We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location for sightseeing from the Grand Canyon to Sedona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Motel was clean and the staff was very helpful with directions to areas of interest for sightseeing. We enjoyed the continental breakfast that was available at 6:30 A.M.
We will stay at this motel on our next visit to this area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckyg71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2009

Thank you for your response. I think i will defer to the previous response that I just submitted to “Good for one night”.

I would like to note however that you enjoyed our Continental Breakfast Offerings, and that many guests do use us as a base to see the many sightseeing opportunities in the area.

Scott Grams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,196 - 1,202 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2009

We had a King room with a sitting room and two bathrooms. Everything was very clean and well kept. We will definately stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texas60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2009

Thank you for your kind words. Stop in and say hello next time you are in town!

Scott Grams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We've been through Flagstaff dozens of times but never had the occasion to stay. Best Western was at the top of our list mostly because they are reliable and I am a Gold Crown member. The Pony Soldier Inn gave us a last minute checkin on-line and the price was right. I was a little concerned about the "suite" as I have seen suites in that range that don't match up to my idea of what that type of room should be. This was about as close as you could get. Obviously remodeled from two rooms, the suite offered roominess, comfort and two bathrooms so my wife was ecstatic. The view is nothing to shout at and, if you don't like trains you may get a bit annoyed at Santa Fe being near your door (however, the soundproofing is very good and you won't really be that bothered). But, my wife and I liked it as well as being on Route 66, a big plus for history fans of the mother road.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocpd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2009

Thank you for your response. Flagstaff does have it's challanges with our friends from the Santa Fe Railroad, but the local business community, along with the railroad are working for solutions that will quiet the whistles a bit. The two room suite is popular, because of what you mentioned, the extra space and the two bathrooms. We look forward to you stopping in again next time you are traveling through Flagstaff on the Mother Road!

Scott Grams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

We stayed for one night while traveling through the area. The room was comfortable and clean, however, no hot water.

After driving for about 8 hours, we arrived and checked in. Front desk was friendly and helpful and suggested Italian Restaurant which is walking distance from our rooms.
The food was excellent and we were very pleased.

Got back to the room and found out there was no hot water. I called front desk and was informed that they had their boiler worked on that day, so that could be why we had no hot water. Wasn't much I could do, had to forgo a much wanted shower. I only wished we had been informed at check in about the hot water situation

Aside from that, we had no complaints. Rooms were clean, comfy, great beds and the usual bathroom amenities. I would stay there again on our next trip, just hope this time I can take a hot shower.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memphisbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2009

Thank you for your response. We did have to change out the 'Heat Exchanger" in the boiler, and after we changed it, we did have hot water. As it turns out, the circulation pump is what failed later that evening, and we were not aware of it until a guest, perhaps you, informed us. Our maintenance staff came in that evening and replaced the pump, and we had hot water again a few hours later. Sorry for your experience, but actually had no complaints the following morning.

The restaurant next door does receive a lot of business from us, and as you can see by previous responses, most guests are very satisfied.

I am happy to hear that you would stay with us again despite not having hot water in the evening. If you do find yourself in Flagstaff again, stop in and say hello.

Thank you for your input,

Scott Grams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Appreciated access to the Internet and staff's willingness to provide information beyond the expected. Only the breakfast serving area was rather small.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisabel98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2009

Thank you for your comments. The two guest computers in lobby are heavily used by our guests.

Being that we are centrally located to many area attractions such as the Grand Canyon, Sedona, Meteor Crater, just to mention a few, is reason the desk staff has to be knowledgable of the area. It also helps them provide accurate information about the many tours that are available in the area.

Thanks again,

Scott Grams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

The room was comfortable, and the staff was friendly and helpful
The quality and scope of the breakfast was better than expected.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gklegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2009

Thank you for your kind words and review

Scott Grams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

My wife and I drive cross country from Charleston SC to LA and back at least once a year. The Pony Soldier is where we stay whenever our route goes through Flagstaff.

The motel is clean and well maintained. The staff is always very cheerful.

There is a nice little Italian restaurant within walking distance from the motel. If the coffee at the complimentary breakfast is a little thin for your taste, there's a Starbucks in the Albertson's shopping center, about a mile to the west on Rte. 66.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theI40guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manger at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2009

Thank you for your comments. We refer many guests to that little Italian Restaurant called Mama Luisa's next door, and have never had a complaint about them. We look forward to seeing you on your next cross country trek!

Scott Grams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Flagstaff
1.8 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 66 in Flagstaff
1,019 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Address: 3030 E Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-3936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Flagstaff
#8 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range: $76 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Hotel Flagstaff
Best Western Flagstaff
Best Western Hotel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing