We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HI Express - it is not!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Firstly when you check in and they ask you if you would like a mountain view, do not be fooled, as this view also comes with a train track, train yard, electricity station to name a few added extras, the rooms and bathrooms are not well renovated, it is noisy from train line all night, the elevators are terrible and injure you if you don't get in in 3 seconds, it is a real disappointment and not a HI Express standard at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDBain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear JDBain,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I'm deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced due to the condition f the room and elevators as well as the outside noise. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 712 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here last year while touring we didn't want to do it this year but every where else in the area couldn't fit us all in. the hotel or at least our rooms had had a bit of a freshen up no ripped wall paper and the carpet wasn't stained and threadbare, first morning woken up at 0530 by the bins being emptied out the front, moved room to the back much quieter, you can hardly hear the train horns.
this is a dry hotel you can purchase alcohol from the garage across the road, in fact you can buy almost anything from the garage, only problem is there isn't anywhere you can sit down with friends have a quiet drink and relax after a long day, we sat outside on the bench a couple of evenings until our last night when a bottle was accidently broken, just after we had cleaned up the glass and the mess, a rather scruffy looking guy with a ponytail and creased HI express shirt on came out and very rudely more or less told us to clear off or he would call the sheriff as it is illegal to drink beer in public, we asked as we were guest where could we sit together and socialise we got the answer in our rooms, not a friendly man at all, we had met some nice people during our stay sat outside. you can eat at Denny's and have a beer with you meal.
we stayed at 6 or 7 HI Express's during our tour of Arizona and this was probably the worst, the coffee was always warm not hot in the evening twice I changed the dispensers over as the staff didn't check them, no boiled eggs 2 mornings, they ran out of scrambled eggs one morning, apart from the convenience of there location and there capacity to have several rooms available I wouldn't recommend staying here, 2 years in a row and twice rude or untrained staff at front of house.

Room Tip: get a room at the back, or at the far end opposite side of the pool side (no bins, no laundry) and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spikethebeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Spikethebeachbum,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, facilities and quality of its product. It is very regrettable to hear that there were certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your standards in particular the conditions of your room and hotel staff. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and we are confident they will take necessary actions to improve there unsatisfactory experience.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed there for 5 days and it was a wonderful experience. My friend and I were high maintenance and the staff was ALWAYS friendly and helpful, even booking a Grand Canyon tour at 9 pm for the next morning. The manager is so kind to his staff and I believe that was passed along to the hotel guests. Breakfast was perfect and yes, a train came by every hour but never blew its whistle and was barely heard, certainly not in the night (and I'm an insomniac). Behind the train tracks was a gorgeous mountain and it was a pleasure to see it from the window on the third floor. Thanks to all the staff including housekeeping and maintenance who contributed to our lovely vacation!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The breakfast is a standard express and is hot and real
Food. You have fast options too but my kiddos love the hot options and bringing cereal
Back to the room. We will stay again in four months when we are back in flagstaff.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mommabear1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

First the positives. We had preferred a room closer to the GC in Williams but soon realized everything there was booked. Thankfully this Holiday Inn Express could accommodate us late into the night.

We were quoted a room rate of $159 but were thankfully able to take full advantage of the military rate of $97. That hasn't always been our experience when it's late and hotels look like they will fill for the night.

The front desk staff was quick, friendly and efficient.

The room was tidy, well stocked with towels and had Bath and Bodyworks complimentary toiletries.

The negatives include just having that old "we've tried to cover up decades of cigarette smoke with air fresheners" smell. My son remarked that the hallway smelled like grape medicine when we stepped off the elevator. As a family of people who are highly allergic and sensitive to smoke smells, that was a downer.

The room was certainly adequate. However the pillow situation was horrible. I can sleep pretty much anywhere but I literally watched the clock at every hour on the hour because of horrible pillows.

Seriously, every pillow I tried felt like a flattened potato chip bag full of lumpy crumbs. Ultimately I just slept without a pillow. So a bad night of sleep will linger as we spend our day seeing the Grand Canyon.

All in all a very basic, Holiday Inn Express experience. Thankful for the hot breakfast and accessibility to the interstate so we can enjoy the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECRWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear ECRWood,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret the issues you experienced with the room you received. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us your feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel was dated but located near the interstate. Room were average breakfast in the morning was the usual. Cereal, eggs, Danish , yogurt and pancakes. The lady working there made sure everything was filled and cleaned. Front desk was friendly and helpful. I had a problem getting on my iPad and she helped me right away. Checkout was very easy also.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentinebabynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Valentinebabynj,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased you were satisfied with the services you received during check out and to hear our hotel front desk's hard work and efforts been acknowledged by our guests. We strive to please our guests and we are apologetic that you were faced with some inconveniences with the condition of the property. Your comments have been documented and will be passed to the appropriate management for future upgrades.

Again, thank you for your comments. We hope to have the chance to serve you again.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is an older dated facility. Has some of the required HILEX refresh room upgrade requirements but not particularly well done. Almost seems like it was converted from an old Holiday Inn type hotel whereas my experience with the Expresses have been to have newer facilities.

The indoor/outdoor pool was closed due to light rain, per the facilities department to the disappointment of our children. Front desk was friendly enough but did not acknowledge being a IHG or Priority Club member, much less a Platinum member. This isn't anything new as I've stayed at a number of IHG properties since the program changed in July and the greeting/amenity that used to happen under the old Priority Club seems to have gone away.

Anyway, there was plenty of parking but overall I would say the condition of this property is on the lower end of what I've experienced at other Holiday Inn Expresses.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcolbyiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear bcolbyiii,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.3 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
2.8 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Flagstaff
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff

Address: 2320 E Lucky Ln, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-9744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range: $124 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to Northern Arizona for business or leisure, Stay Smart at the Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel. We are centrally located to many Flagstaff attractions including Historic Rt. 66, Northern Arizona University, Lowell Observatory, Museum of N. AZ and the Riordan Mansion. Breath taking monuments like Grand Canyon, Sedona, the Red Rocks, Meteor Crater, Sunset Crater, Painted Desert and the Petrified Forest are nearby and a must see for all traveling through.The Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel is also the right place for relaxation and great hospitality! Our guests can enjoy views of the San Francisco Peaks from many of our wonderful guest rooms. All our comfortable rooms include a host of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access. Come sit and relax by our cozy fireplace in the evenings or have fun in our arcade room. Stop by our Express Start Breakfast Bar every morning for a deluxe hot continental breakfast served complimentary to all our guests. The hotel also has an outdoor/ indoor heated pool, a spa and a fitness center. The Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express offers meeting & banquet facilities, and also provides complimentary shuttle services to both the Flagstaff Airport & Amtrak Station. The staff at the Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel are always eager to provide you with friendly, courteous and professional service. We look forward to seeing you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Flagstaff
Holiday Inn Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing