We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fun Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had a quick jaunt up north to play in the snow with the kiddos. STELLAR customer service, really clean and quite place. Some reviews were on the negative side so I was apprehensive when I got here but had a terrific stay. Loved the pool area super cool set up. I was greeted as a rewards member and my family loved the place. Will be back for more fun!

Room Tip: Sleep on the freeway side, the trains are frequent in Flagstaff
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SK8CJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    234
    127
    42
    29
See reviews for
229
194
44
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Took the family on a quick trip up north to play in the snow and was not disappointed. There were a few high school groups staying here so I expected loud hallways etc but I slept like a baby. The room was clean and spacious. My family was very happy with the accommodation since last week we stayed at a lower tiered hotel chain. I was greeted a Priority Club member and they gave us great customer service. Breakfast was less than stellar but I go to a hotel to sleep not eat. Denny's is across the parking lot and Flagstaff has so many great restaurants. I requested the freeway side of the hotel as I have stayed on the track side on some hotels and learned that trains are frequent in Flagstaff. The indoor outdoor pool was warm and next time I will take my trunks so I can sit in the hot tub after playing in the snow to warm up. I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Sachsen, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I are often staying in Holiday Inn / Holiday Inn Express Hotels. Usually the hotels of this group have a very good standard and value. This hotel I can't recommend. Although the room was clean the breakfast was okay there's nothing else good I can tell. It was noisy, because of the air con and the hotel is very clairaudient at all. That's why we had almost no sleep. The rooms seemed to me a bit old and they are small. The bed wasn't comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnjaLuisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear AnjaLuisa,

Thank you for your feedback of our hotel. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am deeply sorry that on this day we were not able to meet your expectations especially with the condition of the bed accommodations received and noise levels experienced. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Once again, many thanks for your review.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn during our travels. The rooms are clean with wifi, a fridge and a microwave. The complimentary breakfast add great value to your stay. Unfortunately the hotel only has 1 washer and 1 dryer and when we stayed the washing machine was out of order. Other than that, the holiday inn provides good service and has nice staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyyy_Lee_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I think the key characteristics of a good hotel are nice rooms, a good breakfast, and friendly staff.

This hotel is your run-of-the-mill hotel. Our room was ok. It was clean but small. The night we stayed the boiler went out, so there was no hot water. I realize things happen, so my review isn't low just because of this event.

The breakfast was average. It did have hot items, including eggs and biscuits/gravy but both were terrible.

As for the staff, they were horrible. I could barely get the desk clerks attention to check-in when I walked into the lobby. The breakfast crew was cranky. When I checked-out, the woman was angry because I was down at the desk checking out when I should've received a rapid check-out under my door. Well, I didn't get one but she didn't seem to believe me.

One more thing, the pool was supposed to be heated. It was ice cold. My kids got in for 5 minutes and then decided they couldn't stand it any more!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Michele W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for guest services.

I am truly sorry for the service provided by our staff failed to exceed or at least meet your expectations. This is definitely not a standard in our hotel as we always strive to provide the highest level of customer care. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any dissatisfaction this has caused you.

Thank you for alerting us and bringing these unsatisfactory circumstances to our attention. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

All I can say is that Holiday Inn Express should be ashamed to allow this hotel to use their name. I pulled off highway 40 and needed a place to stay, when I noticed the Holiday Inn Express sign. I am a priority member and stay at HI and HI Express often.

I did not have time to check Trip Advisor, so I went on the belief that Holiday Inn would require their hotels to be up to a specific standard. When I checked in, I told Clint that I follow TripAdvisor and he said the hotel had terrific reviews.

I checked in and found the room to be extreamly outdated and shabby at best. The bed was hard like a board, the heater was so loud, you don't have to worry about hearing the people in the next room.

The hotel was busy and the line for breakfast was too long, so I went to Denny's for breakfast. I went back to the room to shower and only had cold water. I took a cold shower and went back down to the front desk to complain.

Guess who was there at the desk, Clint the same guy who checked me in. I told him that his hotel is not up to Holiday Inn standards, the shower was ice cold and the breakfast area is not big enough to service that size hotel.

He was nice when he checked me in, but when I complained, he just ignored me and more or less, laughed it off. I told him that I planned to write to Holiday Inn, because I was not happy, I did not receive a good nights sleep or a hot shower, he said I could, but there was nothing he could do. Funny thing is, they put a note in with the bill that reads, if you are not happy with your stay, please speak with the front desk, which I did, but that does no good.

Clint told me that the beds and furniture are from 2005 and they plan to buy new beds in November 2013, but that did not help me in December 2012. He also told me that the boiler was broken and everyone was complaining about not having hot water.

Not only was this the worst Holiday Inn experience that I have ever encountered, but the front desk staff is nice when you check in and could care less when you check out. Unless you like over paying for a room just because of the Holiday Inn Express name, stay away from this Holiday Inn Express and choose another Flagstaff hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our family of three stayed here for a weekend in December. We chose this hotel since it was close to the departure location for the North Pole Experience. The hotel is a little older, but it seemed well kept. The free breakfast was good (eggs, pancakes, yummy cinnamon rolls, etc.) and they had fresh-baked cookies daily. The rooms were clean, but we had a really hard time adjusting the heat temperature. It was either blowing too cool or too warm. The kids swam in the indoor/outdoor pool and had fun. It was a little chilly so they didn't last too long. It snowed while we were there. The parking lot and sidewalks were plowed and shoveled.

We ate next door at the Northern Pines restaurant a few times (good service and great food). It's conveniently located near downtown Flagstaff, which has a lot of good shops and restaurants as well. We took the kids sledding at a small hill down by the college. That was fun!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZ501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.2 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
2.8 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Flagstaff
1.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff

Property: Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
Address: 2320 E Lucky Ln, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-9744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to Northern Arizona for business or leisure, Stay Smart at the Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel. We are centrally located to many Flagstaff attractions including Historic Rt. 66, Northern Arizona University, Lowell Observatory, Museum of N. AZ and the Riordan Mansion. Breath taking monuments like Grand Canyon, Sedona, the Red Rocks, Meteor Crater, Sunset Crater, Painted Desert and the Petrified Forest are nearby and a must see for all traveling through.The Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel is also the right place for relaxation and great hospitality! Our guests can enjoy views of the San Francisco Peaks from many of our wonderful guest rooms. All our comfortable rooms include a host of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access. Come sit and relax by our cozy fireplace in the evenings or have fun in our arcade room. Stop by our Express Start Breakfast Bar every morning for a deluxe hot continental breakfast served complimentary to all our guests. The hotel also has an outdoor/ indoor heated pool, a spa and a fitness center. The Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express offers meeting & banquet facilities, and also provides complimentary shuttle services to both the Flagstaff Airport & Amtrak Station. The staff at the Flagstaff Holiday Inn Express Hotel are always eager to provide you with friendly, courteous and professional service. We look forward to seeing you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Flagstaff
Holiday Inn Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing