We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good and I'd go back - but then again I LIKE trains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Warren
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pretty good and I'd go back - but then again I LIKE trains”
Reviewed November 13, 2009

So that's only fair to disclose. Knowing Flag well, I wanted a spot where I could watch trains from the room but not be right on top of the tracks on the 66 corridor which is a little close even for me. This was just the right distance away. I thought it was right on top of the one crossing, its actually not, so it wasn't as noisy as I expected but the train viewing from the 4th and 5th floors on the north side is pretty good.

Definitely 'better than average' for the usual Flagstaff motel, probably better desk and breakfast service that the typical HIX, room average. Access to I-40 is great but yeah, you're a good mile from the historic downtown.

Just be aware that the 'noisy' side of the building is the even rooms on the north side. They do everything in their power to let people know about the train traffic. I had to deliberately ASK for the north side to get it, and even then they moved it over anyway, so unless they are really busy they're going to do their darndest to keep you back. As for me, I enjoy it - to a point - but to sleep I simply turned the heater fan up to generate some white noise and it didn't bother me at all. I've had places (Glendale, AZ) that were actually much, much worse for train noise so it can get to even the likes of me. I noticed that some places like the old Howard Johnson on 66 really are right beside the tracks and right on the crossing so that must be real fun.

Only negative really was the elevator, it decided to get quirky and they immediately took it out of service. Didn't get stuck, it just wouldn't go anywhere. 3 minutes later they were on it.

Staff here was really good, I was impressed and HIX is pretty much my first choice now.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randgust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    251
    130
    44
    28
See reviews for
254
209
48
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We stayed in the Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express for one night. Upon check-in, we were greeted by friendly staff who were very willing to give us directions to whatever we needed. We were given our room (away from elevators, as requested). When we entered our room, we were pleased to see a modern, clean room with comfy beds. On the desk/table was a history of the Flagstaff area and of the train service through Flagstaff. There were 4 pairs of earplugs. We wondered what we were in for, but we all woke in the morning and commented on how peaceful the hotel was... and NO TRAIN NOISE. Don't let that scare you off from this hotel. We did stay in room 207, on the front of the building, so that may make the difference. There are lots of other hotels along this same road, too.

This hotel has an indoor/outdoor pool that stays open to 11pm, so if you have kiddo's, like we do, you'll appreciate that. The free breakfast was nice. They have several flat screens, board games, a fireplace in the same tastefully-decorated room for after-breakfast activities.

We would recommend this hotel and we would gladly stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Very disappointed in this Holiday Inn. Had no idea we were going to hear trains all night long, every 15 minutes, and horns blaring. Also, the rooms are old and the bed was very uncomfortable. They had a plastic covering on the mattress under the sheets...yuk! You wouldn't think it would be like that because when you enter into the lobby, it is updated, and quaint. My husband and I had traveled many hours that day, and if we had not been so exhausted, we would have packed our bags at midnight, and went to another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

We were on a 10 day Motorcycle trip and this was just a 1 night stay on our way home. The Hotel is older but renovated nicely. Desk staff was very friendly and since we are "Gold" members she said she upgraded us to a nice room on the quiet side of the Hotel. She said there was a train that went by during the night. Referred us to the best pizza for carry outs, "Mr. George's" After being on the bike all week, just too tired to go anywhere and this place delivered hot and quick pizza.
One problem is that it had a large number of Tour Buses because it is so close to the Sourh Rim of the Grand Canyon. They handled it quite nicely by opening other meeting rooms to accomodate the people. The stafff worked hard at keeping everything filled. If only the "tour" people had not been so rude, it would have gone smoothly. The staff worked really hard trying to please everyone. I would suggest eating breakfast a little later for the buses left by 7:00 to avoid the crowds

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Flagstaff seems to be filled with marginal and substandard hotels. We expected the same with this hotel. Not so here! This property was a pleasant surprise and very much in line with the quality we have come to expect at a HI Express. Previous reviewers mentioned problems with train noise but we experienced none of this. Our room # 429 faced the front parking lot and enjoyed peaceful nights throughout our weekend stay. The breakfast bar was fresh, plentiful and well-stocked by attentive staff. Hotel location was perfect for our needs just slightly outside the main attraction of downtown area. A Denny's is adjacent to the parking lot and an Outback Steakhouse is within walking distance. Overall we were very pleased and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZspaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twente
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Average hotel not nearby the city center of flagstaff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziggy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
281 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

This is an older Holiday Inn but was clean and in a great location. For the most part you know what to expect. We were only there one night on our way through Flagstaff. The rooms were older and showing their age, but very clean and just fine for our purpose. We were fortunate enough to get a room on the south side of the hotel (away from the train tracks) so we had a noise-free night. The service was excellent and the continental breakfast was adequate. The hotel is right off I-40 and there are a couple of restaurants within a couple of blocks (besides Denny's) -- Cracker Barrel and Outback. We were in Flagstaff on a Sunday and most of the downtown restuarants were closed so finding the two above were great. The complimentary WiFi worked well, too.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.3 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 64 in Flagstaff
972 reviews
1.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
2.8 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff

Property: Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
Address: 2320 E Lucky Ln, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-9744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to Northern Arizona for business or leisure, Stay Smart at the Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel. We are centrally located to many Flagstaff attractions including Historic Rt. 66, Northern Arizona University, Lowell Observatory, Museum of N. AZ and the Riordan Mansion. Breath taking monuments like Grand Canyon, Sedona, the Red Rocks, Meteor Crater, Sunset Crater, Painted Desert and the Petrified Forest are nearby and a must see for all traveling through.The Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel is also the right place for relaxation and great hospitality! Our guests can enjoy views of the San Francisco Peaks from many of our wonderful guest rooms. All our comfortable rooms include a host of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access. Come sit and relax by our cozy fireplace in the evenings or have fun in our arcade room. Stop by our Express Start Breakfast Bar every morning for a deluxe hot continental breakfast served complimentary to all our guests. The hotel also has an outdoor/ indoor heated pool, a spa and a fitness center. The Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express offers meeting & banquet facilities, and also provides complimentary shuttle services to both the Flagstaff Airport & Amtrak Station. The staff at the Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel are always eager to provide you with friendly, courteous and professional service. We look forward to seeing you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Flagstaff
Holiday Inn Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing