We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lucky find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lucky find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were very fortunate to have the pleasure of staying at Holiday Inn Express, Flagstaff for two nights at the beginning of October when our trip to the Grand Canyon was cancelled due to Government shutdown of all National Parks. Our group of four were travelling from Monument Valley to our hotel at the Grand Canyon when we heard the news and had to make an unscheduled stop in Flagstaff to look for alternative accommodation. Staff there were incredibly helpful and found rooms for both couples, suggested we take a Helicopter ride over the Grand Canyon and even booked it for us. They also gave us advice on sightseeing in the area and recommended some excellent restaurants. Circumstances created a huge disappointment for us however without the help of Kay-Leigh, front of desk who went the extra mile for us and Alice Crobbe, Director of Sales who helped diffuse a tricky situation, we would not have enjoyed our stay so much. We could not fault the staff, accommodation or service and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkSupersec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    243
    129
    43
    28
See reviews for
246
201
46
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I blind-booked this through Hotwire and even at this discounted price it was very por value compared to the Rodeway Inn in Barstow that we stayed at the night before.

The heating was noisy, the room small but the biggest problem was the breakfasts. Not enough, not enough space for the people wanting to be served. I've seen this noted before but it appears that feedback from guests is treated with contempt and ignored.

But what really got us was the fact there was an environmental notice in the bathroom asking us to save the planet and not wash towels. Fine it's standard hotel practice to say ''save us money'' but when we did finally get breakfast everything was disposable! It was also disposable of the worst sort; plastic cutlery, foam plastic plates and bowls etc.

Eating crispy bacon with a plastic knife and fork?? Really?? This is rank hippocracy at its worst.

2 nights and it was obvious that the gusts came second.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else where the ratio between profit and client satisfaction is more tilted towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrdeeping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear mrdeeping,

Thank you for taking the time to provide some candid feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We do want to thank you for the high score on the Cleanliness of the hotel. We have shared these comments with the staff and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyville, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Firstly when you check in and they ask you if you would like a mountain view, do not be fooled, as this view also comes with a train track, train yard, electricity station to name a few added extras, the rooms and bathrooms are not well renovated, it is noisy from train line all night, the elevators are terrible and injure you if you don't get in in 3 seconds, it is a real disappointment and not a HI Express standard at all.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDBain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear JDBain,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I'm deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced due to the condition f the room and elevators as well as the outside noise. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Level Contributor
163 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here last year while touring we didn't want to do it this year but every where else in the area couldn't fit us all in. the hotel or at least our rooms had had a bit of a freshen up no ripped wall paper and the carpet wasn't stained and threadbare, first morning woken up at 0530 by the bins being emptied out the front, moved room to the back much quieter, you can hardly hear the train horns.
this is a dry hotel you can purchase alcohol from the garage across the road, in fact you can buy almost anything from the garage, only problem is there isn't anywhere you can sit down with friends have a quiet drink and relax after a long day, we sat outside on the bench a couple of evenings until our last night when a bottle was accidently broken, just after we had cleaned up the glass and the mess, a rather scruffy looking guy with a ponytail and creased HI express shirt on came out and very rudely more or less told us to clear off or he would call the sheriff as it is illegal to drink beer in public, we asked as we were guest where could we sit together and socialise we got the answer in our rooms, not a friendly man at all, we had met some nice people during our stay sat outside. you can eat at Denny's and have a beer with you meal.
we stayed at 6 or 7 HI Express's during our tour of Arizona and this was probably the worst, the coffee was always warm not hot in the evening twice I changed the dispensers over as the staff didn't check them, no boiled eggs 2 mornings, they ran out of scrambled eggs one morning, apart from the convenience of there location and there capacity to have several rooms available I wouldn't recommend staying here, 2 years in a row and twice rude or untrained staff at front of house.

Room Tip: get a room at the back, or at the far end opposite side of the pool side (no bins, no laundry) and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spikethebeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Spikethebeachbum,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, facilities and quality of its product. It is very regrettable to hear that there were certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your standards in particular the conditions of your room and hotel staff. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and we are confident they will take necessary actions to improve there unsatisfactory experience.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed there for 5 days and it was a wonderful experience. My friend and I were high maintenance and the staff was ALWAYS friendly and helpful, even booking a Grand Canyon tour at 9 pm for the next morning. The manager is so kind to his staff and I believe that was passed along to the hotel guests. Breakfast was perfect and yes, a train came by every hour but never blew its whistle and was barely heard, certainly not in the night (and I'm an insomniac). Behind the train tracks was a gorgeous mountain and it was a pleasure to see it from the window on the third floor. Thanks to all the staff including housekeeping and maintenance who contributed to our lovely vacation!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The breakfast is a standard express and is hot and real
Food. You have fast options too but my kiddos love the hot options and bringing cereal
Back to the room. We will stay again in four months when we are back in flagstaff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommabear1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

First the positives. We had preferred a room closer to the GC in Williams but soon realized everything there was booked. Thankfully this Holiday Inn Express could accommodate us late into the night.

We were quoted a room rate of $159 but were thankfully able to take full advantage of the military rate of $97. That hasn't always been our experience when it's late and hotels look like they will fill for the night.

The front desk staff was quick, friendly and efficient.

The room was tidy, well stocked with towels and had Bath and Bodyworks complimentary toiletries.

The negatives include just having that old "we've tried to cover up decades of cigarette smoke with air fresheners" smell. My son remarked that the hallway smelled like grape medicine when we stepped off the elevator. As a family of people who are highly allergic and sensitive to smoke smells, that was a downer.

The room was certainly adequate. However the pillow situation was horrible. I can sleep pretty much anywhere but I literally watched the clock at every hour on the hour because of horrible pillows.

Seriously, every pillow I tried felt like a flattened potato chip bag full of lumpy crumbs. Ultimately I just slept without a pillow. So a bad night of sleep will linger as we spend our day seeing the Grand Canyon.

All in all a very basic, Holiday Inn Express experience. Thankful for the hot breakfast and accessibility to the interstate so we can enjoy the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECRWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear ECRWood,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret the issues you experienced with the room you received. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us your feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.3 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff

Property: Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
Address: 2320 E Lucky Ln, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-9744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to Northern Arizona for business or leisure, Stay Smart at the Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel. We are centrally located to many Flagstaff attractions including Historic Rt. 66, Northern Arizona University, Lowell Observatory, Museum of N. AZ and the Riordan Mansion. Breath taking monuments like Grand Canyon, Sedona, the Red Rocks, Meteor Crater, Sunset Crater, Painted Desert and the Petrified Forest are nearby and a must see for all traveling through.The Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel is also the right place for relaxation and great hospitality! Our guests can enjoy views of the San Francisco Peaks from many of our wonderful guest rooms. All our comfortable rooms include a host of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access. Come sit and relax by our cozy fireplace in the evenings or have fun in our arcade room. Stop by our Express Start Breakfast Bar every morning for a deluxe hot continental breakfast served complimentary to all our guests. The hotel also has an outdoor/ indoor heated pool, a spa and a fitness center. The Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express offers meeting & banquet facilities, and also provides complimentary shuttle services to both the Flagstaff Airport & Amtrak Station. The staff at the Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel are always eager to provide you with friendly, courteous and professional service. We look forward to seeing you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Flagstaff
Holiday Inn Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing