We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quantity over quality”
Review of Salsa Brava East

Salsa Brava East
Ranked #12 of 349 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quantity over quality”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We went to Salsa Brava based on other reviews and were very disappointed. The chili con queso was brown, thick and ropey, breaking the chip every time we tried to eat it. The taste was nothing special. One of us had a pork Grande Burrito and the other had the Stuffed Sopapilla. The burrito was fine. The Sopapilla was Indian fry bread stuffed with pork, pinto beans and cheese. The plate also had retried beans and rice. It was HUGE--ridiculously, so. While it tasted pretty good, it was enough to feed 4 normal people. We each ordered a $9 Margarita and, unlike usual, ordered a second one. There was so much ice in e glass that we finished it with the appetizer. With two Margaritas, I should have felt it at least a little bit especially at this altitude but didn't at all. It made us wonder how much alcohol was in those Margaritas. Our server was very nice but he couldn't make up for the food. All we could think of was, "This is the best Flagstaff can do?"

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Egon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    290
    133
    50
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Didn't understand all the hype”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were referred to Salsa Brava to try the "best Mexican food in Flagstaff" so our hopes and expectations were high. The place is very cute, loved the atmosphere right off the bat. Waited about 25 min for a table for our party of 5, not too bad on a busy Sunday night. Loved the salsa bar...what a cool idea! Tried a bunch, all were great. The actual dinner left some to be desired. My meal was wrong, what I was brought didn't seem like what I ordered. Steak I stead of chicken and my tortillas were supposed to be grilled and weren't. Ate it anyway cause we were starving! Maybe we are just used to Tex Mex style Mexican food cause everything seemed bland. An okay experience but won't return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wesjes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Oh well.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

What is the big deal with this place? Mediocre at best! They could do so much better. Great decor, fun atmosphere, one of the better patios in town.The food is a let down, the margaritas are passable. Come on Chef!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great Salsa Bar and chips. Navaho tacos very tasty and too big to eat. Mole Chicken very good. Reasonable prices, varied menu. Friendly server.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Birdie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Satisfies after a day of hiking at the Grand Canyon”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

After visiting the park about an hours drive away we arrived into Flagstaff hungry and hoping for Mexican food. The receptionist at our hotel recommended this place, and it was a great choice. It's right on the old route 66, and as soon as you walk in the atmosphere of this place really jumps at you. It smells good, the walls are colorful and well decorated, and we knew we had come to the right place. Once seated you get served chips and are invited to use their salsa bar. The varieties of salsa are all good, though I must say the chips were pretty weak. Everyone in my party enjoyed their meals though, as did I. The food was tasty and filling, and the service decent. But the atmosphere is what really stood out to me and made this such a nice experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chesatamette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa Brava East also viewed

 

Been to Salsa Brava East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing