We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Flagstaff
Post
Inbox
Search

“Classy and Cozy”

Josephine's Modern American Bistro
Ranked #15 of 406 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fine
Description: Josephine's was opened in June of 2002. Named in honor of Chef Tony's late mother, the Flagstaff Arizona restaurant’s commitment to exceptional food, wine, service and atmosphere reflect the lessons she taught him. Chef Tony and his wife Marlene who manages the operations of Josephine's work together to bring the excellence in dining to Flagstaff.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our small family went for a Holiday dinner celebration. Our table was near the wood burning fireplace. The building was a home originally and has been a restaurant for many years. Old wood and stone. Really lovely. The menu offered many small plates, which I love, as we ladies like to eat lightly. The dishes were perfect, as was the service.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This restaurant was a delightful find for us. Being a chef and former restaurant owner, it not always easy to find a gem like Josephine's. Manny, the Sous Chef, was at the helm this night and created an exquisite bacon and molasses demi glace to accompany the special of grill lamb chops. My husband had the french onion braised short ribs and was equally thrilled. Kendra, our server, attended to our every need and help create a wonderful dining experience

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sararK2024VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Don't let this cozy little setting fool you, the food is amazing!! Our server, Andrea, was attentive and friendly - great service and ambiance with friendliness of Flagstaff!!

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trinket67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2019

Made a reservation for 8 for Sunday Brunch. Seated immediately. Server was friendly and attentive. Food was delicious. We had the zeppoles, baklava baked brie, queso fundido, southwestern carb cake salad, smoked salmon omelet, pancakes so huge as big as a dinner plate, eggs benedict, biscuits-gravy-eggs, and more. Plenty of mimosa’s and specialty coffee’s. They even had heavy cream for my coffee which made me so happy as I usually have to bring my own or skip coffee altogether.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank WNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2019 via mobile

The restaurant was fairly comfortable for a meeting. The appetizers such as the hummus, calamari, and Brie were excellent. I had the salmon over a corn risotto that have excellent flavor. Mistakes were appealing. Prices are moderate at about $35 for the entree. The zinfandel wine was $50 a bottle and was actually quite good. I would recommend going there for dinner. You can eat upstairs in the meeting rooms.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank pcaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josephine's Modern American Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Josephine's Modern American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing