We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average But Reasonable”
Review of America's Best Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
America's Best Inn
Ranked #39 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average But Reasonable”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The property is not fancy but it's in a great location away from the Interstate and railroad noise. The young lady receptionist was very courteous, answering questions and offering suggestions about places to visit and to eat and more. The room was clean but the queen bed was a bit firm, however, for the cheap rates involved price this hotel is worth considering, especially if you're budget minded. If I could have rated it two and half bubbles I might have.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the west side - later in the afternoon the sun beats in on those on the east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spacer41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    29
    13
    18
See reviews for
23
38
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens,Greece
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed for one night of last March in America's Best Inn during my short trip
from Las Vegas to Grand Canyon South Rim Village through Tusayan . Quickly I noticed , that my room had one serious disadvantage , especially during the night . The button of air - con was broken ( by accident or on purpose ? ) . I couldn't set the temperature of this room. I was not able to elevate the temperature of my room to a higher degree and I was freezing at the night.
In the morning about three quarters before the check - in, one woman , who cleans the rooms , knocked the door of my room and she asked me to leave because she wanted to clean the room . So I reminded her the right time of check - in . A better professionalism is acceptable .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinos47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Tempe, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We were in room 110 which seemed to be half updated. Not like we usually get, which was a little disappointing. The bed was firm. The room was clean and bug free from what we can tell. We check the mattress in all motels these days. Friendly front desk and clean safe environment in the parking area.

Room Tip: Ask for newly updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSFfromNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I presume the motel was named in an effort to be confused with the more well-known "America's Best Value Inn", and we did, in fact, stop at that establishment in Flagstaff, thinking we had made it to the place we had booked. When we did get to the proper place, we were greeted warmly and our room appeared clean with a heater that worked very effectively on that cold night. There was a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and hair dryer so we were well provided. After going out to get something to eat we returned to find a puddle on the bathroom floor due to the fact that the basin was not connected to the pipe beneath it! We cannot fathom how that could go unnoticed and unfixed. Generally, the rooms show many signs of no or poor maintenance. As far as the puddle went, I used a towel to mop it up and put the rubbish bin under the drain rather than be bothered with changing rooms or having a maintenance visit at the end of a long and tiring day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lasbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Terrible place. But, very cheap so you get what you pay for. It was simply a roof over our heads. Staff were okay... location was ok but the rooms were dirty and small. Mouldy and smelly! Stay here if you are on a budget only. Some scary looking locals staying in the rooms too...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drivenunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Although, they advertise a "24 hour" reception, the reason we booked, it's a lie. As we would not be arriving until 2am we rang to confirm if we could still check in. They said it was ok. We arrive at 2am. We rang the bell for 10min in -2degrees with no answer. When it was clear we were abandoned we found alternative accommodation, however, they had the nerve to charge us. The next morning I confronted them.
He gave a crooked smile glaring his stained teeth. "We thought it was dark so you wouldn't come", he said.
We arranged to come when it was 'dark'.
He claimed he was there and couldn't hear us, "I come to look too." If you had 'looked' or 'listened' he would've seen us. It was a disgrace. I could tell by his menace he was lying.
He promised that he would refund us, however, as I left I could tell it was just a delaying tactic to get rid of us with no intention of a refund. 1 month later, nothing.

Basically, They abandoned two travelers in -2degrees temperatures after taking our money. They deliberately, and maliciously stole from us. Be aware it is not a 24hr reception even after organising it earlier...

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We booked a room at this Motel specifically because it advertised a 24 hour front desk. We caught a bus into Flagstaff that was due to arrive at 2am. I contacted the motel and the staff member I spoke to confirmed there would be "no problem" checking in when we arrived.

When we arrived we were met with a locked, dark office and instructions to ring the bell. We stood outside the office in the middle of the freezing night for fifteen minutes ringing this bell, but no one came.

Luckily for us the Econo Lodge located right next door did have an actual 24 hour reception, and the lovely lady there was incredibly accommodating given our experience.

As this motel had already charged us for the room we never got to stay in we returned the following morning to request a refund. The staff member on duty essentially accused us of lying and advised they even checked outside at the time we were due to arrive. They apparently did not hear the bell, and wanted to know why we hadn't called, when I had already informed them the first time I rang that we did not have a working phone.

They eventually agreed to refund us, however the money has not been returned. I'm assuming they call themselves the best because they're the best at scamming naive tourists. Absolutely disgusting. Would not use this chain ever again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#25 of 65 in Flagstaff
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff
0.4 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#17 of 65 in Flagstaff
515 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
Rodeway Inn Flagstaff
#46 of 65 in Flagstaff
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Best Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Inn

Property: America's Best Inn
Address: 910 S Milton Rd, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6303 (Formerly Arizonan Motel)
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all rooms are newly remodelled recently, we are close to northern arizona university,downtown,flagstaff airport is about 2.5 miles,flagstaff is a hub for tourist visiting grand canynon,sedona indian reservation,monument valley,crater,walnut canynon,patrified forrest and many other places of interst ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your America's Best Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Hotel Flagstaff
Arizonan Hotel Flagstaff
Arizonan Motel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing