We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff(Flagstaff)(Great Value!)
$122
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff(Flagstaff)(Great Value!)
$140
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff(Flagstaff)(Great Value!)
$134
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Flagstaff(Flagstaff)(Great Value!)
$130
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Flagstaff(Flagstaff)(Great Value!)
$175
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn & Suites East Flagstaff(Flagstaff)(Great Value!)
$100
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Flagstaff(Flagstaff)(Great Value!)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Twin Arrows Navajo Casino Resort(Flagstaff)(Great Value!)
$144
$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,412)
Filter reviews
1,412 results
Traveler rating
491
477
278
111
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
477
278
111
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbest westernsseparate buildingwestern hotelsfull bathroomsfamily suitegrand canyonbreakfast roomolder facilitytrain trackshistoric routelight sleeperparking lotyogurtbiscuits and gravybed was comfortablewould stay here againnice stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,223 - 1,228 of 1,412 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2010

we spent there 2 nights. Hotel is clean, room spacious and quiet (we didn't hear any train) breakfast excellent (especially wafers :) ).
It's always better to make a reservation via BW website and get fully paid in advance rate which is really good.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oszusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2010

Thank you for your review, we receive many good comments on our breakfast and staff.

Scott Grams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

I received very good service from the front desk clerk at check in and her helping me locating my points of interest.

The attendant at breakfast also was very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twotoneblue88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2010

Thank you for your review.

Scott Grams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

This older Best Western is typical of the chain. Rooms have been renovated and was clean and comfortable and resonably quiet. There is no elevator for 2nd floor access, so opt for a lower level if you have walking problems. Breakfast is in a separate building but was not a good as other Best Westerns. It offered cereal's hard boiled egg's, waffels, and drinks which was OK but could improve on other hot items (not impressed) . Location was adequate for reaching down town, a short drive. There are a few decent restaurants nearby. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 209flyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2010

Thank you for your reveiw. Best Westerns have standard requirements for thier breakfasts. We actually exceed those standards and compared to the chain in general, our guest service scores are higher than the average. We also offer "Bisuits & Sausage Gravy" which is very popular. We plan on adding yogurt soon, and perhaps a variation of the gravy for the biscuits. Thank you again for your comments!

Scott Grams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Very nice and basic hotel located on Route 66, easy to find. Staff friendly and room was very clean. Slept VERY well after a day of hiking at Walnut Canyon and Montezuma's Castle. Nearby and walkable are an Italian restaurant, Chinese restaurant and Miz Zips is half a block away. I had the open face hot beef sandwich and it was quite good. The warm cherry pie with a scoop of ice cream was AWESOME!

The trains didn't bother me in the least. Slept like a charm. Didn't try the breakfast though. I will be back in September so I might then.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZIALANDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2010

When you come back in September, stop in and say hello!

Thank you for your comments!

Scott Grams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Thisi i the usual good BW quality at a good price. Breakfast good with waffles, toast, muffins, biscuits, coffee etc (yogurt would be nice), and friendly kitchen staff in a fair sized room (although on a Sunday morning it got full). Rooms adequate, a bit small but who is in your room, well looked after. Bathroom small.
2 computers in lobby, wi fi did not work well in my room, often there was no signal.
The trains did not bother me although some light sleepers would still here the trains going thru even without their whistles. The track appears to run parallel to Route 66 so all the hotles on that road would be affected. To avoid the trains I guess you would have to move to the other end of town.
WE had a great time, if BW is your level of comfort this one delivers.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2010

Thank you for your review.

The trains still "rumble through town", but what a difference it has made since the whistles and horns have stopped. I spend a few nights a weeks in the hotel, and have for the last couple of years. I assure you, I sleep much better now! I also move around rooms from week to week, and have not issues with the Wi-Fi, but will keep an eye our for other comments such as yours.

Our breakfast room is larger than most, but with our location, we tend to get many families which adds to the overall number of people per room. When our guests all want to eat at the same time, we do sometimes tend to be "full" in the breakfast area.

Thanks again for your comments,

Scott Grams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews