We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refurbished”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Refurbished”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a decent, refurbished Best Western. Rooms are clean and pretty well furnished. They have a small fridge but no microwave. The only problem I experienced is that no plug was available to plug in my computer. I had to unplug the lamp next to the table to free up a plug. The free WiFi worked great. You can hear some train noise so you might want to request a room at the back. I was up front and it didn't bother me but some people sleep lighter than me. The free breakfast offers a good variety including scrambled eggs and waffles. These aren't deluxe rooms but they offer value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the property are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    412
    252
    97
    45
See reviews for
417
517
79
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our room arrangements were made through Road Scholar (Northern Arizona University). The room was good/clean. However, the room had a slight locker-room odor. The built-in hair dryer would trip off after 10 seconds of operation. The TV and wifi was excellent. The breakfast room was clean with plenty of good quality food and beverages. A woman attended the breakfast room and kept the food and beverages adequately stocked. We did not use the gym or the pool, but both were inviting. The lobby lounge was rooming and useful for our group. Good staffing, very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank SierraDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband, dogs, and I were very comfortable in this hotel. We were upgraded from our reservation and surprised to find 2 beds and a fridge in the room. We were also pleasantly surprised to find a complete breakfast (not just the continental advertised), so we filled up on eggs and waffles with real butter (yum!). Nice big TV with cable (SyFy channel, yay!), and plenty of room for our 2 big dogs. Firm mattress and quiet room rounded out a pleasant stay. The ONLY downside was not being able to open the window to air out the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We upgrade our BW Reward Members to larger rooms when possible, to give them a little more space. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our Hot Breakfast, and the many other offerings that we provide for our guests. Cable TV in the rooms is what guests expect these days. Our local cable company provides us with about 70 channels, as opposed to some hotels that have satellite that may only offer 10-15 channels. Cable is very important of traveling families.

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I took a short getaway to Flagstaff for fun to experience the cool weather. After checking tripadvisor we decided on the Best Western Pony Soldier Inn and Suites on Route 66. We were not disappointed...Check in was smooth as can be with a friendly young lady who answered all our questions. The room was cozy, clean as a pin, with beautiful scenic photographs and a new Samsung HD TV. Please note to light sleepers: the property is across the street from the Santa Fe railroad and trains do pass by periodically, but the horns are not used at night. The high point of our stay was breakfast, prepared by Rick the cook which was perfect! Just about anything one could desire: scrambled eggs, potatoes with peppers and sausage, biscuits and gravy, fruit, yogurt, even waffles.And the coffee was first-class. The dining room is in a separate building right next door and was immaculate. And all this for $61.00 plus tax. Thanks for a great stay! We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. Our staff reads them on a regular basis and positive reinforcement by our guests is a reward within itself. We are proud of our hotel and strive to meet and exceed our guests expectations.

Thanks again,

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
154 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We arrived in the evening. Check in was quick and easy. We knew that the hotel did not have an elevator, and with our late check-in, we figured that we would end up with an upstairs room. We were right. We requested a room near the stairs, and they were able to accommodate this.

The room was a bit smaller than the average hotel room, but still fit two beds and all the usual furniture just fine. The room also had a fridge. I liked that the rooms have a sanitized remote for the TV. Our room had a sliding, frosted door for the bathroom. Despite other reviews that I have read, this worked out just fine and did not detract from the level of privacy. The bathroom itself was not a bad size. In the morning, we received a newspaper outside our door.

We did not use the pool, but it was housed in a building in the parking lot and open late. The breakfast room was located next to the pool. The breakfast had a lot of items to choose from and a dedicated staff member taking care of it.

Though it is not far from downtown Flagstaff, it is not walking distance. There were several restaurants located nearby, though. The train tracks are also nearby, but we did not find them to be disturbing or noisy, even though trains passed through quite frequently.

Overall, our stay at the Pony Soldier was pleasant, and a good value. Take your picture with the pony!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agdwsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, BC, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife & I just spent 9 days in Arizona & New Mexico and stayed in Best Western Hotels twice in two diffewrent cities, Sedona & Flagstaff. Both hotels were great choices for us. Both has dedicated staff and a high sense of care for their customers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2013

From start to finish, our entire experience at the Best Western in Flagstaff, Arizona was outstanding. Our room exceeded our expectations and the visit was free of distractions. Everything was in good working order and the premises were immaculate. Pursuant to our request, our room was on the ground floor. My wife and I have both had recent surgeries making stair-climbing uncomfortable. All members of the hotel staff were very professional and friendly. Our check-in and check-out was very streamlined. The breakfast was one of the best we've had: good quality, broad variety, and with great presentation. The employee staffing the breakfast room was particularly conscientious and served as a good hostess. The free internet service was user-friendly and trouble-free. Electrical plug-ins for mobile phone-charging cables, and computer power cables were conveniently located. The geographic location of this property is close to a panacea of good restaurants and shopping opportunities, and was easy to find. We use Best Western exclusively when traveling. We lodge with Best Westerns about twelve times a year and have rarely been disappointed. This was the second time we have stayed at this particular Best Western property. Also, when making reservations, we have found a Best Western hotel in nearly every city we had planned to visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Haleshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
1.8 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#13 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#21 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Address: 3030 E Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Hotel Flagstaff
Best Western Flagstaff
Best Western Hotel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing