We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't pass this up”
Review of England House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flagstaff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
England House B&B
Ranked #2 of 11 Flagstaff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Tucson, AZ
12
Reviewed November 27, 2005

We stayed at the England House for two nights over Thanksgiving weekend. This was my first time at a B&B, and they have set the bar very high. The home was lovingly restored and very tastefully decorated. No tacky country wall paper boarders here! All of the rooms were comfortable, even the "Pantry." I agree this room was very small, but even so, I would rather stay in the smallest room at the England House than at a Flagstaff hotel. As far as the trains go, I didn't notice them at all. My husband did a little, but not to the point of disturbing his sleep. Towels, bed, linens, toiletries, all great. Breakfast was wonderful as well. I feel that the quality of food was excellent, and that the quantity was more than enough. My husband is a runner and eats like a horse. He left the table full. Our hosts were very helpful with restaurant suggestions and brochures of local hikes and historical areas. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 618 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2005

Richard & Laurel's B&B is delightful, with lots of nice touches; fluffy bathrobes, free access to drinks (including beer and wine) whenever you want, helpful advise for trips and restaurants. They are very accommodating people for whom your comfort is their top priority. BUT we were disappointed with a couple of things:
'The Pantry' is incredibly small with only a bed, do not expect anywhere to put your case or clothes! the picture on the web site is accurate but deceptive. We were shown the other rooms which were larger, but I would have been put off by the bathrooms which were built into the rooms as the walls did not go right to the ceiling (as they are made of tin & could be damaged).
Do not expect a hearty breakfast, some would class this as ‘nouvelle cuisine’, for example: one morning’s menu was fruit soup and an egg dish (bit like bread & butter pudding) with 3 teensy bits of bacon, no toast or bread was even offered!
To sum up: welcoming hospitability, good location but overpriced for the breakfast and room size and btw, if you don't want to hear the trains, don't stay in Flagstaff!!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RockyIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Richmond, CA
15
Reviewed October 26, 2005

As other reviewers have mentioned, the inn was lovely and breakfasts were wonderful. HOWEVER, we did not sleep at all due to the train crossing in front of the inn every 15 minutes or so all night long. They do not mention this on their web site, but they casually mentioned the ear plugs in the nightstand "if you need them" when we checked in. Not my idea of a way to start my honeymoon. The mattress we had was also terrible and my husband had to sleep on the floor (not that either of us slept due to the trains). I was very disappointed with our experience in terms of what we paid to stay there. Definitely not recommended.

Stayed: October 2005
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2005

I must admit, the England house was by far the best experience I have ever had at a B&B. The home was immaculate and tastefully decorated. We stayed in the stone cutter room, which has its own fireplace and sitting area. The bathroom was a little on the small side, but that would be my only complaint (and that was only if I were really looking for one). Richard and Laurel were delightful hosts, paying attention to every little detail of the experience. Richard shared the history of the house with the group over breakfast (which was a delicous egg souffle with homemade cinnamon toast). Laurel was even nice to accomodate my finicky husband with his own breakfast - pancakes and bacon. I would definately recommend it to anyone looking for a B&B in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ESAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2005

We enjoyed our three night stay at the England House Bed and Breakfast very much during July, 2005. Richard and Laurel were the perfect hosts and travel planners. They have added all the extra touches to their Inn to make it a step above. Breakfast was always delicious and more than rewarding and there was always a mouth-watering treat, wine and soft drinks in the afternoon. The beds were wonderful - offering a great night’s rest, the towels -thick and soft, and even when the Inn was full there was plenty of hot water for everyone. There are many recommended restaurants within walking distance for dinner and the observatory is just up the hill. We enjoyed getting to know all the other guests and the wonderful town of Flagstaff and surrounding areas during our stay. It was our favorite place on our week long vacation.

4  Thank Family_Traveler86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the England House on July 22nd 2005 for one wonderful night. We found the inn keepers to be extremely friendly and genuinely interested in delivering a first class experience. The historical home has been beautifully restored with an immaculate attention to detail. It’s easy to see that no corners were cut in the renovation. We stayed in the “stone cutter” room and enjoyed the antique furniture and seating area. We had the opportunity to tour all four rooms, and they were all beautiful. The breakfast was excellent, eating on enclosed porch & talking with the other guests was very relaxing and enjoyable.

This trip was a getaway from the Phoenix heat; we enjoyed shopping in downtown Flagstaff and eating at the Beaver Street Brewery. We also visited the Lowell Observatory and took the daytime tour. If you have the time and the skies are clear, the observatory is open at night for viewing the stars. If you make it to flagstaff, you definitely don’t want to miss the outdoor hikes and parks.

We can’t say enough good things about the England House. We only wish we could have stayed longer.

(----)

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2005

There's a new B&B in town and it's a winner! For a last-minute trip to Flagstaff we were having difficulty finding room at a B&B- all seemed full. The owner of the Aspen was kind enough to answer our plea and he suggested we try the "new one in town, a beautiful property," England House, which didn't even have a website yet. We called and we feel ever so lucky that the others were full. We got a beautiful room (as are all the rooms) filled with antiques befitting the period of the house. Our room was exquisite, comfortable, inviting - everything we could have hoped for. We even had comfortable, well-lit spots for reading.
Innkeepers Laurel and Richard may be the new innkeepers in town, but their warmth, hospitality and humor guarantee they'll be around a long time. Arriving in the evening we were greeted with wine and cheese and time to relax in the cozy living room with other guests before we headed out for the evening. When we returned there was a light on in the kitchen and freshly made cookies in case we wanted a late night snack. Breakfast found guests congregating and chatting in the kitchen (with each other and with Laurel and Richard who were preparing breakfast) before heading to the dining room - according to Laurel they need to bring more chairs into the kitchen because "everyone seems to end up here." No wonder - this B&B is like visiting long-known friends. Once everyone moved to the sunlit enclosed porch for breakfast, out came the freshest breads, fruits and juices - and that was just the beginning. Following breakfast, we spent a wonderful couple hours drinking coffee and talking to our hosts before finally departing - sent on our way with a foil package of homemade cookies "for the road." Our best-ever B&B experience!

10  Thank somanyplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.1 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
4.5 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 66 in Flagstaff
1,037 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.4 mi away
Weatherford Hotel
Weatherford Hotel
#34 of 66 in Flagstaff
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to England House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about England House B&B

Address: 614 W Santa Fe Ave, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-5323
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Flagstaff
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
England House Hotel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing