye E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Miss Kaye E.,

I sincerely apologize for the unavailability of our pool during your stay as we were working on the renovations of the Motel. We wanted to make sure that every facility is safe for our guests to use.

Thank you for bringing to my attention the “key” incident, I will personally evaluate the matter as we give utmost attention to the safety of all our guests. I assure you this will be addressed accordingly including our sanitation especially the coffee machine issue.

I hope that your family will give us another opportunity of providing your next accommodation needs as we are all working together to give our guests quality services.
Thank you very much for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 526 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

After reading some of the other terrible reviews I was nervous about staying at this location. I was very surprised to see the clean renovated room, completely quiet and no smoke smell. Overall good experience! Would recommend this place to anyone going to Flagstaff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Miss Kathleen R.,

Thank you for not hesitating to stay in Howard Johnson Inn.

We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay in our hotel and thank you for sharing your experience with us and for taking note of our effort to put into actions, further improvements in our services.

Your positive review is indeed an added motivation for our Team to keep working to provide our guests quality accommodation and services at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: eviter ce motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean claude l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_2018, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ignazio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank sophie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chrisy_223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank marmotte27000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFlagstaff, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
3.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
2.5 mi away
Hotel Aspen InnSuites Flagstaff / Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
#53 of 66 in Flagstaff
101 reviews
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Flagstaff University West
2.1 mi away
Motel 6 Flagstaff - Butler Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff

Address: 3300 E Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-4031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 66 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range: $40 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by beautiful mountains and evergreen forests, Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff hotel near Arizona Snowbowl is the perfect place for your Southwestern vacation. Located off Route 66 and near Interstate 40, our hotel offers free parking for your car, truck or RV so it is easy to enjoy popular local attractions. Our friendly 24-hour front desk staff is here to help you plan your trip. Enjoy a swim in our outdoor pool before unwinding in our spa. Free Wi-Fi Internet access makes it easy to check in with work and home. Our pet-friendly Flagstaff hotel offers non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms. Head to Arizona Snowbowl, one of the oldest ski areas in the country, and enjoy scenic views from the chair lift, ski or snowboard on the fresh-packed powder or hike the tallest mountain in the state, Humphrey’s Peak. Admire big cats, grizzly bears and Serengeti animals at Out of Africa Wildlife Park. Explore thousands of ancient Native American villages, beautiful desert landscapes and majestic mountains at Flagstaff Area National Monuments. Be sure to visit the awe-inspiring cliffs, canyons and spires of the Grand Canyon. We are a short drive from red rock canyon hiking, art galleries, shopping and dining in Sedona. Head to Crown Railroad Cafe, for a great meal. Enjoy fajitas, tacos, enchiladas and more at La Fonda Mexican Restaurant or Satchmo’s for barbeque and Cajun dishes. Stop by Black Bart’s Steakhouse Saloon for live music, steak, ribs, grilled seafood and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing