We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit disappointed.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salsa Brava East

Salsa Brava East
Ranked #11 of 338 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
205 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Had to stop in after seeing this place on DDD.

Service was excellent.

I ordered the chimichanga, my husband ordered the chicken fajitas.

My chimi was great. The fajitas left something to be desired. This is the first time we have ever seen the beans and rice put on the actual platter, hence shorting you of chicken. Also he had asked for tomatoes instead of peppers and they were no where to be found. And only 2 tortillas? Really?

Also were excited to see and try the salsa bar. Had heard there were seven salsas to choose from, wrong, there were five.

Will we return? Not sure, might check out the other mexican options in town first.

Helpful?
Thank kajee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    267
    127
    48
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It is #1”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Eat there often. Best Mexican food in Flagstaff by far. Always have a great special and the menu has a wide variety. Never have had a bad meal

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kaye h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Salsa brava rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Great food - fresh and authentic. Very energetic atmosphere. A good place for families, a fun date or business lunch. Great mixed drinks, good selection of local and national brand beers. Very community oriented with specials for big NAU events. Been coming here for years and we love it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Love the salsa bar. Recommend the stuffed sopapilla, with chicken, pork, or steak. This place great, featured on Diner, dives, and Drive - in's.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank azmom74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I'm not sure how this place isn't the number one restaurant in Flag! This place is SO great! Their happy hour has great deals on it, and their food is uh-may-zing! We had a couple of margaritas to start with - mine was frozen and my husbands was on the rocks. Both were really great, and not weak at all. We then got the special of the day, which was slow roasted pork in a peach/habanero sauce. It's served with tortillas, rice, and beans. The flavor was something I had never experience before, and it was one of the greatest things I think I have ever tasted! I'm excited to go back and try different things on their menu as I'm pretty sure I've only scuffed the tip of the iceberg!

The service was great! Oh, and they make all their food fresh, fresh, fresh as well as their salsa bar with seven homemade salsas! Gosh, this place is great. We will ALWAYS go here when we are in Flag from now on. :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zerz360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa Brava East also viewed

 

Been to Salsa Brava East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing