We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“OK for the price no more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highland Country Inn
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“OK for the price no more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Overall an average one night stop. Hotel staff is quite nice, location is good to get to the Grand Canyon. Rooms are clean and convenient. Flagstaff is not a wonderfull place to stay, not more than a stop on your way to the Grand Canyon. Walking distance from downtown, parking lots are awkward but if you are lucky, you will get a parking lot just under your room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fguitteny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    233
    126
    14
    7
See reviews for
107
191
48
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Branch, Michigan
Level Contributor
145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Good location. Clean, had everything you need. Parking lot is really awkward, but in town motels always have space limitations. Nothing spectacular about this place, nothing bad either. There was no coffee in the room which these days is unusual, but coffee was available in the lobby. Ok for the price.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here the night of April 20 on my way to the Grand Canyon. The location is great, a short distance to downtown, very walkable. Front desk staff was friendly on check in. My room (two double beds), while not huge, was clean, up to date, well appointed (including a microwave and refrigerator), and quiet. WiFi Internet access was good. Coffee was available in the lobby in the morning. If all you're looking for is a place to crash for the night, at $67ish for the night, this place is a gem! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmerikanacUHrvatskoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This room was a bargain for our one night stay. It was clean and comfortable and looked fairly new.

I like these US motel style places where you can park right next to your room (plus it feels like you are in a film!).

Guy at check in was friendly.

Flagstaff on a Saturday night was disappointing (it was dead!). I thought this was a University town!!?? The only thing happening was a huge passenger train that had pulled up at the station with lots of people getting off. All the bars and restaurants were empty!

We ended up at the Lowell observatory which was mildly interesting but expensive admission for what you saw. We queued to see Jupiter (or a small white dot that we were told was Jupiter), then tried to queue to see the moon through the main telescope but this was taking forever.

Had breakfast at Dennys down the road from the Motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_C007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed in Highland Country Inn for two nights in March during my road trip from LA to NYC. Flagstaff is a great place to visit. It is full of young people from North Arizona University and it is fantastic that this Motel is located so close to city centre (10 minutes walk) where all those young people hang out. Motel is clean and it is basically good value for money. You can also drive to Grand Canyon South Rim and it will take around 90-120 minutes. I have booked room in this motel through Hotels.com and saved a bit of money so I would recommend this website for booking this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swaszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We needed a place for a night while in Flagstaff for the high school basketball playoffs. We have stayed at many hotels there over the years but never this one. The main factor was location and also price - as we in our room only to sleep. We love the downtown area and wanted the ability to walk there. We were pleasantly surprised at the newness and cleanliness of this property. It is very basic but for the price it was just fine. It was quiet and we also felt very safe there. We have stayed across the street at the very lovely Drury Inn but at 3 times the price. For this trip the Highland Country Inn was perfect. Also, front desk people were extremely accommodating and they had great cooffe!!!.

Room Tip: We liked the back area of the hotel -- very quiet no street or train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DDGolferBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wettingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The motel is in walking distance to the town. We had a big, quiet room with mikrowave, fridge, tv and wifi. There are coffee and tea-facilities, but you don't get any breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bea r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.4 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#24 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
2.1 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#15 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Country Inn

Property: Highland Country Inn
Address: 223 S Milton Rd, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-5518
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Highland Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Country Hotel Flagstaff
Highland Country Flagstaff
Country Inn Flagstaff
Flagstaff Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing