We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highland Country Inn
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Highland Country Inn for three nights because it was it was fairly close to the Grand Canyon and the Petrified Forest. The hotel is next door to a grocery store and a very short drive to all of the fast foods as well as Walgreens and Targets. They did not provide breakfast, but we could get hot coffee, chocolate and a variety of teas anytime the office was open, which was until 8:00 pm. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and told us about a restaurant a few doors down called “Mike and Ronda’s” that served an excellent breakfast. They also gave us directions to the different places we wanted to visit. The rooms were recently renovated. They had new linens, carpet and paint. The next update was to replace the old televisions with flat screens. There was also a refrigerator and a microwave. Overall, I thought the hotel was clean and quiet and the beds were comfortable. I would definitely recommend Highland Country Inn to others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sgocdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 540 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Clean good hotel with well insulated rooms. Bathroom with good shower and all necessaries. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Only negative point is the location: at the corner of two busy roads with heavy trafic.
We had to walk about 10 minutes to find a restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Overall an average one night stop. Hotel staff is quite nice, location is good to get to the Grand Canyon. Rooms are clean and convenient. Flagstaff is not a wonderfull place to stay, not more than a stop on your way to the Grand Canyon. Walking distance from downtown, parking lots are awkward but if you are lucky, you will get a parking lot just under your room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fguitteny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Good location. Clean, had everything you need. Parking lot is really awkward, but in town motels always have space limitations. Nothing spectacular about this place, nothing bad either. There was no coffee in the room which these days is unusual, but coffee was available in the lobby. Ok for the price.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here the night of April 20 on my way to the Grand Canyon. The location is great, a short distance to downtown, very walkable. Front desk staff was friendly on check in. My room (two double beds), while not huge, was clean, up to date, well appointed (including a microwave and refrigerator), and quiet. WiFi Internet access was good. Coffee was available in the lobby in the morning. If all you're looking for is a place to crash for the night, at $67ish for the night, this place is a gem! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmerikanacUHrvatskoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This room was a bargain for our one night stay. It was clean and comfortable and looked fairly new.

I like these US motel style places where you can park right next to your room (plus it feels like you are in a film!).

Guy at check in was friendly.

Flagstaff on a Saturday night was disappointing (it was dead!). I thought this was a University town!!?? The only thing happening was a huge passenger train that had pulled up at the station with lots of people getting off. All the bars and restaurants were empty!

We ended up at the Lowell observatory which was mildly interesting but expensive admission for what you saw. We queued to see Jupiter (or a small white dot that we were told was Jupiter), then tried to queue to see the moon through the main telescope but this was taking forever.

Had breakfast at Dennys down the road from the Motel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben_C007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed in Highland Country Inn for two nights in March during my road trip from LA to NYC. Flagstaff is a great place to visit. It is full of young people from North Arizona University and it is fantastic that this Motel is located so close to city centre (10 minutes walk) where all those young people hang out. Motel is clean and it is basically good value for money. You can also drive to Grand Canyon South Rim and it will take around 90-120 minutes. I have booked room in this motel through Hotels.com and saved a bit of money so I would recommend this website for booking this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swaszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.4 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#27 of 66 in Flagstaff
437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#15 of 66 in Flagstaff
388 reviews
1.6 mi away
GreenTree Inn Flagstaff
GreenTree Inn Flagstaff
#22 of 66 in Flagstaff
717 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#7 of 66 in Flagstaff
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Country Inn

Address: 223 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range: $55 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Highland Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Country Hotel Flagstaff
Highland Country Flagstaff
Country Inn Flagstaff
Flagstaff Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing