We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, good food”

Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki
Ranked #70 of 350 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Sakura offers one of the most unique dining experiences in Flagstaff. Part of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, Sakura is a popular destination with locals and visitors alike. Sakura has been voted one of the "Best Restaurants of the Southwest" by Food and Wine Magazine. Sakura has received the title of best Japanese restaurant for ten years from the Arizona Daily Sun. Sakura, which means Cherry Blossom, offers two traditional Japanese dining styles. At Flagstaffs original Sushi Bar, you can sit and watch the highly trained chefs produce incredible works of "edible art."
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Rubin is a great and fun chef :) Had a wonderful time! He was fun and talented. We had the scallops and shrimp combo. My daughter loved it too.

Thank 1975F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for choosing Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki! So pleased you and your daughter enjoyed your visit. Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 170 of 241 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

The food is good. Much better than I was expecting for hotel restaurant. We were staying at the Radisson and ended up eating there twice. The first time we did the full teppan cooking experience with our kids. While it was fun and entertaining and the chefs are really good (they probably get a lot of practice as the restaurant does a brisk business) but seriously, it's just a matter of time before something goes awry with all the fire and flames. We have been to many many many teppan places in our lives and do not think it is necessary (in our opinion) to involve the extent of flames as they do here. No doubt, it is a hit with all though.

The next night we came back without the kids and sat at a table. The sushi was good, really good and very fresh. Also the house sake, appetizers and other selections were all seriously delicious. Very reasonable price for quality. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ElaineG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Public Relations Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your meals at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki - both the Teppan and the sushi. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again on a future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family of 4 got a cooking table on a very busy Friday night. Do yourself a favor and call ahead for a reservation. The restaurant is in the Radisson hotel so they pretty much have guaranteed business and are therefore busy. Plus, it's the only Teppanyaki in the city. It seems each teppanyaki restaurant is just a little different. Our cook was funny and did a great job cooking the food but the cooking went quicker than normal. Maybe because of the very large crowds. We still got lots of fire and onion volcano and the usual corny jokes which made for a good time. The one odd thing was that it was $2.50 extra per meal if you wanted fried rice instead of white rice. The prices were already higher than we were used to in Phoenix then with $2.50 extra made it even higher. 4 meals with drinks (1 mixed drink) came out to $133 plus tip so it wasn't a cheap meal. These were standard chicken or steak dinners (not the filet mignon either). Nonetheless, it was fun and I would return. The kids sure enjoyed it as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

We appreciate the feedback regarding your experience at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki in Flagstasff. You are correct, reservations are definitely recommended. We are so pleased your family enjoyed the dining experience and show. We do try to remain competitive with other similar restaurants in Flagstaff, but have taken note of your value comments. Thanks for the recommendation and we do hope to see you again on a future visit to Flagstaf..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had the sushi and teppanyaki. Both were really good and not overly expensive. For the wife, toddler and I we only spent about $40.

Thank Killajoedotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Public Relations Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

So glad you and your family found value and enjoyed the food at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki. Thanks for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Sushi is my absolute favorite food in the entire world. But I now reside in Wyoming, where sushi goes by another name: fish bait. Needless to say, enjoyment of a good slice of maguro, smelt roe or ahi is now kind of few and far between. So when I took a recent business trip to Flagstaff, you bet that dinner at Sakura was on the "to-do" list!

As usual, Sakura didn't disappoint. We sat at a teppan-yaki table where some of our party ordered hot entrees, some of us ordered sushi. Reuben (the guy in the commercial) was our chef and made our evening more than a meal, but an entertaining show as well. When he made the fried rice, he juggled the eggs on his spatula and would catch them before cracking on the grill. At one point, he took an onion, stacked the slices from largest to smallest and lit the top with the fire oil making a "volcano." Then he took a train whistle out and scooted the "volcano" along the grill, so it turned into a "choo choo" when the fire turned to smoke. Reuben obviously likes his job a lot and it shows!

Everything was delicious and fun all the way around. The sushi was nice and cold and beautifully presented. The only mishap - and it was only a small one - was that some of my sushi order got mixed up with one of my colleagues', but it wasn't that big a deal since we both loved sushi of all kinds (we both had spent time in Japan) and didn't mind sharing. Also, the employees are fairly young (to be expected since Flagstaff is a college town) and occasionally got a teeny weeny bit too rambunctious in the other restaurant section.

Otherwise, a thoroughly enjoyable evening was had by all and I am 99.999999% certain that I will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank K-Bot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

We are so pleased to have given you your long missed 'sushi fix' while you were in Flagstaff. Thank you so much for the kind review and recommendation. We do appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again soon on yournext visit. Thanks also for posting hte great pics!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing