We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Place to Stay in Flagstaff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Weatherford Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weatherford Hotel
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay in Flagstaff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

The Weatherford Hotel is the best place to stay in Flagstaff! The locations is perfect, you can pretty much walk everywhere downtown or to campus easily. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful, they even let us store our mountain bikes in their dry storage while we were there. A special thank you to Matt for the great serivce and all your help!

Be warned though it can be very noisy at night (especially on the 3rd floor if you are close the Zane Grey Ballroom) but if noise doesn't bother you then this is a great place. Also, be prepared for a very small bathroom and unpredictable water temps.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite if you are looking for bigger rooms/bathrooms. The smaller rooms are a good inexpen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsLoveshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    54
    25
    19
    26
See reviews for
16
88
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san jose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

spent one night, thank god, in the 'suite'. noisy as it was under some sort of staging area for the 'vintage' bar upstairs. bed was a lumpy mess. wall paper peeling, old and dingy.
for 130.00 we could have chosen many other options. stay away.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank nyamaworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

We were relieved to arrive in Flagstaff after a couple of nights in Las Vegas and found the staff at the Weatherford to be friendly and laid back (that’s not a euphemism for slow!)

Comments by other reviewers refer to the hotel being noisy & dirty - this is a tricky one - any sensible reading of the Weatherford’s website will show that the hotel is right in the middle of Downtown Flagstaff - plenty of bars, restaurants, interesting shops - and the Orpheum theatre is right next door. The hotel itself has bars with live music.
These were positives in my book, and our room was out of the way of the hotel bars, so we didn’t have any problems with internal noise, but I can see it might be a problem if you are trying to sleep in a room directly opposite the Zane Grey ballroom and it’s the weekend. (We had room No 42 which is at the back on the second floor. )

Our room & bathroom were very clean, the bed very comfortable - the furniture (again, I think the website shows this) is not new or modern - it has been chosen to enhance the 'Old West' which I think the owners are trying (pretty sucessfully) to achieve. If character is a problem for you don’t stay at the Weatherford. No TV in the room, but good wi-fi (and why you would want to watch TV when you can step out of your door and be in the middle of Flagstaff is beyond me). We ate in a couple of times - plenty of choice, lots of decent beers, reasonable prices. But there are lots of options for decent food within a very short walk - we had three fantastic breakfasts in three different places.

I have to agree that the annoying part was the lack of hanging space - we stayed for 3 days & it would’ve been nice to unpack., also there was the absence of any storage space in the bathroom. More annoying because the bathroom was spacious - maybe a case of style over substance here as the roll top bath was pretty but the shower impractical!

On balance the location of the hotel, charm of the decor and friendliness of the staff mean that if I’m ever lucky enough to visit Flagstaff again I would return to the Weatherford.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThatNameIsTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

The hotel itself is old, but better than nearby similar hotels. The staff is very friendly, the bar upstairs has an awesome balcony and it's cool to walk around and look at the old furniture and photos. My room was big, airy, and bright, maybe a little too bright.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tucsonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

Spent a night here with a friend. Options for a room with 2 separate beds were between a room with shared bathroom or a single room plus cot as second bed. For USD150+, this is a disgrace. Especially as cot was dirty, room awful and tired and generally dirty. Stay away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AV_Londoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

We arrived late at night after a snow storm, an easy walk from the train depot. Wonderful historic property in a great location. It was quiet on a Monday night, but it would be terrible on a weekend if you wanted to sleep, with two bars and live music! The room was clean, huge and comfortable with historic frills, but lacking in modern touches like hooks, hangers, luggage rack, towel rods or any place to put your luggage or your stuff! The pretty curtains did not keep out the morning sun. We had a sink in the room, a beautiful historic piece, but again no towel rack! The toilet down the hall was fine, but the shower was pretty ghastly, and again no place to put your stuff! Helpful staff and a great setting in the middle of lots of gift shops and resturants, all with in walking distance. I'm not sure what it would be like to have to park there? Clearly, a lot of love and hard work has gone into the restoration of this property. We had a nice night, but again, it's probably not a good choice for families looking for sleep on the weekend! And please, get some hooks and towel racks!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinneapolisMaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

So I actually stayed here two nights separated by a few days. The first night wasn't too terrible. I did pay 100 with tax to stay in a really small room with no TV or internet and a (private) bathroom that was across the hall that I needed a key to access. Since I did sleep, and the other options of places didn't look too friendly, I decided to reserve a room for another night (I was taking the train). This night however, proved to be a disaster.

They did warn me that there was some sort of wedding reception that night, but told me it would be over at 8:45. However, what I didn't know is that there were two bars, one on the first floor, and one on the third or second floor. And it appeared that this party never ended. The drunks were loud and didn't quit until 1:00 in the morning. To top it off, one of the inebriated men confused my room with another room and fiddled with my lock for a long time before realizing it was the wrong room. It finally quieted down after that, but the damage was done and I couldn't sleep. I ended up paying 100 dollars for two hours of sleep.

To sum it up, this is what the hotel offers:

a historical place to stay, a restaurant, a nice bar (that I had to pay $7.00 in order to get in after 8:00)

This is what it doesn't offer:

phone, tv, comfortable bed (the bed was a VERY small double), controlled heat, ac, window screens, a decent sized bathroom, iron / ironing board, internet, pool, fitness center, elevator, modern door locks, etc..

My advice is to find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fornit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Vista
Hotel Monte Vista
#31 of 63 in Flagstaff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#18 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The L Motel Flagstaff
The L Motel Flagstaff
#48 of 63 in Flagstaff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Conference Center Nau/downtown
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weatherford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weatherford Hotel

Property: Weatherford Hotel
Address: 23 N Leroux St, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-5535
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic hotel that has hosted many famous guests, the hotel now has very reasonably priced rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Weatherford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weatherford Hotel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing