We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of England House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flagstaff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
England House B&B
Ranked #2 of 12 Flagstaff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2007

My husband and I stayed one night at the England House after a trip to the Grand Canyon. What a wonderful B&B! We stay in B&Bs all the time and this ties for first place. We only wished we could have stayed longer.

We were upgraded to the most expensive room for the same price of our reservation because no one was in that room. We stayed in the Stone Cutter room- great mattress.

We had broiled blackberries and a chile egg caserole. It all melted in your mouth!

  • Liked — Amazing food! Excellent hospitality! Great location to downtown historic Flagstaff.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pumpkindoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    19
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
54
445
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2007

On a whirlwind tour of AZ we were able to stop in Flagstaff for one night to recoup. We were looking for somewhere to stay that would be comfortable and refined without being chintzy or sterile. Not the easiest task, but thanks to TripAdvisor we ended up at England house and couldn't be happier!

We were welcomed by Lauren and treated to a glass of wine and small talk when we relaxed from being in the car all day at the canyon. Fresh cookies were on their way and early preparations for the next day's breakfast had begun. The owners were more than happy to accomodate the dietary needs of another guest and seemed genuinely concerned that she only be served food that was safe for her.

The house is stocked with local menus and maps, allowing us to plan the rest of our meals and stops during our short stay. Both of the innkeepers made helpful suggestions for places to visit we would not have found on our own, and even provided annotated maps to help us out.

The house itself is located just outside of downtown. It has ample parking and is warmly furnished. We stayed in the "pantry" which truly is just a bed and bathroom, but we found it suited our needs. Had we known that there were rooms with fireplaces though, we would definitely have sprung for one of those! The shower stall was quite nice and the bed comfy. Neither I nor my husband was disturbed by the train. I can't imagine there's a place in Flagstaff where you can't hear it, but we didn't find it loud or distracting.

Breakfast was truly above and beyond with fresh fruit juices, granola and yougrt with fruit, bacon and breakfast custard/breadpudding that was delightful. Tea coffee etc are available all day as are light snacks. The biggest surprise was finding every guest of the inn in the kitchen before breakfast! As the finishing touches were put on the meal everyone chatted and reminsiced. It was very nice, and not something I'd seen before!

Overall we had a great stay and reccommend the England house to anyone we know travelling in the area. We're certainly planning to make it back and try out one of the more spacious rooms!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lettersposthaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2007

My wife and I have stayed at many B&B's over the twelve years we have known each other and nothing tops the England House B&B! We stayed there in February 2007 and cannot say enough about the B&B or its wonderful hosts, Richard and Laurel (and we can't forget Sadie, their cute dog). First off, the house is gorgeous! We knew when we were pulling up in front of it that it was going to be a special place. Everything inside was beautiful, thanks to Richard's handyman skills and Laurel's impeccable design tastes. We got a tour of the house, all the rooms were just lovely. The two breakfasts we had there were wonderful, I'm still drooling over the french toast. We had a plan of what we were going to do in our two days in Flagstaff, yet Richard and Laurel added some things for us and gave us great advice on where to eat and what else to see. The B&B is conveniently located only a few short blocks from downtown, an easy five minute walk, to many shops, restaurants and some great breweries. When we next visit Flagstaff will definetely be staying at the England House B&B!

Steve & Kristen
Cincinnati, OH

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was perfect!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheHellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberts, Wi
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2006

We three (Mother and daughters) thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay in the Stonecutter room. The memory foam mattress was a very pleasant experience. The porch addition, with the hearthstone stove, was perfect for the third person and a cozy gathering place for an evening movie with complimentary DVD player. Richard and Laurel made everything special. They gave a little historical tour of the home when we arrived along with wine and sweets. There were many unexpected "help yourself" extras. After a day of exploring the Grand Canyon, the hot tub was a relaxing treat. The breakfasts were really wonderful and very filling. The location was great. It was just three short blocks to downtown historic Flagstaff, with charming shops and restaurants. We even took a morning hike up the mountainside, just a block away. Absolutely wonderful. Highly recommended. Thank you Laurel and Richard.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stonegatefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2006

This is the BEST B&B we have ever visited! The home itself has been wonderfully restored by Richard and Laurel who have filled it with beautiful French antiques. Their attention to detail is obvious both in the house and their care of their guests.
Richard and their gentle dog, Sadie, warmly greeted us as we pulled in. As we walked into the house, our eyes feasted on the decor, and Richard graciously shared the history of the house (and his Taylor guitar).
The location itself is a short walk to downtown where there's a myriad of food and fun. (Try nearby Beaver St. Brewery for food and drinks.)
Our room, Stargazer, the whole experience in fact, met and even exceeded our expectations. It is a romantic and relaxing setting. The bed was both beautiful and very comfortable. The aroma of the soaps and oils for the jacuzzi along with the luxuriously thick robes made the bathroom a slice of heaven.
From the wines, ales, and Dove bites left in the fridge to the delicious breakfast prepared by Laurel, our palettes were well pleased. We also really enjoyed chatting with Laurel at breakfast. We found both Richard and Laurel to be easy going and fun to be around.
We are looking forward to returning ASAP!

  • Liked — everything! especially the romantic atmosphere of the Stargazer room.
  • Disliked — a minor point was the sound of the trains, but no real issue.
  • Tips/Secrets — Plan to stay more than one night. Try Beaver St. Brewery and Oregano's.
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winderfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2006

My husband and I stayed in England House for a couple days last September before hiking the Grand Canyon. We stayed in the Pantry, which was perfect for us. It is compact, but the bed is comfy, there were lots of pillows, plush towels, soft robes, and the delicious breakfasts kept us going well past lunch despite our morning hikes.

This year there was no question in our minds where we wanted to stay. We visited England House June 11-17, 2006. We stayed the first part of the week in the Pantry because the other rooms were full, and then moved to Song Catcher. What a beautiful room! It also had a comfy bed, lots of pillows, plush towels, and soft robes just like the Pantry, but it was much larger and had a claw foot tub and an armoire.

The room and the beautiful historic house isn't the only reason we came back though. We came back for the reason we go to B&B's in the first place. We came for the innkeepers. Richard & Laurel are very knowledgable of things to do around Flagstaff and have done most of them themselves. After breakfast, they helped us plan our day and made suggestions when we weren't sure what we wanted to do. They provided maps and directions and even loaned out equipment if we needed it. At dinner time, they suggested restaurants and called to make certain the restaurant was open. In fact, Richard ran us down as we were walking to Cafe Ole because he had called them after we had left and found that they were closed for a private party. He was very concerned that we would walk all the way there (an 8 minute walk) for nothing. On our first trip, Richard also offered to retrieve our lost luggage from the Flagstaff airport when it arrived. We didn't let him, but were very touched that he offered.

I barely mentioned the food. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, fruit juice and a gourmet entre. I looked forward to breakfast every day. They even accomodate special dietary requirements. My husband can't stand eggs, so they made certain he had a non-egg entre for breakfast. He looked forward to breakfast as much as I did for a change!

They put wine out in the evening, and they always had iced tea, spring water, hot tea, coffee, and various other drinks available in the fridge. They also had homemade cookies out for guests to enjoy. Of all the B&B's I've stayed in, this gave us the most access to the kitchen. I really appreciated the iced tea after hiking and the hot tea before bed and the cookies anytime I passed through the kitchen. :)

I could keep going. My husband and I love this place! The house is beautiful, the breakfast is a great way to start the day, and the innkeepers are the best.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2006

My boyfriend and I recently discovered the England House and fell in love instantly! We came back to stay 3 weeks later!
Richard and Laurel are incredible and pay close attention to detail. The one comment that I loved from Richard upon our return to the England House was "welcome home" and we truly feel welcomed and at home at the England House! We've stayed in the Pantry and the Stone Cutter. Pantry is a bit small, but still very enjoyable. Stone Cutter is amazing as well! We love Sadie too1 (the resident yellow lab!)
Count on a pleasant stay and a great breakfast! Richard and Laurel, see you soon!

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.1 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
4.5 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
0.4 mi away
Weatherford Hotel
Weatherford Hotel
#34 of 63 in Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to England House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about England House B&B

Property: England House B&B
Address: 614 W Santa Fe Ave, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-5323
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Flagstaff
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
England House Hotel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing