We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“GREAT PLACE to study and relax before exams” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Los Angeles, California, Usa
1 review
“GREAT PLACE to study and relax before exams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I came here just to take my MCATs at the prometric testing center just a mile away. They put me in the most quiet room. They held my belongings during the exam after I checked out and were very friendly. I do want to caution people that this place is in high demand during the summer months. They politely turned people away. This Best Western has been remodeled and is really nice so people who were turned away asked, "Is there another Best Western in town? Is it as nice as this one?" There is no gym but there is a mini-fridge and hot tub and a really great continental breakfast with boiled and scrambled eggs. I think there was bacon and sausage too but I didn't look for those. They have a 24 hour coffee machine which was great for me. Overall, I couldn't ask to stay at a more convenient and accommodating place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank jubilee319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    383
    238
    92
    43
See reviews for
380
484
73
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
1,043 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Pony Soldier on our way to Colorado. Although the hotel is a dated building, we found it to be in good repair and maintenance. The room was nicely decorated and came with a living room area and two bathrooms. The bed was comfortable.

We found the room to be rather quiet with no noise from trains or traffic. The only noise problem we experienced was a trash truck dumping dumpsters behind the adjoining businesses. That was not the fault of the Best Western.

Breakfast was well prepared with a variety of items.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck8700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked online -we tend to stay at Best Westerns as we have learned to trust the name. Our suite was comfortable but it was a treat to have two dressing areas and two bathrooms. Breakfast was average but we did not walk away hungry. Would definitely stay here again. Train tracks across the street did not bother us at all.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Right next to a major railway track with trains going up and down all night. Fly screen on room broken, beds on the hard side room had a musty smell!? Breakfast poor only eggs no bacon or sausage. Sorry have used Best Western across the globe very disappointing. :( However staff were very pleasant and the room was clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Watfordonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Chose to stay at this location based on ads portraying Best Westerns "Branding" concept. Upon check in, we were informed that there was no elevator. This was fine as we were on the second (top) floor.The front desk let us know that the building was an older model but that the rooms had been updated to the BW brand. They were accommodating per our room type request. However if dirty carpet up the stairs, chipped paint throughout the room and what looked to be man's biological fluid dried down the front of the headboard..if this BW branding then I am very disappointed.luckily there waa another bed in the room as the hotel was completely booked. Heard the trains all nite long. The best part of staying here was the breakfast in the morning .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonnie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved my stay at this hotel, the staff couldn't of been more friendly and helpful if the tried!! The rooms are superb and comfy beds... I asked for a room next to the railway because I came here as a boy and wanted to re-live that memory and they accommodated me for that. I would stay here again and again if I had the chance, thanks for a great few days!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Arrived at 10 pm and left at 630 am, so basically checked in, watched a bit of TV, slept, showered, had breakfast, and left. And the good news is that the breakfast attendant opened the door to the breakfast room ten minutes early so that I could have a quick bite before heading off. And it was a decent breakfast spread - cereal, boiled eggs, toast, yogurt, fruit, pastries. I think they had a waffle maker, though I'm not positive.

Room itself was a bit small, but certainly adequate. Mattress fine. Bathroom fine. My room was pretty much in back of the building, so away from the highway and the railroad tracks. Some light sounds from the adjacent room, but not enough to bother me (and I'm pretty sensitive to between room noise).

So, for a night's sleep, perfectly fine. Beyond that, might be better choices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in back, away from the street and RR tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#5 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
1.6 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#18 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Address: 3030 E Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-3936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Hotel Flagstaff
Best Western Flagstaff
Best Western Hotel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing