We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
“Not bad, but noisy”
Reviewed July 9, 2008

We stayed there for 1 night en route to the Grand Canyon. Bed was super comfy and room was nicely decorated. Free b'fast bar was very good - even included eggs.

Avoid the even numbered rooms since they face the back lot and the train tracks. Whistling trains kept me awake most of the night.

Otherwise, not bad for a HI Express.

  • Liked — beds
  • Disliked — noisy trains
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank d2snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    249
    130
    43
    28
See reviews for
249
207
48
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Overall, we had a great stay. No real issues to speak of. Very easy access off I-40. Everything was very clean. The kids loved the indoor / outdoor pool. At night, there were quite a few kids swimming. You can order movies in your room. Great movie selection. The best part about it was the complimentary breakfast. Great variety and well maintained. The room was a bit small. But it didn't really present any issues.

By the way, I read some reviews about train noise. True, you can hear the trains in the distance. But the noise is quite muffled and well into the background. So again, a non-issue. I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sundeviltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

The hotel was a little less than what I have experienced from other HIE. The elevators were small,slow, and poorly located. The room was clean but small.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2008

Stayed here for two nights as part of a road trip through Arizona and Nevada.

I would consider this property above average for the type. Staff were welcoming and I was given a suite which was a very good size consisting of a living room/kitchen; bedroom, dressing area and bathroom. In terms of value for money, this represented an excellent return. Beds were very comfoirtable and the standard of cleanlieness very good.

Reasonable brekfast delivered and all the staff we encountered were friendly and efficient.

  • Liked — Good value for money
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jcolesw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2008

We stayed here from May 13 through May 17 and were almost 100% pleased with everything. The few things that were a little "iffy" to us was the bed but that is because we have a Select Comfort at home and it took us until the night before we left to get used to the one in the hotel. The carpet seemed a little on the dirty side (but it was just after the winter time so we had no real complaints). The only other reason we couldn't give it a 5 (excellent) was because of the lack of a bathrobe or larger towel for when you went down to the spa/pool. BRING YOUR OWN BEACH TOWEL if you plan on using the spa/pool! Other than that - they get a fantastic rating from us and we will most definitely stay here again. Whenever we needed something in the room (i.e., additional TP, tea, creamer), it was always delivered within 5 minutes. The hair dryer broke in the middle of using it and a new one was delivered and installed within 5 minutes!! The breakfast was fantastic - we LOVED the variety and having hot breakfast too! The staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. THANK YOU HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS-FLAGSTAFF for a WONDERFUL stay!!!

  • Liked — Location, location, location - and FRIENDLY STAFF!!!
  • Disliked — Lack of large towel/bathrobe for the spa/pool.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie7957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2008

We were up all night from the train horns. They started about 12:30 AM blowing their horns every ten to fifteen minutes, I actually timed them. The freight trains come into town at night to avoid automobile traffic during the day. We finally packed up and left at 5:00 AM because we were not able to sleep. We always stay at Holiday Inn hotels and have never had an issue, that is why I am taking the time to write this review. This is a nice hotel and the trains are out of the control of the hotel, but I would never stay here again because of the very close location to the train tracks.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomcat90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.e. Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2008

This H.I.E. is very clean. The Inn is old but has been refurbished nicely. The rooms were very clean although rather small if staying more than one night. The breakfast provided is adequate and fresh . The best cinnamon rolls around!
The front desk staff is so very helpful and friendly.
The only drawback for some will be the trains closeby. They run at least every ten minutes. I happen to like trains so I wasn't bothered by them.

  • Liked — proximity to freeway
  • Disliked — room too small,
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hogie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.3 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff

Property: Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
Address: 2320 E Lucky Ln, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-9744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to Northern Arizona for business or leisure, Stay Smart at the Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel. We are centrally located to many Flagstaff attractions including Historic Rt. 66, Northern Arizona University, Lowell Observatory, Museum of N. AZ and the Riordan Mansion. Breath taking monuments like Grand Canyon, Sedona, the Red Rocks, Meteor Crater, Sunset Crater, Painted Desert and the Petrified Forest are nearby and a must see for all traveling through.The Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel is also the right place for relaxation and great hospitality! Our guests can enjoy views of the San Francisco Peaks from many of our wonderful guest rooms. All our comfortable rooms include a host of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access. Come sit and relax by our cozy fireplace in the evenings or have fun in our arcade room. Stop by our Express Start Breakfast Bar every morning for a deluxe hot continental breakfast served complimentary to all our guests. The hotel also has an outdoor/ indoor heated pool, a spa and a fitness center. The Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express offers meeting & banquet facilities, and also provides complimentary shuttle services to both the Flagstaff Airport & Amtrak Station. The staff at the Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel are always eager to provide you with friendly, courteous and professional service. We look forward to seeing you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Flagstaff
Holiday Inn Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing