We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hits the spot”

Hickory's Smokehouse BBQ
Ranked #50 of 349 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hits the spot”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Stopped at a rainy weekday right at noon. We had beef brisket @ pulled pork sandwiches. Excellent, & we enjoyed the sides. Loved the fried okra, crisp & not oily. Pinto beans with kick. Great service. Wished there were people in to support nice local place. A find amongst all the chains.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank booked2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    57
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AZ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Granted it was 2:30 on a rainy Saturday Labor Day Weekend and the lunch hour was over but the place was empty except for 2 middle aged guys who looked perfectly matched to the college football on the flat screen TVs. I had the brisket, cole slaw and beans. I've had better brisket (my own) but this was good, encountered one small piece of fat. The BBQ sauce very good. Cole slaw was crisp and fresh - it had a funny taste but I'm hoping it was an unfamiliar herb and not something else & ate the whole thing. The beans (cowboy style) were great. My husband said his pulled pork was excellent but the bun tasted like it was pulled out of a plastic bag (which it probably was) and made a suggestion that the chef toast or steam it before serving. His sweet potato tots were good, different. Can't say anything else negative - we were hungry and looking for a good meal and we found one here. Additionally, the service was very attentive and accommodating. The place was clean and the price equaled the value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JESUSISLORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“nice environment, but”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

On my one visit there they left a TON of fat on the meat. To the extent that I really couldn't enjoy it.
But other reviews seem positive...perhaps this was an anomoly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaDoglover_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, Utah
Level Contributor
245 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Pretty good BBQ”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I'm a BBQ snob, having been raised on the Alabama's best. This wasn't bad. Husband had the pulled pork plate and I had the beef brisket plate. Our sides were the sweet potato tots and cole slaw. I thought the beef was better than the pork, which is usually the opposite. The plates came with a roll that we used to make a mini sandwich and still had plenty left over to eat plain. The tots were OK, wasn't quite what we were expecting after reading the review. The cole slaw was super delicious. They put a little citrus in the dressing that is butter milk based. Next time more slaw! For the plates they serve the sides in their own paper cups. Service was very attentive as the place wasn't crowded at all. Of the two BBQ places we tried on this trip to Flagstaff, we liked this one better. We may be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DesertGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place has no atmosphere but who needs it when you're chowing down on BBQ. My wife had the pork plate and I had the brisket plate. Both the meats were great and the sides of fries and cole slaw covered the plate. I also had a salad that could have been a meal in itself. Service was fast and attentive. We went here because of the excellent review it received.
Thank the Lord for smart phones.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory's Smokehouse BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Hickory's Smokehouse BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing