We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tale of Two Desk Agents”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Flagstaff I-40
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewed July 6, 2013

If only those in the hospitality industry realized just how far attitude and consideration go towards a customer's overall impression of a property. If it wasn't for the efforts of one person this stay could have been really horrible. But, thanks to Kristin at the front desk, it wasn't.

First the hotel. Yes, it's a bit run down but if you've stayed at this chain before, you'll know that it can be somewhat variable. The room was acceptable, the furnishings and the TV were a little dated but on par with many others in this chain. For short stays it's fine, but you do need to shop around to get the best rate. The location is good, there are shops and restaurants nearby, and within a few hundred yards there are some decent restaurants. Actually, there is an excellent Indian restaurant within eye-shot of the hotel.

The WiFi reception was spotty in places though, with the ground floor having a better signal. Unfortunately the hotel PC was out of service, there is a guest laundry but no pool.

Breakfast was of the standard Days Inn variety. For the uninitiated, it's mostly sugar and carbs rounded off with a hot, often tasteless, light brown liquid, coming out of a container often marked "coffee".

Now, about the people, because being polite and helpful is not only a courtesy, it goes a long way towards alleviating the small issues that can arise with a hotel stay.

When I checked in, and throughout my stay, Kristen on the front desk was friendly and helpful. I noticed her going the extra mile to help other guests too. Kristin deserves an award for positive attitude and demeanor. Do give this individual a raise and use her as an example of a model employee - she is that good. There was a problem with the WiFi reception and she cheerily moved me. We talked about my being highly allergic to pets and she helpfully said it was no problem to move should I find someone had snuck one in unbeknownst to the staff.

Contrast the above to another agent (who shall remain nameless for this review) who seemed put out by requests for plain oatmeal in the morning and took an almost confrontational attitude when I asked to be moved due to suffering from dander-induced allergies in my room. Here's a hint: When a guest says that they are having asthma attacks in the room and it feels like someone sneaked a pet into the hotel, despite the policy - don't point to the "No Pets Sign" and deny the customer's experience. Just don't.

I have some more trips planned to Flagstaff. All in all, I may well stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms may have better WiFi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 658 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

I booked my room on Priceline and when I arrived for my stay, I wa given a king room. When I asked for a room with 2 queen beds, I was told it would be a $40 upcharge! BUT, their room rates are the same for a standard king room and a double queen room. If the hotel would maybe had a pool, been clean and upkept and offered a breakfast worthy of consumption, it may have been worth it, but it was not. I have traveled a lot and can overlook a lot when I am getting a fair deal. This was a total loss of money and will never stay at this chain again. The only positive was that itwas next door to an hoop so we could eat breakfast with the kids.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri_Dieringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have stayed here at least one night every week for 2 years for a work assignment. In that time, I have never had a problem more serious than the cable not working in my room. (only happened once). When it did happen and swapping remotes couldn't resolve it, I was immediately given a new room. Rooms are clean, but basic, so if you just need a clean bed and hot shower then I highly recommend this location. Waffles for breakfast are good too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Furniture was ripped and dirty, outlets were dangerous looking, microwave crd was defective, hen you moved it it went on and off.. Back of entertainment center coming off.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

unclean bathroom, shower head didn't work, stained sheets, ripped window curtains and shower curtain, hallway never vacuumed, remote control did not work, never again! When it was brought to staff's attention, offered a discount, when we checked out, no discount given despite inquiring.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#12 of 65 in Flagstaff
377 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#23 of 65 in Flagstaff
1,131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
GreenTree Inn Flagstaff
GreenTree Inn Flagstaff
#22 of 65 in Flagstaff
691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 65 in Flagstaff
1,010 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Flagstaff I-40? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Flagstaff I-40

Address: 2735 S Woodlands Village Blvd, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-2960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range: $63 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Flagstaff I-40 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Flagstaff I-40 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn i-40/Flagstaff Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Days Inn
Days Inn Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing