We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food nice atmosphere”

Brix Restaurant and Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Brix Restaurant and Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 348 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Dale
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“good food nice atmosphere”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We have eaten here a number of times. The food is always farm fresh and the wine selection is good. The patio is very pleasant but small. If you go during monsoon season be advised that this is a small restaurant and they would have trouble accommodating everyone if it rained and they couldn't seat outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    112
    43
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Coq au Vin”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Visited Flagstaff ad took a casual walk-a-bout downtown, asking folks where to go for great food. Several recommended Brix. Underdressed, I walked there early and discovered it was in the original location of a very old and gone favorite, The former Down Under Cafe. Host greeted me and very kindly agreed to seat me, apologetic about my rather casual state, telling me not to worry it was Flagstaff and relaxed. The Coq au Vin, such a difficult dish, was just wonderful, as well as the trout, both delicate and flavorful. Small plates made it possible to explore the menu a bit. Staff were charming to a lone diner having a day off. The restaurant was a truly terrific wine bar with a menu I will enjoy exploring on repeat visits.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BC D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best in Northern AZ.”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

One of the best in northern Arizona! Farm to table, splendid. I ate ate at the bar and was very please from the start with an old world cheese plate to my entree. Highly recommended!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cageranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A Family night out”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

ate here with family, it was very cold out, the restaurant was draughty and not overally warm. The food was over rated and the wine way over priced.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Competent but NO OMG”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Wife and I had dinner to celebrate her birthday. No a bad experience but certainly not exceptional either. First, be sure to check out their menu prior to visiting. It is short--only six choices on the main entrée list. Even though we dined on May 3, winter menu was still up. Wife had roast duck and was quite pleased with it. Cooked to nice med rare across the entire breast, very moist and well seasoned.
Finding few choices that appealed to me I ended up with a boneless rib-eye steak. Steak came as ordered, but was only barely seasoned. There was a few caramelized onions but not enough to really enjoy. If I had know it was going to be so naked, I would have requested some mushrooms at least to top.
We had what the menu listed as a 2009 cab sauv but when poured turned out to be a 2010. (while not the first restaurant practicing vintage inflation, it seems to be a growing practice). For $40, it's youth for a cab was obvious. The wine list, while decent with good selections from Calif and Wa as well some Europeans, it is GROSSLY over priced. Coming from WA, we are pretty familiar with many of the producers. Forget wine markup of 3 times, try 4-5 times. Worst was a 2012 Tamarack Firehouse at $52--while a good offering (it sells everyday in our Costco for $14), certainly not a $50+ bottle.
Service was reliable but did not distinguish itself.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nwsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brix Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing