We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ribs in Arizona”
Review of Bigfoot Bar B Que

Bigfoot Bar B Que
Ranked #44 of 349 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Description: It's about the food, not the fancy... real smoked meats with scratch made sides... add in fresh cobbler and a cold drink and you're sure to enjoy. Good for the whole family! Now serving Breakfast on the Weekends!
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best ribs in Arizona”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a group of 12, delivery of food was fast and good! My boyfriend & I got the "double wide", and we could not eat everything, it was way too much food! It could have easily fed three of us, but I would not have shared the ribs....they were delicious!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jtreon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    83
    38
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Hard to find, a bit hard to like”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This place was a little hard to find because it’s located in the basement of the old Penny’s building long since converted into a small indoor mall. We ordered the sampler plate that came with two glasses of Pabst Blue Ribbon Beer. That was the low point in the meal. The high point was the pulled pork. First, you walk into a cordoned off area in the bargain basement of a 50’s style department store. Windowless and darkish, with the ceiling cluttered with exposed ducts, pipes, and beams from which there are dusty hanging ephemera somewhat connected to barbecue culture. I felt like I was eating in a fratboy's basement with his parents living upstairs. It’s a bit depressing in spite of the inviting smells of barbecue. You order at the front counter where the staff is both friendly and helpful. We ordered the Double Wide, about $25 worth of meat to try as many things as we could. The whole shebang was piled onto a pizza plate, little piles of this next to that and was not surprisingly, a bit messy. The pulled pork was spicy and smoky, nicely done. The chicken was dry and bland, needed help from several sauces in bottles at the tables. The beef was a darker version of the chicken, just as bland and maybe even a bit more stringy. The ribs must have been from a very small pig because the portions were very small but tasty nonetheless. The cornbread was what the chicken and cow must have been fed because it too, was dry and hard. The other sides: coleslaw just okay, pretty average and the fries, limp and cold, the beans tasted canned but with their barbecue sauce in it, all told they were just okay. All in all if you want to eat here, stick with the pork.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scottderrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Owner at Bigfoot Bar B Que, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
scottderrick,
Thanks for the feedback. We are disappointed that you were not entirely satisfied with your experience at our restaurant. Our goal is to produce wholesome food made with fresh quality ingredients, delivered with great service to every guest, every time. Our success is measured one guest at a time, and on your visit, it appears that we fell short. Your feedback will help us improve. We hope that you will visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
230 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“good bbq, odd location”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

It took a little bit of looking to find this place (it's in the basement of the store). The food was great...sauce is a little peppery, but I liked it. The garlic romano fries are delicious! For $7.99, I received a pulled pork sandwich and fries. We got our food to go, but they do have dine in. Restaurant had quite a few people in it. Staff was very friendly and they packed up our order with utensils, napkins, etc without being asked.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank proudteacher5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, AZ
Level Contributor
113 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Better options available”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We ended up going here by default as the restaurant we wanted to go to was closed. This is in a strange location, in the basement of a shopping center, kind of in the back of a clothing store, also in the basement. Service was fine, friendly, but we were the only ones in there at that time. Ordered the summer special of a smoked flank steak sandwich and coleslaw, and a grilled chicken salad.m the salad was nothing special, just lettuce, onion, chicken and standard food service croutons. The sandwich however, was yummy. Smokey and spicy with really good slaw. The atmosphere is hockey tonk dive (Wednesday is White Trash Day), and the TVs showing sports are on their last legs. Not sure if I'd go again seeing as I'm not a huge BBQ fan and that is pretty much all they have, plus the location and atmosphere is just a little, well, weird.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatnJenCaveCreek_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J C, Owner at Bigfoot Bar B Que, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Greetings, PatnJenCaveCreek_AZ! THANK YOU for taking the time to visit the BBQ & provide a review!

We are disappointed that you weren't entirely satisfied with your visit. We've heard many different reviews & feelings regarding our location--some folks even think it's one of the best parts!--but we understand that it wasn't the right thing for you. We are very excited that you enjoyed the Mesquite-smoked Chipotle Skirt Steak Sandwich & side of homemade Cole Slaw, and that our service was satisfactory.

We take criticisms seriously, and we want you to know that yours will be considered. We'll hope you'll give us another shot, despite the basement location! Thanks again for your visit and your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great BBQ. Delicious apple cobbler for dessert. Pulled pork, potato salad, sweet potato fries and onion rings were awesome. Staff was very friendly!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kbdw_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bigfoot Bar B Que also viewed

 

Been to Bigfoot Bar B Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing