We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Way Out of Town But a Great Overnight Stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Little Way Out of Town But a Great Overnight Stop”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

2011 was the second timeI had stayed here and again found the service attentive and friendly. This time discovered the outdoor area next to the indoor pool and (in between hail storms and a potential tornado) was able to get some sun.

Following an overnight/early morning storm we made our way across the car park to a spacious breakfast area that although busy was kept well stocked by efficient staff.

Regarding the noise from the railway tracks - maybe we were fortunate being at the back and so slept soundly.

Whilst there is a Route 66 Diner one block away, readers should note that a trip by car will be needed to get back to the restaurants of Flagstaff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gluhwurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Thank you for your review!

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    439
    261
    101
    47
See reviews for
451
543
87
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Myself, my husband and our entire clan stayed at the Best Western in Flagstaff in November. It was a positive experience, I would rate this hotel above average to others in the area.

Like others have said, the hotel is close to the train tracks and can be noisy. But so are most of the hotels in Flagstaff! Ask for a room near the back, I didn't hear any noise from our room. Because we had family staying in several rooms, I had a chance to see a few different rooms, all which were clean and in good shape.

The staff were helpful, the rooms were clean and the continental breakfast was decent. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms near the back are quieter. ALSO: if you book through Best Western, you get a bigger room than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshineyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermiston, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Was alot better last time we stayed , this time it seemed to be on a downhill slide , plumbing in bathroom was hideous , when taking shower about 1/2 the water didn't divert into shower head , hot water faucet was wobbly loose , by the time I got done in shower , had bathtub almost 1/2 full of water! Wife found two cents under the cushions of the sofa , so evidently wasn't cleaned real well ...Breakfast was a biscuit & coffee pretty much .. Had wafflemaker & biscuits & gravy , one choice of muffins , banana nut , no blueberry or poppy or any choice!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rust-E-Junque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

First, let me say that anyone who has a problem with the breakfast here must not have found the waffle-maker in the back! Unlike many continental breakfasts that consist of one counter of grab-and-go food in the lobby, this Best Western has an entire cafeteria dedicated to your choice of fruits, juices, cereals and a do-it-yourself waffle bar.

Yes, the hotel is quite close to the train station and the building is a bit older than some, but if you ask for a room in the back, you're a lot less likely to be bothered by the noise. The staff was more than willing to accomodate our needs--everything from guests arriving in the middle of the night, to internet usage and extra pillows--our friends and family booked a total of 9 rooms.

The hotel is located about an hour and a half from the south-east entrance of Grand Canyon National Park--with gorgeous desert views all the way. If you love national parks, be sure to check out the Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument on your way.

The hotel is also walking distance to a Circle K convenience store and a charming Italian restaurant called Mama Luisa's--though their lasagna was pretty average. The pool and spa are housed in a glass building detached from the hotel and is open until 11pm! This means you can enjoy the hot tub for a long while after dinner, any day of the year.

For only $62/night/room, there's no better value in Flagstaff!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter, book on BestWestern.com for a chance at getting an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Re C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Anyone booking with this facility should know that it is directly across a busy road from AMTRACK, with resultant noise until fairly late at night and starting early in the morning. Light sleepers like my wife would find it difficult.

The room we had could hardly be classified as sound-proof.

Other than some sleep disruption, our stay was satisfactory. The room was clean, the staff accommodating, the included breakfast much better than what one normally gets with the designation “continental”.

Not bad value for money, really

Room Tip: Get one as far from the railway tracks as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdOtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Facilities in general were quite aged but clean and tidy. We had an east facing room which looks onto the transcon RR so it was relatively noisy. Bathroom was clean as were bedsheets and decent enough to plonk down on. Breakfast was awful - not even any hot food, but a few buildings down east on old R66 there's a fantastic 'Railroad Cafe'

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thank you for your review. I would like to clarify an item in the headline that states "breakfast awful". We advertise a "continental breakfast" which in itself would indicate no hot food. However, we do offer "Hot Sausage Gravy w/ Biscuits, and Fresh Hot Waffles". Some of your guests will cut the hard-boiled eggs in half and pour the Hot Sausage Gravy over them as well. Our selection of food is larger than comparable hotels with similar offerings.

Our guest satisfaction scores, in relation to our breakfast offerings, as measured by BEST WESTERN are considerably higher than other BEST WESTERNS.

Every guest has their own set of expectations, and I apologize we did not meet yours.

Scott Grams
General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobble Hill, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

very noisy on main floor with no soundproofing.
Hear every footstep,toilet flashing,water and shower running,bed squeaking from above.To top it all off there is a train coming by frequently which adds more noise.We will never go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klaus a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thank you for your review.

I apologize you found our hotel not up to your expectations. Flagstaff is an old logging town that has the main Transcontinental Railroad going through town. The railroad connects the Port of Los Angeles to Chicago.

Many of the hotels along the railroad were built back in the "heyday" of Route 66.

Scott Grams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
1.8 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 65 in Flagstaff
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Flagstaff
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Address: 3030 E Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Hotel Flagstaff
Best Western Flagstaff
Best Western Hotel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing