We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we thought”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Yuma, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than we thought”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was hesitant about staying across the street from an active railroad, but we didn't hear the train from our room, which was on the 2nd floor near the front of the motel. Breakfast was way more than continental and the hostess was very nice!

The only negative is the bathroom isn't divided between shower, toilet, sink, so it made it a little hard sharing the room with my family (lack of privacy). Would be nice if they installed pocket doors between toilet and sink.

Room Tip: Even tho it's a pet-friendly motel, if you reserve a room in the front, you'd never know it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilygalYuma_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    430
    260
    101
    46
See reviews for
440
537
85
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while visiting Flagstaff because they allow dogs for a small fee. The hotel was clean, has a heated, the front desk staff was very friendly and helped provide numbers for cabs and local restaurants/attractions, etc. They provide continental breakfast and free wifi. The rates are very reasonable. It is right on Rt 66, so you may hear the occasional train that runs parallel to the road and is just across the street -- we stayed in the room top floor over the lobby which is the closest room to the tracks, and it still didn't bother us hearing the train.

Room Tip: They have a very large room (197) that has multiple rooms and is above the lobby with windows all al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlosRides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Family Suite is very popular, even though it is on the second floor and is at the front of the building facing Route 66 and BNSF Railroad. Many guests return each year and rent that room. I wish we had more than just one of them!

Thanks again,

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Best Western Pony Soldier Inn. We were in town for a college graduation and it was so pleasant to have a friendly, clean and comfortable place to stay in Flagstaff. We were very impressed as well with the wonderful breakfast every morning ....the breakfast area had a beautiful view, a great selection of breakfast items and a clean, cozy place to eat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank SUSAN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you had a good time at our hotel. Our breakfast room is large for a 75 room hotel, and we receive many favorable comments about the selection of foods and the service staff!

Thanks again,

Scott Grams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

very courteous staff, the television didn't work most of the time, the beds were the worst that I have slept on, the breakfast was as expected.... Continental ! If I had to choose a hotel in flagstaff, I would not choose this one without knowing that changes had been made

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank ELIGAH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the trouble you experienced with our 37" Flat Screen TV's. The city of Flagstaff cable company recently converted their signal from analog to digital. We have experienced some interruptions with the signal since then, but we are working diligently with the cable company to rectify this occasional signal problem.

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We chose Best Western because we were told about the pro-pet policy and we were bringing a dog from Los Angeles to NY. Surprisingly the room was comfortable with free wifi and free newspapers, enhancing the experience for humans. While there was a $20/day charge for pets it was added onto a very reasonable rate and seemed fair. Breakfast was good even including healthy options and there was a field adjoining the hotel that was good for walking said dog. All-in-all we were happy with the choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronacom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are one of the pet friendly hotels in Flagstaff. More and more guests are traveling with their pets, and we try to accommodate them. Thank you for the positive comments regarding the restaurant and "people friendly too" .

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
1.8 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 65 in Flagstaff
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#22 of 65 in Flagstaff
1,076 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Flagstaff
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 65 in Flagstaff
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Address: 3030 E Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Hotel Flagstaff
Best Western Flagstaff
Best Western Hotel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing