We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
England House B&B
Nearby Hotels
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff(Flagstaff)(Great Value!)
$148
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little America Hotel Flagstaff(Flagstaff)(Great Value!)
$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Flagstaff)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff(Flagstaff)(Great Value!)
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites(Flagstaff)(Great Value!)
$114
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Twin Arrows Navajo Casino Resort(Flagstaff)(Great Value!)
$149
$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (619)
Filter reviews
619 results
Traveler rating
593
19
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
593
19
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hostshistoric housepantry roombed and breakfastironed sheetsgrand canyonhomemade cookiesbreakfast was deliciouslowell observatoryhome away from homesitting roomthought of everythingdowntown flagstaffeach morningwithin easy walking distancea wonderful staynorthern arizona
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
577 - 582 of 619 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2008

From the moment you arrive at England House and Richard welcomes you “home,” you can tell the comfort of the guests are Richard and Laurel’s #1 priority. They have thought of absolutely everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible from providing menus of the local restaurants, to the tiny book light in the bedroom drawer. They even offered for us to “stop planning your vacation and let us do it for you”, which was a tremendous relief! They know everything about the area and are happy to give you maps and information to get you wherever you want to go. We have stayed in a few dozen B&B’s over 14 years, most of them “upper scale”, and the England House is the best we have stayed in. They have the complete package; friendly and helpful (but not too intrusive) hosts, wonderful breakfasts with natural ingredients, snacks and drinks available all day, all in a beautiful inn with immaculate rooms. They are located within walking distance of historic downtown Flagstaff where many shops and restaurants are located, and just down the street from Lowell’s Observatory. One of the things we find most commonly lacking in many B&B’s is their cleanliness. England House is beautifully decorated as well as spotless. It is obvious Richard and Laurel take pride in their work, and in the inn they have worked so hard to restore. They are the consummate B&B hosts and are happy and willing to help make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. You will not be disappointed at the England House!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LBkygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

What a surprise Hotel New England! This is a charming historical building restored in his old glory. Not only from the outside but on also regarding the lovingly selected room decorations you will appreciate it. All rooms have a different ambiance and are decorated with great care. You feel immediately at home thanks to the superb hosts and owners Lauren and Richard. They give you a warm hearty welcome so that you feel really at ease. With great care they cook you a wonderful breakfast in which they take care about your special needs. They help you finding your way to the area with great tips for dining and sightseeing. Ask them for special spots in the Grand Canyon!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PANAMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

My husband and I were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary with a 2 week trip to the South Rim and Phantom Ranch at the Grand Canyon and then on to Las Vegas, Nevada. Our first night (after flying in to Phoenix, renting a car and leaving THAT city ASAP) was at the England House in Flagstaff, as a stay over before we continued our drive to the canyon the next day. We truly wished we had scheduled at least another night there, as we were very impressed with the property, its cleanliness, the innkeepers, the fantastic breakfast and the town itself. I am glad we booked their best room, the Stonecutter's Room.

Laurel is absolutely precious, and her and her husband Richard truly have provided the best atmosphere, so that all their guests can feel really pampered, with an amazing attention to detail. We should know. In April, 2008, we sold our B&B, one of the top rated B&Bs in East Texas, after 15 years in business. We hesitated to even mention it when we arrived at the England House (we really do not like talking shop on our own time), but we felt compelled to express our favorable opinions to Laurel and Richard, as they truly have done an excellent job in providing high quality accommodations with all the amenities one would expect, with several that were unexpected.

We pray that they have continued success, and we will certainly recommend their B&B to anyone traveling in the Flagstaff area. The breakfast was phenomenal, I might add. Would you believe that we were 1 of 3 couples staying there that were celebrating their 30th anniversary?!! Amazing!

P.S. From Bright Angel at the Grand Canyon, the overnight mule ride to Phantom Ranch is the very best thing we have ever done, EVER! Our suite at El Tovar and the Bucky O'Neill Cabin at Bright Angel are so worth the money!! Go for it!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

This was our third time staying at the England House and it honestly feels like a second home to us. Richard and Laurel welcomed us like family and although we could only stay one night (regretfully), it was such a peaceful and relaxing visit. The snacks were incredible and breakfast was amazing as usual. We cannot wait to return again and again. It is truly our home away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snakesrcharming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We have stayed at the England House 3 times; it has officially become a second home. We have high-stress life styles, but when we walk through the doors into the kitchen, for a cookie and a glass of wine (always available), time stands still. If I could live on the sun porch on the back of the house where they serve breakfast, I could be content the rest of my life - not to mention the breakfasts are over the top. Everything about it is delightful - and we've always been very well treated by the owners. Going back next month and can't wait.

Jayne

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews