We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entirely unexpected in a Flagstaff hotel...”

Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki
Ranked #56 of 370 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Sakura offers one of the most unique dining experiences in Flagstaff. Part of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, Sakura is a popular destination with locals and visitors alike. Sakura has been voted one of the "Best Restaurants of the Southwest" by Food and Wine Magazine. Sakura has received the title of best Japanese restaurant for ten years from the Arizona Daily Sun. Sakura, which means Cherry Blossom, offers two traditional Japanese dining styles. At Flagstaffs original Sushi Bar, you can sit and watch the highly trained chefs produce incredible works of "edible art."
Reviewed July 5, 2017

It was frankly weird to have a high-end Japanese restaurant in my hotel in Flagstaff AZ, of all places, but it was surprisingly good nonetheless. I ate at their sushi bar, and the items I chose (kappa maki, tempura shrimp rolls, pork gyoza) were all very well prepared. They had a top-flight green tea for drinking as well, so a perfectly satisfying meal. They do the whole cook-at-your-table Japanese thing as well, if that's to your liking.

Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelServiceExpernce, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

We are so pleased to have surprised you during your visit to Flagstaff and that you enjoyed our sushi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 252 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile

Dinner was good, just a bit salty. Our Teppanyaki chef had a few inappropriate jokes, about Viagra etc, with kids at the table! Not to happy about that. It was just okay this time.

Thank lovessensi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelServiceExpernce, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Our goal is to exceed our guest's expectations. We apologize that on your last visit, we did not meet our expectations or yours. Trust that we will continue to strive for excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2017

This is a very good, but pricey, Japanese restaurant at the Double Tree Hilton in Flagstaff. This is the type of restaurant that has the table-side preparation of the food. Quite entertaining.

Thank azrahelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelServiceExpernce, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

So glad you were entertained and enjoyed our Japanese food experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2017

We had plans to try the teppanyaki over a year ago with a group of friends. It snowed and we opted out. We tried two times since and they just weren't open yet at the hour we went. So we went this past weekend and arrived in time to find that it was full up for the next couple of hours! Rather than wait, we decided to sit at the sushi bar and were pleased that we did. It was very good.

We sampled 5 dishes and split them among us. A couple of adult beverages added to the enjoyment. There's no show as with the teppanyaki, but it was all still impressive.

We would not hesitate to go back again, but will plan better for the teppanyaki. One tip...the restroom is a long walk, so go before.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 911Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelServiceExpernce, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Fourth time is a charm! Thank you for continuing to check back and for coming in to enjoy the Sakura Experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017

My wife and I stayed at the Doubletree Hotel and this restaurant is in the same building as the hotel. We made a reservation (done in half hour intervals) for teppanyaki. Our chef (Scout) was entertaining and fun. The food was delicious. The filet mignon was particularly good. We would definitely eat here again when we are in Flagstaff.

Thank Mitchell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelServiceExpernce, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for the wonderful compliment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing