We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Flagstaff Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyndham Flagstaff Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Our stay with friends in a 2-bedroom/2 bath/tri-level condo was delightful--with all amenities provided (including wash detergent) as well as an excellent kitchen. Its location near exit 201 (rte 89) of I-40 (but far enough to avoid road noise) makes this is an excellent base for day trips to the many natural wonders on the Northern Rim of AZ--Grand Canyon and Petrified Forest NPs, Wupakti, Sunset Crater, Walnut Creek, and Montezuma's Castle NHMs, to name a few. We didn't use resort facilities, as we were too busy exploring the area, but we enjoyed preparing a few meals in the well-equipped kitchen. (The cabinets were a bit tired, but the appliances were new and good.) Suggestion--unless you love tacky tourist traps, traffic jams, endless gated communities, smog, and air pollution, don't waste time in Sedona and see the red rock formations in Utah and other unspoiled places; if you're driving the scenic route on 89A and 179, a short detour to the Chapel in the Rocks (on Chapel Road, off 179) is indeed worthwhile--it is an aesthetic experience, blending superb architecture with nature's architectural red rocks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tgandg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    92
    32
    9
    10
See reviews for
135
92
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed in a two bedroom/two bath tri-level.

The master bedroom and ensuite bath are both quite large, with a walk-in closet fully equipped (iron, ironing board), and it's own balcony. The kitchen is truly a full kitchen (full size fridge, dishwasher, coffee maker, microwave, full stove), with all washing products and paper products supplied. More than enough supplied towels. A washer and dryer (again with supplied products). Large and comfortable living room with flat-screen TV, with dvd player and stereo. Separate dining room with large table and a beautiful, large, private balcony.

And each unit has it's own wi-fi, free.

Excellent location. We flew into Phoenix, rented a car, and from this location could drive comfortably to the Grand Canyon, the Painted Desert/Petrified Forest, Sedona and the Red Rocks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CathyFitz2451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We enjoyed this hotel, it was great with little kids, and the service was wonderful. We rented a two bedroom two bath, that had a sleeper sofa in the living room. The suite was a tri-level. Well laid out, with a master on the bottom floor, second bedroom with twin beds on the second floor, and kitchen, living and dining rooms on the top floor. Balconies were on the bottom and top floors. The suite was spacious and the kitchen was well equipped. We had a small child who was crawling, though, so the tri-level was a hindrance and the fireplace a hazard. However, we managed just fine. The staff were extremely helpful in giving us baby gates for the stairs and even rigging a gate with a wood block to secure the fireplace, which was a huge relief.

My only complaints about the suite itself was that the beds (master and especially the sofa bed) were really awful, very worn and uncomfortable. Not what I'd expect from a Wyndham. The twin beds seemed newer and nicer. Also, the carpets needed to be steam cleaned, they were really dirty. Obviously vacuumed and appeared clean, but the bottoms of our feet, and my poor baby's hands and knees were filthy, after just 15 minutes. The rest of the suite was very clean, but could definitely use remodeling in the bathrooms, they were old and outdated and not in the best shape. The kitchen was nice with granite countertops and nice appliances, but the cabinets were also worn and outdated. All in all it was very comfortable, but not the greatest for what we paid.

However, the kids activities were well worth the price. The Bear Paw Clubhouse was awesome! Two pools (kiddie and bigger), miniature golf, pool tables, movie theater, Wii, ice cream bar, etc. The kids spent all day there one day and had a great time. They also have planned activities throughout the day that were fun, ask for a schedule at the front desk. We would definitely go back there, especially when the kids are a little older, because the suite was conducive to a family stay, and the clubhouse was a great way to pass the time with the kids.

I would stay away from the Golf Course restaurant, at least for dinner. The food wasn't good and service was incredibly slow. Black Barts Steakshouse was our favorite, the food was awesome and the singing waiters were fantastic and very entertaining! Note that this resort is on one end of town, not in the middle of it, if location is important. However, the town is small, and we didn't mind. Lastly, it being a small town, if you are there on a holiday weekend and want to order dinner out, like a pizza, make sure to do so way in advance, we weren't able to get one in any reasonable amount of time (quotes of over 2 hours and they were quite rude about it), so we ended up having to pick up a frozen pizza at the market and cook it ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank taxcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

My family stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom unit (#301), it was well stocked, very clean and seemed like it may have been remodeled, although a few things may still need updated (like the sliding glass doors, this did not bother us though). One bedroom had a king bed, the other had two twins. The living room had a flat screen tv and fire place. We had a full kitchen, full size laundry, dining room, two decks and a jacuzzi tub in the master bath. Seemed to be brand new furnishings in the bedrooms.

Our unit was very comfortable, like a home away from home. My two boys ages 12 and 9 loved the rec center, the pool and mini golf. I absolutely loved Flagstaff. It is a great location for visiting Grand Canyon and Sedona. It was warm enough to enjoy the outdoor activities but so much more comfortable than staying in Sedona where got pretty hot. The drive to Sedona is a beautiful one on the scenic road (89A I think it is called?). The staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here again. We had a great time!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 15mwaltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

This is a nice place with excellent views of Mt Eldon. It is a huge complex with a nice pool area. The two and three bedroom units are very spacious and quiet. But the 1 bedroom and 1 BDRM deluxe units are integrated into a quadplex architecture with thin wals and lockouts that make for a lot of noise between the units. All of the 1 bedroom units are located together and have room for parking one vehicle in front of the unit which is great for loading and unloading your stuff. . Build in the 1980s the complex is spread out over a hilly area and there is one pool and activity area. An agreement has been made with the Continental Golf course to also use their pool, tennis courts and exercise room. The exercise room is better than most places with universal type stations, exercise bikes and treadmills.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phxhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I've stayed here at least ten times since my first stay four years ago. I love it so much that I stopped going to San Diego as much as I used to so I could visit Flagstaff and enjoy myself at Wyndham. Even though I've stayed this many times, this stay still showed me a room layout that I've never had before. The units are very spacious and always have the current appliances. The staff is welcoming, and the activities center is convenient, comfortable, and actually has a kiddie pool that's bigger than a bathtub. :) No train sounds, either! Yay! Another thing I love about this place is that it feels so homey that we usually stay a week and have an adventure every other day with the days between being lazily spent in the resort area. Last time during our lazy days, we hung out with the stray cats, baked, hot-tubbed, swam, checked out board games, played mini-golf, and found a geocache! NICE!

TIPS:
1. When you register, ask for a wheelchair-accessible room, or you may get stuck in the tri-level.
2. Check out a couple games the first day.
3. Visit the activities center the first day.
4. Don't fall for the breakfast attempt to sell you something. The good thing is that this is not a sales location. The bad thing is that, if you do buy something, you have to accompany a salesperson to Sedona, which will take half the day.
5. Ask for the room to be equipped with a floor fan because the rooms don't usually have ceiling fans and they run out of floor fans a lot.
6. The wi-fi is very slow, so use your own hotspot, if you can.

Room Tip: Even though there are very few units on Country Club Rd, ask for one that isn't. Also ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

This was our first trip to Northern Arizona and our second stay at a Wyndham Resort property - the other was in Orlando. Check-in was easy. The staff gave us a full run-down of all the resort activities, as well as local activities and a discount card that saved 10% at a number of area restaurants.

We rented a 1 bedroom, their smallest unit, but for 2 adults and 2 kids it was plenty of room. The unit came with a full kitchen, dining table, living room, bath and bedroom, and a outdoor deck off the bedroom. For a small unit, there was plenty of storage and everything we needed was supplied. When we ran short of anything, a call to the front desk had our supplies at our door within minutes. Everything here at the resort (and in Flagstaff in general) was amazingly CLEAN. Even with vaulted ceilings in our unit, there was not a cobweb in sight.

The activity center was a HUGE hit with everyone. Starbucks Coffee in the morning, Dryer's Ice Cream in the evening, and light fare in between. The center offers ping-pong, indoor and outdoor pool tables, Wii and XBox, computers, a bean-bag movie theater, books, movies, and board games that can all be borrowed. Outdoor pool and jacuzzi were very popular, along with mini-golf and playground. The poolside BBQ on weekends is really good - freshly grilled hamburgers and hot dogs with all the fixins.

All in all, this was an A+ vacation, and none of us wanted to leave. We're looking forward to returning to this area in the near future and will definitely book at the Wyndham again.

Room Tip: 1 BR 4/2 best suited for 2 adults and 2 kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinniMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.5 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
0.4 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
4.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Flagstaff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Flagstaff Resort

Property: Wyndham Flagstaff Resort
Address: 1900 N Country Club Dr, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-7425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Flagstaff Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Flagstaff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Flagstaff Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing