We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SCARY!!! NOT RECOMMENDED!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Budget Host Inn NAU / Downtown Flagstaff
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Talk about freaking out!!! My daughter and I stayed there and we went to sleep at around 10:30, At midnight, all of a sudden I heard someone trying to open our door.. I freaked out!! I immediately got up and there was a guy trying to get into the room because the desk clerk gave him a key to our room. The clerk told him he could have our room because it was vacant!! I went to the hotel desk and told the clerk he gave someone a key to our room. All he did was apologize and nothing else. He didn't really seem to even care. It took us a while to go back to sleep. Very scary stuff! Also the picture on the internet shows a pool but the pool doesn't have any water in it and the paint is chipping. Also the shower head is placed very low on the shower wall. It's great if you are about 4 feet tall. The carpet is very old and musty. The walls are very thin and we could hear the traffic by route 66 all night. Needless to say I will never stay there again. What I would recommend though is right across the street is the Galaxy Diner. That place is hoppin' on Saturday nights. It's a very cool 50's Diner! In conclusion if you don't want to get freaked out in the middle of the night then don't stay there!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LEEM981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 83 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

We came in last night from Los Angeles and we were just plain exhausted, we had a pup with us so we had to find a hotel that allows dogs. Tried al the normal chains and nothing available so out of exhaustion decided to settle with this place. The bathroom is filthy, the towels that they put in there look like they have never been washed. They have some sort of plastic thing in the tub that is peeling up and it's just gross-- didnt take a shower because of this. The carpets have stains all over them and there is reminants of food on the ground from the last person who stayed here.


Luckily we brought our own blanket and pillows so we slept on top of that. Terrified to look at the sheets. The curtains are stained and have holes all in them. Fixtures and the outlets all are broken. Honestly, I'm tempted to look up the phone number for the health department. This place needs to be shut down.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crystal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

One of the worst advertised hotels ever. First off, very old, dusty, advertised AARP, but no discount, said microwave (not in non-smoking like our room?), pool ( 102 degrees in afternoon no water and structure chipped, nothing like website), A/C didn't work (told to open windows it would cool down after 8 pm), and free continental breakfast was only two mini muffins, no fruit, no coffee, or any other amenity! We didn't even sleep on the sheets, because it was hot, but did pull the comforter up over us by am. The toilette got plugged and when we asked for help they handed us the plunger!
Like the other reviews the Galaxy Grill was the only saving grace!
It was the TV/WiFi worked, clean and the bed was comfortable. If we weren't so tired from the heat and trip to Laughlin, we would have check other options.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms first, and check the A/C, in summer. Don't look at budget Host Inns website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Berenice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was the cheapest choice of quite a good selection of hotels and motels on the I-40. Cheapest was definitely not the way to go!! When we walked into the reception area (by this I mean smelly/smokey/dirty/tiny office) the Asian gentleman behind the counter pounced on us. We were told there was wifi, free breakfast etc etc etc... We negotiated a deal at $59.99 inc tax. I honestly cannot believe I paid this much. After a 6 hour drive from Las Vegas, we were tired and just wanted somewhere to sleep for 1 night. When we got into the room, the first thing we checked was the bed and bathroom. Bathroom - no words describe it. Put it this way, we didn't shower the next morning. Bed - The sheets looked unclean and smelled a bit musty, the pillows (if they can be called pillows) were completely flat and we had to use our sweaters as second pillows. We then tried to access the wifi. To do this we had to hold our phones right up by the top of the front door, stand on one leg, tap our heads and rub our bellies all the same time. I can only assume the wifi router was in the office. We decided to go across the street to the Galaxy Diner for something to eat which was absolutely AMAZING!! Dreading going back to our room, we headed back and watched some TV on the oldest set I've seen in a long time. Anyway, we slept (very badly) and went to seek out our "free breakfast". This was in the smelly/smokey/dirty/tiny office and consisted of an empty coffee pot, a few (soft/old) mini cookies and stale mini muffins. We decided not to eat just in case we got sick. We promptly left... DO NOT EVER STAY HERE!!! Wish we had read the reviews first... School boy error.

Room Tip: no tips for good rooms, there aren't any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tanw2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The lock and the door was so close together that I cut my hand upon entering our room. Upon using the facilitys we noticed that there was no toilet paper which I had to go ask the front office man who did not speak English for another roll. The heater was so large that no matter how the termostat was set, it was always too hot. The place was not clean, dirty windows as well. We asked about the free breakfast and was told by the man who could not speak English that the breakfast was in the office-"free coffee" from a drip coffee pot and no place to sit as well as a "free" muffin. We decided we didn't want to stay there so tried to cancel the 3rd day but was told by the man who could not speak English "No charged already, can't cancel" while waving a paper at us. We will contest this with the credit card company.
The sheets were basically the type of material used in for flour sacks. The fawset water smelled and we wouldn't even use it to rinse our mouths out after brushing. The towels in the bathroom were made for really small people so only dried part of a body. The shower curtain was stained brown although it used to be white I think. There was good water pressure in the shower which is the only good thing about the room.
On the second day, the sheets were not changed and bed was not made although someone came in and changed the towels. They only left enough sweetner for 1 cup of coffee. My husband (new of 3 weeks) were just on a hunting trip so planned on roughing it a bit, bu I think camping in the woods would have been better.
If you want a good laugh then I would recommend the Saga Budget Inn.!! Oh, and there were no facilities like a pool etc.

Room Tip: Stick with anything that does not say Budget because when they say Budget you are in for a really pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Terrible, awful, disgusting, dirty and every other bad word you can imagine. Don't go there: evetything is so dirty: the blanquet, the sheets, the floor, the bathroom and the towels.
We were there only one night, but we looked forward going away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Well I am not going to mess about and waste any time, I am going to cut to the chase and spit out the facts. This hotel had no hot water, so we couldn't wash or shower for 2 days, the sink didn't empty so even after cleaning our teeth it stayed full of foamy dirty water. When we arrived the floors were dirty and not hoovered, the face cloths and towels had yellow stains and smelled, they had not been cleaned form the previous occupier of the room. The bed clothes were also stained, smelled and looked disgusting, the pillows were dirty and under the pillow cases the actual pillows were spotty black and yellow with sweat stains etc. Everything in the room was sticky to the touch and brown? including walls, light switches, table tops and coat hangers. The fridge, when opened smelled so bad we couldn't use it as was the micro wave, we had to throw all our food supplies away.The swimming pool was cracked had peeling paint and full bin liners of rubbish inside, clearly this pool had been neglected for years. We slept on top of plastic bags and our towels in our clothes for 2 days with no covers, did not get a proper sleep at all. The host seemed very edgy and impatient, it felt like he wanted us to check out as soon as we had paid him for the room.

Read the reviews, ignore them at your own perril, thay are true. I would, as one person says, rather sleep in the woods and be eaten by a bear than stay here again at any price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonLiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
3.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#27 of 66 in Flagstaff
437 reviews
2.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen InnSuites Flagstaff / Grand Canyon
2.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
0.4 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#22 of 66 in Flagstaff
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn NAU / Downtown Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn NAU / Downtown Flagstaff

Address: 820 W Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6261
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range: $38 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Inn NAU / Downtown Flagstaff 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nested in peaceful Flagstaff, Arizona and only a mile from downtown Flagstaff and Northern Arizona University (NAU), this accommodation offers comfortable guest rooms with exceptional guest services and nearby top attractions. This conveniently located motel has spacious accommodations and provides modern amenities with newly renovated bathrooms built with beautiful natural stone, complimentary Wi-Fi, Cable TV with premium channels such as HBO, ANPL, FOX, SyFy, Disney, Free Local Phone calls, and tea and coffee available in the Lobby for the guests to enjoy. After a restful night's sleep, rise to a complimentary continental breakfast with a variety of options to choose from such as Rich & Moist Apple, Cheese, Cherry, Lemon Flavor Petite Danish, Blueberry & Banana Nut Muffins, Chocolate & sugar donuts, Original SunnyD juice, Lipton Tea, Regular and Decaf coffee and other items served every morning. Points of interest such as the Grand Canyon, Sedona, Antelope Canyon, Oak Creek Canyon, Meteor Crater, Petrified Forest National Park, Lowell Observatory, Snowbowl and much more are in close proximity to the Budget Host Inn NAU / Downtown Flagstaff. Budget Host Inn NAU / Downtown Flagstaff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Budget Host Inn NAU / Downtown Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Saga Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing