We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Staff was friendly, breakfast was good, pool and hot tub were acceptable. One complaint was that in late June, there is no excuse NOT to have the A/C on for the room if you have guests checking in and temps are in the upper 90s. Our room was so hot and it took over three hours to get it cooled. I had to advise the front desk to tell the maid service to not turn our air off during the 2nd day of our stay. The location of the hotel is not in the most attractive part of Flagstaff, and it seemed a little rough. For the price we paid, we could have found a nicer hotel in a different part of town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your review. We actually had a housekeeping staff meeting prior to the weekend and we covered this very item. I instructed them to turn the A/C units on at a temperature of 70 degrees. I apologize for us not having your A/C turned on upon your arrival last weekend. The housekeeping staff has seen your comments and it will be a lesson learned.

I am happy to hear that you found our hotel “Clean and Comfortable”, and that you found our staff friendly and our breakfast good.

Sincerely,

Scott Grams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

So we planned a trip to Flagstaff from Vegas to get away from the heat, along with everyone else in Nevada and Arizona. We had a long day of exploring downtown and hiking the area and came back to the room to take a shower and go to bed. I went to pull the sheets down on the bed and there was a bug. I trapped it under a glass, called the front desk and the maintenace guy came and confirmed our suspisions. Beg Bug. We have had an experience with these in Vegas before so we didnt want anything to do with them. There was no rooms left in the hotel so the front desk helped us find a new room next door. I understand it is not the hotels fault with all the travelers that come and go everyday and they were helpful to find another room in a town that was all sold out. It is unfortunate that our trip was spoiled by a bug, and then staying the night in a far less superior hotel, which was not comfortable at all. The Best Western did the right thing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackdaniels73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your review. I apologize for your experience at our hotel. The dreaded bug has made its way back after being nearly eradicated back in the 60’s. Unfortunately, it is now commonplace throughout the United States in hotels, hospitals, apartment complexes, office buildings, retail stores, etc.

We take these pests very seriously and work closely with Conn Pest Control, our local pest control company upon discovery of them. The Conn Pest Control staff is fully trained to treat the rooms, and to eradicate them.

Our entire staff has been trained to identify the signs of these pests, and to alert management if they suspect we might have them in one of our rooms.

I am happy to hear that you were satisfied with the way our staff handled the situation and found you alternative arrangements for the evening at our expense. Flagstaff hotels are generally full most nights during the busy summer season and room availability is very limited into the evening.

I would look forward to being able to host you sometime in the future. Your experience is not the norm for our hotel.

Thank you for your understanding,


Scott Grams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I came here just to take my MCATs at the prometric testing center just a mile away. They put me in the most quiet room. They held my belongings during the exam after I checked out and were very friendly. I do want to caution people that this place is in high demand during the summer months. They politely turned people away. This Best Western has been remodeled and is really nice so people who were turned away asked, "Is there another Best Western in town? Is it as nice as this one?" There is no gym but there is a mini-fridge and hot tub and a really great continental breakfast with boiled and scrambled eggs. I think there was bacon and sausage too but I didn't look for those. They have a 24 hour coffee machine which was great for me. Overall, I couldn't ask to stay at a more convenient and accommodating place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jubilee319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Pony Soldier on our way to Colorado. Although the hotel is a dated building, we found it to be in good repair and maintenance. The room was nicely decorated and came with a living room area and two bathrooms. The bed was comfortable.

We found the room to be rather quiet with no noise from trains or traffic. The only noise problem we experienced was a trash truck dumping dumpsters behind the adjoining businesses. That was not the fault of the Best Western.

Breakfast was well prepared with a variety of items.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck8700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Booked online -we tend to stay at Best Westerns as we have learned to trust the name. Our suite was comfortable but it was a treat to have two dressing areas and two bathrooms. Breakfast was average but we did not walk away hungry. Would definitely stay here again. Train tracks across the street did not bother us at all.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Right next to a major railway track with trains going up and down all night. Fly screen on room broken, beds on the hard side room had a musty smell!? Breakfast poor only eggs no bacon or sausage. Sorry have used Best Western across the globe very disappointing. :( However staff were very pleasant and the room was clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watfordonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Chose to stay at this location based on ads portraying Best Westerns "Branding" concept. Upon check in, we were informed that there was no elevator. This was fine as we were on the second (top) floor.The front desk let us know that the building was an older model but that the rooms had been updated to the BW brand. They were accommodating per our room type request. However if dirty carpet up the stairs, chipped paint throughout the room and what looked to be man's biological fluid dried down the front of the headboard..if this BW branding then I am very disappointed.luckily there waa another bed in the room as the hotel was completely booked. Heard the trains all nite long. The best part of staying here was the breakfast in the morning .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonnie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Flagstaff
1.8 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 66 in Flagstaff
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Address: 3030 E Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-3936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range: $85 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, bedfinder AG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Hotel Flagstaff
Best Western Flagstaff
Best Western Hotel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing