We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican food”
Review of Salsa Brava East

Salsa Brava East
Ranked #12 of 347 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Mexican food”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I always have the carne asada. It is delicious, and the rice and black beans are good too. There are about 4 kinds of salsa for your chips. I am usually with a large group and they always take good care of us.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    294
    136
    50
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will not disappoint”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

From the salsa bar to the fresh peach margarita our whole meal was superb. Our family taste ranges from super spicy to plain cheese and everyone loved their meals. The meats are melt in your mouth good and they serve large proportions to take home. We were thinking leftovers for the next day but we couldn't resist and had them the same night as a late night snack.
Could almost go two days in a row.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank feedback042013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food and service”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We came here on a recommendation from a co-worker and after running out to the Grand Canyon. We were lucky to get in about five minutes before closing. Everyone was very nice and we didn't feel rushed, even though we wound up being one of the last two tables.

They start you with some chips and empty bowls. There is a salsa bar, where you can pick from a variety of very fresh salsas. We tried four of them, each very different but wonderful. Looking over the menu, we realized that this was featured on Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives -- they proudly noted which dishes Guy Fieri ate. I decided to try the sopapilla, which was one featured on the show.

It was quite tasty. The plates are huge with lots of rice and beans along with a fairly large entree. There is a choice of meats to fill the sopapilla, and I tried the pork. It was well seasoned and not overly hot, the way some Mexican places think all food should be. The crust on the sopapilla was good and held up well to the chile sauces.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank awampler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We dined at Salva Brava East on August 4, 2013 because it was featured on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives. We were promptly seated by the friendly hostess and the waitress explained the menu. The bottomless chips and fresh salsa selection were the beginning of an excellent meal. The portions were generous and the food was flavorful. We were all satisfied, recommend and certainly would return to Salsa Brava.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimMaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really disappointed”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

After seeing the restaurant featured on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives, may family had high expectations of Salsa Brava. The food was flavorless, but our waitress was nice. I would not go back and would recommend against anyone else going as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salsa Brava East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing