We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice stay at the Pony Soldier Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Eagar, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice stay at the Pony Soldier Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

The rooms are small but this is typical for a lot of the older hotels. I think I first stayed here in 1978. Don't be fooled by the close proximity to the rail road tracks. There are lots of trains passing by but I only noticed one when I was outside in the parking lot. My wife was disappointed because she likes the train horns. There is a shortage of electrical outlets in the room at first sight. There is one cleverly hidden in the base of each lamp. So, no problem charging up your gadgets. The beds are comfortable. Our room had two queen beds. The room was equipped with a privacy screen that slides to closes off the room from the vanity/bath area. This is a nice feature for family or two couples use of the room. The breakfast room has plenty of tables and a good selection of food. If you leave hungry it is your own fault. Staff is friendly and helpful. The indoor heated pool looked inviting but take your robe with you this time of year. Close to the mall, home depot, Sams Club and only about 15 minutes from the NAU Skydome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is nice to see you have been staying with us since 1978. We have a pretty high repeat business, which is always appreciated by our staff. Even though we are a bit older hotel, we have to keep up with the times so to speak, so we chose desk lamps that the outlets at the base for those travelers that need to recharge or plug-in their gadgets;)

Thanks again,

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    376
    234
    90
    43
See reviews for
368
478
70
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loma Linda, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We researched for hotels around flagstaff for large group last thanksgiving. Finally we find this hotel. We got good deal at price for rooms and manager allow us to use their breakfast room that we can use for felowship in 2 days.Its awesome.Their breakfast menu also good. My kids like their heated pool.

Roma
SBO- City Blessing Church

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roma h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you as our guests this past Thanksgiving. We can’t always allow groups to use our breakfast room, but when business allows us too, we will make exceptions. I am happy you hear that your group and the children enjoyed their stay with us!

Sincerely,

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildomar, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We noticed the train tracks across the street when we checked in and were worried about noise. The only time we heard the trains was when we were outside. Our room was at the very end of the building in the back, parking wasn't a problem. The room however, was very small. We had very little space in the room. Only a queen sized bed, a small table, but new tv, worked for the night. Breakfast was perfect, had a very good variety.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank RelaxedCouple92595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. It sounds as if you stayed in one of our rooms that have only one queen bed. You’re right, the rooms a bit small, but for travelers that are traveling alone or with their significant other those rooms work out great. They are usually the first ones reserved, and if you are just staying the night, the price is right. They are priced accordingly, as compared to our rooms with two queen beds that are larger and offer a fridge, and our king suites which have both a fridge and microwave.

Thanks again,

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We needed a place for our large group of mostly kids. Considering the fact that we are a non-profit organization and the kids with us were all children in the care of Child Protective Services, Scott Grams gave us 10 rooms for free! Not to mention his kindness and professionalism throughout the entire process of planning the trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAP_Ministries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. I’m happy we could help out the children during your visit to the “North Pole” via the POLAR EXPRESS! (Grand Canyon Railroad). We try to help out when we can; assisting many charities and organizations when business allows us to. I hope most of the children will receive what they asked Santa for, and that everyone has a happy holiday season. It was also fitting that the young children from Tucson may have seen snow for the first time!

Thanks again for the kind words!

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I had planned on spending just one night, but ended up staying for four when I came down with the flu. The motel staff was super nice, even postponing repairs on the room next to mine so that I could rest and nap quietly.
There's a nice grassy area in the back for dogs to explore, and poop bags are supplied. My dog loved it, and was welcomed. The room was perfectly clean, and the bed very comfy. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I recommend staying in the back. It's very quiet there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. Every once in a while we have guests that need to spend an extra night or two that were unintended, whether they may be feeling under the weather, car problems, or inclement weather. We have empathy for these guests and try to accommodate them anyway we can. I’m happy to hear you are feeling better, and that your dog enjoyed our grassy dog area in the back of the building.

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGV
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Good all around and clean. WiFi was good and solid, even though it was not secured. Would stay again. Older facility, but had been updated. The price/value of this hotel is excellent. Front desk lady was very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockintom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. Our housekeepers work hard to insure our rooms are cleaned well and stocked. Happy to hear you would stay again.

Thanks again,

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel deserves a high rating for its price range. I was very impressed. My room was nicely decorated, with a new flatscreen TV, comfy bed (even though the pillows are tiny). I had a room at the back so I didnt hear any of the infamous Flagstaff train noise during the night. The breakfast is very well equipped compared to other chains...they actually have lots of pre-cut fresh fruit! Was nice to eat fruit after days of only waffles at the other hotels. Staff was friendly, hotel seemed in good condition, room was well kept. I dont really have anything bad to say. It's a bit down the road from downtown, but most of the budget hotels are.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mezaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
As a frequent contributor to Trip Advisor with 20 hotel reviews at the time you completed this one, I would like to thank you for your positive review of our hotel. It is always nice to receive kind words from a frequent hotel traveler.

Thanks again,

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
1.6 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Flagstaff
1.7 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#16 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Address: 3030 E Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-3936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Hotel Flagstaff
Best Western Flagstaff
Best Western Hotel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing