We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocky Horror Travelodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Flagstaff
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Rocky Horror Travelodge”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We booked a room at this property through Hotels.com last month. We selected the Travelodge because we were travelling with two dogs, and it was the highest rated "pet friendly" property in the Flagstaff area. To be fair, "pet friendly" properties are almost always dumps, so I did not have high expectations. Unfortunately, I believe i did not set the bar low enough.

First of all, it was almost impossible to find the property when we arrived in Flagstaff at 11pm. Although the address is on East Route 66, GPS does not recognize the address (I even called the hotel for an alternate address or directions, and the front desk clerk confirmed that there is no way to map to the property). I followed the directions given to me by the front desk clerk, and still drove past the property twice because the Travelodge sign was merely a poster that was tacked over the property's previous neon sign and was difficult to see.

When we finally arrived at the hotel, I almost drove away. The "lobby" was an empty white room that almost looked abandoned. As a woman travelling with a small child and two dogs (my husband was driving a separate car and started the journey several hours after me, so wound up stopping in a different city for the night), I felt very unsafe checking in. The front desk clerk was not wearing a uniform or any kind of identification to confirm that he was a Travelodge employee, and it was not until his wife joined him at the front desk that I had any confidence whatsoever that this was truly a Travelodge franchise property.

They assigned me to a room on the 2nd floor, and the manager's wife followed me to the stairs to inform me that I would have to carry my two dogs up the (outside corridor) stairs to insure that my dogs would not fall through the openings in the steps. I made three trips up the stairs with my child, our dogs and all of our possessions because I was afraid to leave anything in the car.

Once I had transported everything into our assigned room, I realized that the room had not been cleaned. Sheets were piled up on the dresser, all the trashcans were full and there was garbage on the tables. I called down to the front desk and was assigned a new room.

The new room was not dirty, but was also not very nice. The television didn't work, and I would not allow my son to take off his shoes for fear of what was on the (very stained) carpets. My dogs spent so much time running around the room sniffing out evidence of previous canine occupants that I finally had to lock them in the bathroom for the night. It did not make for a pleasant evening.

This property is in desperate need of Travelodge signage, renovation and improved housekeeping staff. Overall, I think the Travelodge brand offers decent value and quality, and this hotel does the entire brand a disservice. This property would not seem as scary if the owners spent some money to bring it up to Travelodge brand standards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonSummerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    242
    173
    83
    50
See reviews for
246
222
59
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overgaard, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Very clean rooms, very courteous staff and management. Really an great place to stop and get some well deserved rest. Everything worked and was just perfect! I would definitely recommend to friends and family!

Room Tip: Just ask for Jose, he will help you out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Waterford, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stopped over night. We were very pleased to find a comfortable, friendly place to unwind after a long day on the road-loved the comfortable office chair provided!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWBarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

stayed here after a long day on route 66, was very tired and needed somewhere to crash, all seemed much of a muchness so picked this one as central, and lots of parking, receptionist was miserable, room seemed more than we had paid for similar, was ok for one night but nothing special and carried a musty smell, and could hear a barking dog from neighbouring room most of night, needs updating as a bit scruffy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazza018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We arrived late and most nearby motels were full. Got a room here for several times the advertised rate. It was a dump. Carpet is full of holes, very few electrical outlets and those are so loose a plug will not stay in them. They advertise wifi and it's there...within 50 feet of the lobby. Good luck having any in your room. Peeling paint and the bathtub drain stopper would not close. Really glad to get out of there the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
2 Thank spot1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

This old place is a tarnished vestige of the faded old Route 66. It might have been O.K. for a night stop in the early '60s, but it is now simply cheap and run down. The rooms here are mediocre, at best.
The pathetic "breakfast" consisted of old donuts, stale cereal and reprehensible coffee.
Most Importantly -- BEWARE: UNETHICAL PERSONS RUN THIS DUMP!
We booked the room for three nights through Expedia, but checked out after only two nights, being assured by the young desk clerk that this was O.K. and we could seek our refund through Expedia.
Now, however, the hotel refuses to authorize the refund for the third night, claiming their computer showed we stayed all three nights. After several calls, I was able to speak with the young clerk who remembered and confirmed our early check out. Several promises to straighten out the error or have the manager call me went unfulfilled. Finally the owner let it be known that they would not authorize Expedia to refund my money!
My wife, who works at the front desk of a hotel near our home, is appalled by the mishandling of this simple reservation change. Don't get caught between Expedia and this inept hotel management. You will lose.
Many other and better hotels are in the area, so I strongly advise you opt for one of them and avoid the Travelodge Flagstaff.

Room Tip: I advise that you pick a different hotel in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max Meadows
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The room was ok, although I did find a empty whiskey bottle under the bed when I was checking for my misplaced things before I checked out. Not sure how well the room was cleaned. Not many electrical outlets. Had a frig. Pretty good location. Front desk staff was nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerJohnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.3 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#21 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
1.7 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#23 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
#39 of 63 in Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
2.5 mi away
GreenTree Inn Flagstaff
GreenTree Inn Flagstaff
#22 of 63 in Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
1.4 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#18 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Flagstaff

Property: Travelodge Flagstaff
Address: 1560 East Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Flagstaff 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge is located on Historic Route 66. We are conveniently located about one half mile from Historic Down Town Flagstaff. The hotel offers the Travelodge Bear Bites breakfast complimentary every morning from 6 A.M. To 9 A.M. All of the rooms are equipped with a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The hotel is about an hour and a half drive from the Grand Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing