We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tip top tapas”
Review of Madrid Tapas y Sangria - CLOSED

Madrid Tapas y Sangria
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: An intimate authentic Spanish tapas bar in the heart of downtown historic Flagstaff. Imported ingredients from Spain and wine list.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tip top tapas”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a delightful restaurant marred slightly by cheerful but not entirely prompt service. The location is very lively--at the intersection of two downtown alleys. There are a few outdoor seats that give you a ringside view of the diverse foot traffic and the vibrant outdoor cafes across the alley. The menu is surprisingly large for such a small restaurant, with a number of small Spanish style plates perfect for sharing. The wait staff was extremely pleasant and enthusiastic, and we got almost perfect service until the place got busy and our waitress sort of forgot what we had ordered. Nevertheless the food was absolutely excellent. We ordered the canape board, with a number of bruschetta type appetizers, including shrimp with serrano ham, tomato and manchego, and avocado with shrimp. The dessert was a goat cheese with honey, figs and almonds and it was unbelievable. All in all a very tasty and enjoyable experience, as long as you are not in a hurry.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Micheal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent service under pressure”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stopped in during Flagstaff's first Friday art walk on the 2nd of May. Always a busy night, but more so when the weather gets warmer. There was barely a table left when we walked in and I thought we might be waiting quite a while. Not the case whatsoever. We were immediately asked for our drink orders and as I watched the other tables being serviced, the wait staff never missed a beat. Nice to see real customer service these days and this establishment provided it to us while under pressure. A real pleasure.

Oh, yeah! The food! We enjoyed a sampling of the Tapas and found all to be delicious. The Papas Bravas are a treat if not exactly health food! The shrimp al ajillo were also delicious as was something I can't remember that had Brussel sprouts. We thought the Serrano Ham Croquetas would be more flavorful, but they were still delicious. On previous visits we've tried the Bacon Wrapped Dates and the Fried Calamari. Loved them both and our friend had the Calimari sandwich which she also enjoyed.

I Would recommend you try this place and I hope that you experience the great service we did. Bon Appetite!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ninelinebind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
276 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“GREAT surprise with fresh food, great service”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This small intimate eatery was a wonderful surprise on a wintry blustery day in Flagstaff. Wanting something lite, snack, chose homemade chili with squash. It was accompanied by small slices of fresh bread. Water was served in a large bottle with top making for an uptown flare for dining. The server, Alina, was a breath of fresh air. Sat by the window the area was small creating intimate dining with kitchen in full view. The menu choices are a major lure to return next time I am in Flagstaff. The tapas, the desserts, the course offerings are small but that is more in alignment with my palate. I will return for tapas and sangria.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lyfeworksjkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

First of all, you need to understand the way of dining out Spanish (or Mediterranean style). It doesn't involve stuffing your face with big portions. It's not a sprint, it's a marathon. So , you need to take your time, enjoy the meals with small portions and spread them out to time. Have a conversation with friend(s) and sip your drink , people watch discuss things thst are important to you..and have a meal. This restaurant provides that atmosphere. The food caresses your taste buds while you are doing all that. Service was friendly. The waitress (I believe her name was Karmen) took her time to explain different tapas to you, made suggestions which wine will go with what. They have a $14 for four tapas deal, you cannot go wrong with this one. If you think you cannot be full with four tapas, think again. I loved their creamy pesto sauce. I loved how the last tapa with strawberries, blueberries with honey was sweet just enough. The white wine was great with all the tapas and I left the place full tummy and full of satisfaction. The prices are reasonable for a restaurant like this. Highly recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TuncaySanli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Flagstaff in general has bars and restaurants all over...wow. We ran across this place while wandering around, and we are glad we decided go inside for tapas and sangria.

We did not eat a major meal, which is the point of tapas. The sangria was great. Try the traditional with coke. The vino tinto is great too. Applewood wrapped dates were awesome, and we enjoyed a simple 1oz. cheese plate. My wife and I have different tastes in cheese; however, we both LOVED the blue cheese.

The staff was friendly and seemed genuinely interested in having us join them. Initially, our server brought a menu outside to us when we were trying to decide if we wanted to go inside, but she didn't put any pressure on us.

Based on our limited experience, we recommend a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing