We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accidental Romantic Ride”

Historic Hitchin' Post Stables
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We provide horseback and trail riding for the Grand Canyon, Flagstaff, Arizona area, and if you want to experience the best horses, the best scenery, the best wranglers, than you don't want to miss a day of riding in the Coconino National Forest. This is the largest National Forest in the US, and it has miles of horseback trails with scenic beauty, spectacular views, quiet solitude, and the Arizona Trail is accessible from our stables. 1 Hour Ride = $55; 2 Hour Ride = $100; 3 Hour Ride = $150; 4 Hour Ride = $180; 6 Hour Ride = $240; 8 Hour Ride = $300. Wagon Ride = $45 (children 4 and under ride for FREE). Cowboy Meals: Adult Cowboy Dinner = $40 (Steak or chicken, cowboy baked beans, salad, Texas toast & choice of a drink). Child Cowboy Dinner = $20 (Burgers or hotdogs, cowboy baked beans, salad, Texas toast, & choice of drink). Cowboy Lunch = $20 (burgers or hotdogs, potato salad, choice of drink). Cowboy Breakfast = $10 (bacon, sausage, eggs, pancakes, juice or coffee). Pack Lunch = $25 (This will go with you on your ride. Choice of sandwich, potato salad, chips and choice of drink).
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
“Accidental Romantic Ride”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great ride through the Coconino forest with our "wheeled sleigh" and beautiful horses. We thought we would be with a group, but ended up just the two of us. The steak dinner and campfire topped off a wonderful time with the drivers, cook and trail boss telling stories with us and sharing memories of working on the ranch. It was cold, with some snow still on the ground, but we were warm with the fun and romantic time we had. We will recommend this for friends back home here in Surprise, and family who will come to visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimi57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    29
    12
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Snowy Sleigh Ride”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was a last minute decision and our kids loved it. Keep in mind, we are from Texas so we don't see much snow. The "sleigh" is actually a wagon on wheels that's pulled by two horses. I think it took 45 minutes to get to the campsite. While there, the kids played in the snow, built a snowman, drank hot chocolate, stood by the campfire, etc. If you were an adult with no kids, this might be boring for you. B/c once at the campsite, you just drink chocolate or coffee, stand by the fire, and wait for the next wagon to take you back to home base. But with young kids excited to see snow and run around in it, this kept us busy. and we took lots of great pics. I think our family stayed the longest at the campsite until we were too cold and wanted to go back. Thankfully the wagon has blankets to cover yourself as you sit and watch the beautiful view. But there are no bathrooms - just port-a-pottys - which made for interesting bathroom breaks for the kids. Also, there is no waiting area, so if you go early and have to wait for the next sleigh - pack something warm to wear!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank alg3773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

So much fun! Pretty ride through the snow! Only criticism is i wish we could have been on a regular sleigh with rows of seats horizontal because you can't take any pictures and you have to crank your head around when your facing the middle of the wagon. Our tour guides were wonderful. They were a husband and wife couple and made such a great pair. Fun to listen to their stories. Maybe wouldn't bring up stories about the horses going out of control. Made me a little uneasy. Overall, wonderful experience and would love to come back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ariroq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Christmas Day Sleigh Ride”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We'd booked our Christmas Day Sleigh Ride in November. We were concerned about the lack of snow, but the Hitchin Post used wagon's in place of sleigh's so our trip worked out fine. We were happy that they provide blankets as we'd forgotten our hats & gloves at the house before leaving. The campfire & hot drink tent were welcome amenities as it was cold and breezy that afternoon, we visited with other families who were taking advantage of this unique Christmas Day outing, everyone was very pleased with the adventure. We had to opportunity to visit with the chef who was preparing that nights camp dinners, I'd love to have a guy like him on my next camping trip, he was so informative and personable. The Hitchin Post staff was friendly, they work in extremely cold and primitive conditions 365 days a year to provide a western entertainment experience. Thank you Andrew and Gabe, you two were awesome (we made sure to ride back with the same driver and shotgun crew). I feel terrible about the poor reviews that have been posted, this crew works their tails off from early morning to late in the evening to provide this entertainment experience. Unfortunately having worked in the service industry myself when I was young I know you can't please everyone. Yes, this outing was a little expensive but we didn't pay for a trip on The Concord, we paid for a horse drawn sleigh ride at a stable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aker-Schwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A waste of my quality Time!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Not worth $5. to go on this ride. Not a sleigh as advertised...but a wagon. Parked in the mud to get into wagon, a stupid ride to see snow that could be seen from the road driving. Get to the campsite, again stopped in the worse place full of mud to get off, you have a chance to get 1 cup of hot chocolate and then back on the wagon wading through again...the mud holes and a short ride back. Nothing but bored out of our minds. They should have robbers attack the wagon on horseback or something. Even at half price, it wasn't worth the trip or the money. Kids were bored also.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank gmkuoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelaP, Director of Sales at Historic Hitchin' Post Stables, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We at Hitchin Post Stables would like to thank you for your review. We understand that the day of your ride was wet and muddy. Unfortunately we cannot control the weather conditions. As advertised we provide sleigh/wagon rides to the campsite rain or snow. We encourage you to come back when conditions are more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Hitchin' Post Stables also viewed

 

Been to Historic Hitchin' Post Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing