We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food; lively atmosphere”

Karma Sushi Bar Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Karma Sushi Bar Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 339 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fresh. Beautiful. Delicious. Karma Sushi Bar & Grill serves it up: fresh, beautiful and delicious sushi, grills and cocktails in the hip, casual setting of one of downtown Flagstaff's best restaurants. Every dish is hand-made in the moment by our masterful chefs. And our grill menu will please even non-sushi fans. Stocked with all your favorite spirits, the bar is staffed by our knowledgeable and inventive mixologists. Happy hour specials? We've got those, too. We also offer take out service and party platters. Whether you're looking for a quick lunch, are meeting friends for happy hour, or want to linger over dinner for a special occasion, Karma Sushi Bar Grill is precisely right.
New York
Level Contributor
307 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Good food; lively atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Right in the heart of the downtown area in Flagstaff, this small restaurant is busy, even during week nights. Nice to slip in a bit early for dinner, if you can, to take advantage of the reduced price on some appetizers during happy hour. Also easier to get a table if you arrive on the early side of the dinner hours.

All was fresh and well prepared, both the sushi and the cooked fish dishes. Staff friendly and service was okay.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PokeyPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, Public Relations Manager at Karma Sushi Bar Grill, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We do get busy, even during the week, but reservations are always an option if you'd rather not wait for a table. And folks do rave about Karma Sushi's happy hour, when our signature drinks and martinis are only $5 (well drinks only $3, and $1 off all beer, wine and saki, too!) Plus there's that great selection of appetizers on our happy hour menu. Hope to see you again next time you're in Flagstaff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    83
    30
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williams, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Sushi Bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Upon moving to Flagstaff, I had never had sushi. My husband had, but stayed primarily with your basic California Roll. My first experience was with Hiro's (also very good), but we eventually branched out and tried Karma, and I have to say, it is a totally different kind of experience. The environment at Karma is fun and swanky, and the rolls are unique.

My personal favorite is the Flying Dragon, which features tempura fried rolls topped with sriracha and stuffed with jalapenos, cream cheese, and the usual stuff. Oh my gosh.... sooooo good! Other favorites are the Black Cat roll, the Godzilla Roll, and plenty of hot fresh sake!

The folks at Karma know us by name and always provide us with exceptional service. When we have extra money to spend, we always splurge at Karma!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin and Nic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, Public Relations Manager at Karma Sushi Bar Grill, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thanks for the great review, and we're glad you've discovered your love for sushi and for Karma! We love our regular customers, and those who are just discovering us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We get to Flagstaff on a regular basis (10+ times per year). We ALWAYS go to Karma, often multiple nights during the same visit. In a town that in all honesty has a lot of good options for food and drinks this place stands out. It is amazing that I live in one of the largest cities in the US and the sushi at Karma is better than any I can find in my home city! Great specialty rolls (the Orpheum is my favorite), excellent "happy hour" options, and fantastic friendly service. They do seem to always be very busy (I am always there Fri - Sun maybe they aren't as busy during normal week) but if they don't have a table they will take your cell phone number and call you when your table is ready allowing you to shop or look around the area while you wait - very nice touch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, Public Relations Manager at Karma Sushi Bar Grill, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hi Jason, thank you for the awesome review. (Can we quote you?)

We do accept reservations, so on those busier nights, that's always an option, in addition to calling your cell phone when your table opens up.

We love hearing that we're getting it right, and appreciate you taking the time to let us know that we hit a home run with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
90 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service somewhat lacking this visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

When travelling though Flagstaff we always stop here. The food and bar specials are wonderful.
At lunch, we like the sashimi bento box for $10.95. You get a nice bowl of miso soup, small vegie tempura with dipping sauce, 4 piece california roll, 3 piece sashimi with gari and wasabi and a small salad. For $1.95 extra we upgrade to the seaweed or spicy squid salad (I recommend the squid). Above average quality on the fish and vegies. Presentation excellent. We order buddah bomber. This is a 12 oz asian beer with a small Sake for $5 or you can get a 22 oz asian beer (kirin, asahi, etc) with small Sake for $7 or upgrade to large Sake for $9. What a deal. Best Sushi in the Southwest that we have found so far. Poor service this trip though. I think they were understaffed for the holidays. I will still come back. If not for the service this trip I would rate the experience excellent instead of very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveling D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, Public Relations Manager at Karma Sushi Bar Grill, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thanks for the review - we always want to know how your experience was! Sorry that your service wasn't up to snuff this visit. But you're right, New Year's Eve is a busy time! Glad you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again when you're back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great sushi, good serice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had lunch at Karma 2 days in a row and was not disappointed. The best sushi we have have had in Arizona. The bento boxes are good lunch, I would like to see them offer a larger variety of mains in the bento boxes (Katsu, a beef, etc.). Their calamari salad is a fantastic dish ($6.95) and is a meal in itself. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank azb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven S, Public Relations Manager at Karma Sushi Bar Grill, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thanks for the idea about expanding the bento box offerings (though we already offer 16 entrée options with our bento box lunches.) And we love hearing that we're the best sushi you've had in Arizona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karma Sushi Bar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing