We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and friendly”
Review of England House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flagstaff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
England House B&B
Ranked #2 of 11 Flagstaff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We recently stayed here for the second time and spent two nights in this very comfortable B&B. We had a full day at the Grand Canyon and our hosts, Richard and Laurel, went out of their way to help make our day enjoyable with binoculars, cold pack and lots of helpful tips. The house is in a very handy position for walking into Flagstaff, the breakfasts were wonderful, the bed was comfy and we were made to feel extremely welcome. On the first night we ate at Brix Restaurant in the town and enjoyed it very much - good food and great cocktails!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAASMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 617 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

England House is one of the nicest B&Bs we've stayed in. The house is a gem -- made from locally-hewn stone and now furnished with beautiful antiques. We stayed in the Stone Cutter room, which featured a separate alcove with comfortable chair, sofa, and extra, single bed.

Laurel and Richard were gracious hosts, and made us feel right at home. They also seemed to have thought of every detail to make their guests' stays comfortable. Breakfast was terrific -- worthy of a four-star restaurant.

Wine was available in the afternoon, as well as cookies.

Downtown is a short walk away, and our hosts gave us reliable recommendations on the restaurant options.

We highly recommend this B&B ...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottsdaleresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently got the opportunity to stay a great bed and breakfast. England House is located within walking distance of downtown Flagstaff. It's a well maintained historic house with friendly, caring owners. The house is extremely comfortable, the room was elegant and the food and wine was good. England House far exceeded any expectations I had.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bayken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Because I live in Flagstaff, I have never stayed at any of our local B&Bs. But today, a friend of ours, who is enjoying an extended stay at the England House, invited us over for breakfast. Yes, that's right, the gracious, generous owners, Richard and Laurel, told her to invite us over as they rarely get to have Flagstaff residents in their lovely England House. The meal started with organic freshly brewed coffee or tea and a choice of at least 6 juices. I chose pineapple mango. The water and juice were served in lovely stemware. The dining space is a bright inviting porch-like area. Everything is perfectly appointed, including fresh flowers on each table. The meal began with a plate of wonderful fruits, including plums, pears, banana, blackberries, apples and strawberries. It isn't always easy to get the best fruits in Flagstaff, but each of these was ripe and delicious and the portion size was very generous. Then Laurel had prepared thick very crispy smokehouse bacon and amazing Hopi blue corn pancakes complete with real maple syrup and a chopped pecan garnish. She asked if we wanted seconds, but the portion was just right for me. Richard did show us several of the rooms and they are all lovely. The French antiques in every room are absolutely magnificent and you can tell that Laurel and Richard really care about all the extras that make a stay memorable. I would certainly recommend the England House to anyone visiting our beautiful Flagstaff, Arizona.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Richard and Laurel were the perfect hosts for the two nights we spent in Flagstaff after our wedding. After searching in vain for classy, sophisticated, and unique lodging in Flagstaff, we were thrilled to find this gem of a place. We did not want to stay in a generic, corporate hotel but instead some place local with character and the house is charming without feeling like you're staying in your grandmother's attic. They have done a beautiful job with the design and decoration, the house is truly magnificent. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and it was obvious that tremendous care and attention went into the menu. We felt so welcomed by Richard and Laurel, this was the perfect, relaxing way to end a hectic week leading up to a wedding. Stay here! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We showed up to the house without reservation just to see if anything was available and, even though it was one of their very rare days off, they welcomed us without hesitation. The ambiance is delightful, the food is wonderful, and being in the kitchen with Richard and Laurel feels like spending time with old friends. Richard and Laurel both possess a passion for hosting. They take visible pride in their home as well as their town and the history of Arizona. It is evident that they genuinely enjoy running their B&B and would love nothing more than to have you enjoy your visit. They went above and beyond to recommend local food and site seeing, all of which was spot on. We loved it so much, that we stayed a second night and it was our favorite of our accommodations throughout our entire Arizona trip.

Room Tip: We were very lucky to be able to sneak in a stay during their vacation days but when we go back, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

On our arrival we were greeted by Richard who made us feel very much at home. He took time to explain the very interesting history of the house, gave us a tour around, told us where we could find wine, beer and cookies and offered advice on the best places to eat and visit during our stay. We stayed in the Stargazer room which very much lived up to the promise of the photographs. The rooms are all decorated and furnished beautifully; its this attention to detail that makes a real difference.
The breakfasts at the England House are not your standard breakfast. Laurel and Richard are excellent cooks. Everything is organic, locally grown if possible and tastes amazing. You will never never have the same breakfast twice.
Laurel and Richard are delightful hosts and if you are visiting the Flagstaff area then a stay at the England House is a must!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScoobyAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.1 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
4.5 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to England House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about England House B&B

Address: 614 W Santa Fe Ave, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-5323
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Flagstaff
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
England House Hotel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing