We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beats coloring”

Black Barts Steakhouse
Ranked #10 of 349 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are conveniently located off the I-40 across from Little America hotel. We open at 5 pm daily and music begins at 5:30 pm.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beats coloring”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Black Barts is a nice diversion. They have an awesome piano player and the wait staff are also the singers. They sing mostly show tunes, and will take requests. They don't do anything embarrassing. It is totally "G" rated. The food is very good and even doubling as singers, the service is good. Our 7 year old commented that it was a fun place, "at most restaurants all you get to do is color."

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbsteakhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Black Barts Steakhouse, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi,
I glad you and your family had a enjoyable evening out with us. The entertainment is great for children. I 'm glad your child thought we are a fun place!
Come back and visit us soon!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    270
    93
    48
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“NY Strip with a side of Jazz Hands”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Flagstaff’s Black Bart’s is many things to many people. To some, it is a general store serving the revolving population of an onsite RV park. To others, it is a handsome saloon serving up not one, not two, but eight different renditions on the classic margarita. But to most, Black Bart’s is the city’s premiere dinner theater steakhouse. Okay, you got us… only dinner theater steakhouse.

Some 25 years had passed from the time when Set of Drifter Brady first encountered this kitschy gem with his family shortly following a move westward from Chicago. It was a restaurant remembered moreso as a kitschy experience rather than one of Flag’s must-eat culinary stops. (And that’s saying something since most 11 year-olds couldn’t care less how an entrée tastes as long as it accompanies some fries and ketchup.) Even back then, Black Bart’s logo and dark wood interiors felt dated. And perhaps some 10 years into the restaurant’s history, they already were.

By December 2013, most of that had changed. Though the handlebar moustache and inverted triangle cowboy hat on the logo still reign supreme, the silly (but fun) Western costumes adorned by servers have vanished in favor of simple black T-shirts and jeans. An update of the décor has also transpired following the 1991 discontinuation of Black Bart's “Vaudeville Show & Old West Melodrama.” To be perfectly honest, though we appreciated the new open floorplan, it may be time again for another refresh; the “antique” doodads and Old West signage feel a bit short in supply. Our favorite room was certainly the aforementioned saloon, a plush pre-dinner setting complete with red velvet wallpaper and an old-time player piano.

Speaking of music… Arguably the most important attribute of Black Bart’s - then and now – is dinnertime tuneage. Here, it seems just about anyone can break out into song at any given moment – from the maitre d’ right on down to your busboy. Keep an eye out for the team that serves you cocktails and takes your food order; it’ll be just a matter of time before he/ she drops their serving tray in favor of a microphone. But don’t let that scare you. Somehow, management has been able to train their staff to share tables and orders so that service never lags.

Part of this success may have to with the fact that waiters and support staff seem to genuinely enjoy their jobs. Most likely comprised of current (and former) NAU theatre students, Black Bart’s crooners are equally as poised singing showtunes as they are asking how you’ll want your NY Strip prepared. Our server was a mid-30s bloke who fashioned himself as a cross between Captain Jack Sparrow and Guy Fawkes. With a jaunty beard, firm pecks and one intense stare, we had to concentrate hard ordering our meals, or fear potential beheading. Like the rest of his compatriots, he would later enter the main stage - really no more than a raised platform - though not in the company-wide rendition of “Be Our Guest” from Beauty & the Beast. Oh no. He saved himself instead for a solo of John Lennon’s “Imagine.” Really?
As far as the food goes, this too has changed over the years, and luckily for the better. In fact, dare we say it… Black Bart’s may have been the best meal of our two night trip into town. Dinner specials such as rack of lamb and a 9 oz. salmon come with your choice of salad and potato. Expect your usual steakhouse cuts of meat or ribs, plus a decent selection of wines, beer and cocktails. (Hint - try the “Hawaiian Cowboy.”) Set of Drifters tip: Dessert lovers should also leave room for a scoop of deep-fried ice cream or any one of the sumptuous coffee drinks on offer.

Black Bart’s belts out the best of Bette and Brigadoon, among others, nightly starting at 5:00 PM. They do take reservations, but with such high traffic, expect a small wait by the cozy fireplace at the front door.

For more on what we think makes Flagstaff tick, visit our Set of Drifters travel blog and YouTube channel.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Set_of_Drifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbsteakhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Black Barts Steakhouse, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi,
This review was awesome! Thank you! It was a nice comparison of where we were at before to present day operations. Again thank you for taking the time to write such a thought out review!
Hope we will see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS AND ENTERTAINING”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We were traveling in our RV when we experienced tire problems just outside of Flagstaff. We took our coach to the repair shop who, of course, could not schedule us in that day which meant we needed to find an RV Park for the night. The people at the repair shop recommended Black Barts RV Park and specifically recommended their restaurant. We were more than pleased with this recommendation because, not only was their RV Park nice, the restaurant was absolutely fantastic. Our meal was done to perfection and the service very efficient. The servers are all college students studying music and, in between serving, they put on a wonderful musical show! The next day we were pleased when the repair shop said they had to order parts so we would have to stay another night. We went back again for dinner and had the same wonderful experience. We would HIGHLY recommend this restaurant to anyone traveling near Flagstaff. It's an awesome experience and you won't regret it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judi1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbsteakhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Black Barts Steakhouse, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi,
While it was unfortunate you had mechanical problems I'm glad to know you got to enjoy our restaurant for two nights in a row. Thank you for coming in and giving us a great recommendation.
Hopefully we shall see you on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and entertainment.”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

This is the best restaurant in town. The food is the best, the entertainment was very good, and the service was the best we have had in a while; I never had to ask for anything. Our servers made sure our drinks were never empty. The steaks were very tender and cooked perfectly, even my wife's"well done" steak was tender and juicy. This is a must do in Flagstaff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbsteakhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Black Barts Steakhouse, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi,
Thank you for thinking we are the the best restaurant in town! It's a pleasure to hear that you really enjoy our place. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you enjoy meat, and loud singing of show tunes, this is the place for you!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I went here a couple of years ago, and I haven't been back since. My husband and I went there as part of a family dinner to celebrate a graduation, and I will say that the entire experience was a big let-down. I, for one, abhor most show tunes, especially when I'm trying to have a conversation with my family members; they were mostly from Disney movies, which I don't watch, and they were sung pretty much, for lack of a better word, out of tune. On top of that, my husband and I, who are pescatarians, had one choice on the entree menu, which was over-cooked salmon smothered in sauce, with mushy vegetables and a stale salad.
Now, I realize that there are people who enjoy places like this; I can see taking small children to this restaurant, or people who like steak and loud singing, but alas, I am not one of them. If this sounds like your type of place, by all means, go, but just don't expect to be able to talk with your dining companions.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank birdgirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbsteakhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Black Barts Steakhouse, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hi,
Sorry to hear about your experience with us. Since it has been a few years since you came in, we have changed our menus around. I can't comment on the singing as it's been a part of establishment since we opened. If you have any more questions or concerns please contact me at 928.779.3142
Thank you for coming in and at least trying us out.
Vanessa Shawbell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Barts Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing