We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”

Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki
Ranked #76 of 354 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Sakura offers one of the most unique dining experiences in Flagstaff. Part of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, Sakura is a popular destination with locals and visitors alike. Sakura has been voted one of the "Best Restaurants of the Southwest" by Food and Wine Magazine. Sakura has received the title of best Japanese restaurant for ten years from the Arizona Daily Sun. Sakura, which means Cherry Blossom, offers two traditional Japanese dining styles. At Flagstaffs original Sushi Bar, you can sit and watch the highly trained chefs produce incredible works of "edible art."
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Went to Sakura for lunch, and had a great time. Food was great, and chef Antonio skillful, fun, and exciting to watch. My only compliant it was too quite, no music.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Meestame2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your lunch at Sakura. Thanks for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 150 of 245 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Staying in the woodlands hotel, I decided to do things local-ish. Three rolls, spicy tuna, and lots of other nummies... Bill total for two, 56... without drinks. Great service. Little steep on prices. I'm still on the fence about this place though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for dining at Sakura during your recent stay at Woodlands Hotel. We'll do our very best to 'WOW' you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Me and my family loves Japanese food, but NOT at Sakura at Flagstaff. The food was horrible (especially the fried rice which was very dry) and the crew wasn't really friendly. It was all about to hurry up. Our chef-kok was Rudy, who forgot the sauces, the butter at the rice and played too much with fire and our server was Alesha, who wasn't very interested in her customers. Even the woman at the desk was very unfriendly. Conclusion: it was a horrible evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sneezingdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, General Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

(posted on behalf of Michael Rock, General Manager)
Please accept our sincere apologies for your experience at Sakura and thank you for your valuable feedback. I will follow up with the chef responsible for your table and make sure that we are delivering a high quality of food, service, as well as a fun show for all to enjoy. I am confident that this was an isolated incident as this chef receives great reviews from guests and I apologize that you didn't experience our best on your recent visit. I have also passed your comments on to the team that works at the front desk to make sure every guest is offered a warm welcome and receives great service. Thanks again for your feedback so we can properly follow up with our team.

Michael Rock
General Manager
Woodlands Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My dad and I went to this restaurant the other day, because we were on a day trip in Flag and didn't know where to go for dinner, and we went to this restaurant because it was in our hotel. It was the best sushi we have had in a restaurant in a LONG time, and the two men working there, Kolter and Hideo were great chefs, as well as very nice people and very comfortable to be with at the sushi bar and super fun to talk to. Great experience and I would definitely reccomend it to any type of party, whether you are alone, with family, or with a date. We are going there every time we go to Flag now, for sure!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank annabrown143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for the recommendation! Looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Flagstaff, AZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Sushi is very good and fresh. The chef (Yama) is very knowledgeable about what he is making. He will take the time to joke and conversate. My wife and I enjoy going there at least 1 a month.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kevin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your comments and for continuing to choose Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing